skip navigation
The Story of G. I. Joe

The Story of G. I. Joe(1945)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great film to be viewed on Memorial Day

    • Jeff Boston
    • 5/21/16

    Pyle's tribute: For those below the wooden crosses, there's nothing we can do except pause and say "Thanks, Pal. Thanks." Wellman's realism is impressive. The mud, the silence, the facial hair, the dialogue of what men actually talk about. I can also see why Mitchum's career took off after this fine film, which includes Bob Hope wishing a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, as well as God's blessings to the boys abroad. Hollywood knew then what we all know now: for all of Hope's success in vaudeville, radio, film, and television, he would be most revered for his USO tours and undying support of our troops through the generations, and such is why all flags were ordered to be flown at half staff when he left us.

  • remember

    • richard
    • 1/12/16

    I am a Korean war combat vet. I remember the movie when I was a child. Often wondered why it was never shown in later years. Would like to have it on DVD so my GKs could see it.

  • Great movie

    • Melanie
    • 5/5/14

    You would think that after seeing this movie several times, I wouldn't cry when they bring Robert Mitchum's body back to his men--but it gets me every time. I can't keep telling myself that this is 'just a movie' because it's not and I am so thankful for every service man and woman who have served so courageously through the years to keep my country free--and other countries as well. America is truly the Home of the Brave.

  • Oh, my aching back!

    • Tennessee Jed
    • 4/29/13

    To watch that soldier coming back from patrol time after time........just to play the record of his son's little voice saying "I love you, daddy", and the record player not working is almost too much for me!! And then, after he is KIA, the men get it to work....powerful stuff. I can relate to his back pain, too!

  • Exceptional Movie

    • James Smith
    • 3/1/13

    Watch it, no if and no buts. Jim

  • The Story of G.I. Joe

    • j kerr
    • 7/4/11

    After seeing this movie I want to see again and again. It shows what real combat is like.

  • A 'must see' film

    • Jon Threshie
    • 3/2/09

    I happened upon "The Story of GI Joe" by chance, having no idea of its reputation or history. I was stunned by the power of this film, and surprised that it is not more highly touted by film historians and critics. The acting is impressive and realistic as it tells the story of Company C's infantry soldiers slogging through the hellish campaign to clear the Nazis from Italy. Free from overly dramatic music or overhyped dramatic turns, the film tells its story simply by showing the experiences of the soldiers and allowing the viewer to see the war as they saw it. I would recommend this film to anyone as one of the most effective movies about war ever made. I also recommend it as a fine film without respect to genre.

  • G.I. Joe

    • Mike
    • 7/16/06

    Powerfully realistic, this is a companion to Battleground, and Paisan. Robert Mitchum gives an Oscar-nominated performance, and Burgess Meredith is incomparable.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.