skip navigation
The Story of Mankind

The Story of Mankind(1957)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Story of Mankind Satan and the spirit of... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Ambitious for Its Day but Silly Now

    • pegarino
    • 6/23/14

    I know, today this film seems contrived, laughable and utterly full of itself. A bloated Technicolor curiosity boasting a lengthy roster of nearly every available A, B and C lister of the day. I still watch just to see Vincent Price chew the scenery with his distinctively, devilishly upper-crusty attitude and voice. Vincent brought an amusing arrogance to everything he appeared in, even bombs like this one.

  • I Liked this movie!

    • Barbara
    • 10/18/13

    I thought this movie had a message and an interesting if simple script. A moral to the movie. So what if it is a little campy - it is a movie! One way classic movies have the present day films beaten is that with the classics you can tell what is going on and don't have to wonder later what the movie was about or what happened.

  • Bad movie, but...

    • dave fox
    • 6/14/13

    When it played the Fox Orpheum Theater in Portland, OR, an electrical short caught the screen and elaborate curtains on fire. The handful of people fled. The Oregonian newspaper's film critic said, yes, it was a terrible movie, but it wasn't worth burning down the theater.Damage was limited to the stage area, and the Orpheum reopened as soon as a new screen could be located, in Seattle.

  • Sweet Movie for Those with a Sense of Humor

    • Dawn
    • 5/22/13

    I don't understand the bad reviews for this movie. No, it isn't "Citizen Kane", but bring your sense of humor and enjoy seeing the wonderful Ronald Coleman, Vincent Price (catch his throwaway line "I never considered myself an expert on art", which of course he was!) and cameos by the Marx Brothers, Edward Everett Horton, Agnes Moorhead, Cesar Romero, and I don't remember who all else. A little history lesson with some food for thought in the verdict at the end. Consider the context of the times: the late 1950's, with nuclear proliferation at its height.

  • Total piece of junk!!

    • steve
    • 5/22/13

    Don't bother wasting ending time watching this trash. Irwin Allen, enough said.

  • The End

    • Suane Huff
    • 11/30/12

    It was a good concept but a little weak, but the main thing I liked about the movie was the verdict at the end.

  • Terrible film, so bad that it's great Camp

    • Jim Bloom
    • 10/5/12

    I happened to tune in to this about 1/4th of the way into the film. It has an hypnotic effect. You want to see how much worse it can get. Unlike some reviewers here, I did get a big kick out of how crappy this production is.I'm a little surprised at the Marx Bros. agreeing to appear in this stinker, but it was their last hurrah, as with most of the other actors. Vincent Price is one of my favorite Camp actors. He is perfect in this cartoonish shlockumentary. One of my favorite moments is at Pharaoh Khufu's court when the awkward cliched "Mideastern"dancer does the usual hands-aloft hip wiggle stumbling around to the music of ---BONGO DRUMS!Too horrible to miss.

  • Redeemable, If Not Totally Coherent(1957)

    • nshepard
    • 10/2/12

    Leonard Maltins critique is short sighted if not accurate at mans attempt to analyze and put his History in perspective and on a guided path. While on the surface this film has its short comings , the redeeming value is simply that it does attempt to seek truth and guidance. After WWII and the Depression, this 1950's film is a Hallmark at Mans ability to find Truth. The Triumph in Life is to find Truth albeit by film is just another venue. So while this film may fall short, the combination of Ronald Coleman and Vincent Price is "Priceless."The "sum" is greater then the whole. 4 stars out of 5.

  • Not Even Kitsch Can Save This Film

    • muriel
    • 10/1/12

    I thought I'd get some fun from this. Usually, such a cavalcade of professional character actors makes it entertaining. From the moment when Groucho Marx appeared as the Jew Who Bought Manhattan, I watched most of it with the fast forward button in play. Virginia Mayo as a bimbo Cleopatra? Say no more. It just wasn't worth it. Lots of talent wasted on this one.

  • Fun Movie

    • Vic
    • 10/1/12

    I really enjoyed this movie, if for nothing else to hear Ronald Coleman's voice speak up for mankind. It is a fun movie to watch- I remember watching this movie on TV as a kid and it was amazing - although Mr. Scratch DID have a better argument.

  • Excrutiating

    • Ron Kerrigan
    • 11/16/11

    'Nuf said.

  • Yes, but...

    • RIndiana
    • 11/15/11

    I agree with every word of "Mr Blandings" review, but I still enjoyed this movie. The cavalcade of stars, the naivete of the reasoning, so typical of the 50's make it a nostalgic experience. The change of tone between vignettes is a bit distracting - some are played totally straight, some (Marx Bros.) are done a funny as possible within the constrains. The film is also very S_L_O_W, especially the courtroom scenes, and since I had it on tivo I found myself FFing through some of the pauses and more obvious monologues, but I still recommend a peek at it.

  • A movie as horrible as mankind's history

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/6/11

    How any studio could entrust Irwin Allen to make any movie, particularly an epic, is a mystery. This travesty of film is poorly written, poorly directed, and poorly acted by all but Colman and Price. Why either wanted to be associated with it is also a mystery. To anyone with common sense, Mr. Scratch's arguments against mankind hold far more weight than the idiotic trivialities that the Spirit of Mankind brings up in its defense. A horrible and pointless piece of filmmaking at its utter worst.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.