skip navigation
Storm Warning

Storm Warning(1951)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Dumb Question

    • Clichae
    • 11/1/16

    What would happen today to a viewer who openly objected to the position of this movie' s story?

  • WELL ACTED AND INTERESTING MOVIE!

    • MARLENE RANTZ
    • 10/5/13

    I agree with the reviewers who found this movie to be a well acted and interesting movie! I also agree with denscul and Linda Perry that Ronald Reagan was quite a good actor! I would certainly recommend watching this movie!

  • Reagan as an Actor

    • denscul
    • 9/23/13

    Is it just me, or have the critics of Reagan the politician, allowed that bias to miss that Reagan was not only a decent actor, but played in roles that most would have to admit had a liberal or crusading background. Even BED TIME FOR BONZO, the film most panned by those who do not like his politics, would have to admit, that the Professor played by Reagan believed in a treasured belief of people who believe environment plays a larger role in development. Hence, the Chimp is brought home and treated like a human baby. I could never understand what caused the fuss. The film was a "B" film, but that did not reflect on Reagan as an actor. In Storm Warning, Reagan again plays a role where he is a DA, and the his role is to fight the KKK. Although this is not my favorite Reagan film, That Hagen Girl is, and again, its Reagan fighting to protect a young girl from the taint of being the illegitimated daughter of Reagan's character. (When this film was made, there was a great amount about prejudice towards illegitimate children.I did not think the film as a whole rated higher than 2 stars, but that was not the fault of Reagan, but the script and obvious lack of money restraints. This was the period of great decline in the film industry caused by television, and the taxes placed on the exhibitors.

  • LOVE THIS MOVIE !

    • Susan M
    • 9/23/12

    I saw it years ago on TCM & would love to see again. Great story, actors.

  • What a movie!

    • Patti Schade
    • 4/4/12

    It's interesting to see all the stars that are this film. All in a different light. They all do an execellent job. I love Ginger Rogers and this is a very differen roll for her. Doris Day is also very interesting because she is playing a smaller role than we usually see her in. She is really excellent. It's very interesting to see this subject matter during a very different time.

  • My Favorite Ronald Reagan Movie

    • Jim
    • 10/24/11

    This was my favorite Ronald Reagan movie..I especially liked the last scene when Reagan's character Bert Rainey confronts the Klan at the cross burning. Reagan looked presidential even back then when he told the Klansmen and Klanswomen that were gathered at the cross burning that he was elected to uphold the law and would do it no matter what. This movie probably trained Reagan for future dealings with Tip O'Neil and Jim Wright..I would recommend this movie very highly.

  • I'd Like To See It

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/29/10

    I don't remember that I've ever seen "Storm Warning" (1951) starring Doris Day, Ginger Rogers and Ronald Reagan. I've been watching TCM for almost 9 years, and I don't think this film has ever been aired since then. TCM did a SOTM tribute to Day in January 2003 and a SOTM to Reagan in March 2009 and it didn't air either time, and this March during the SOTM to Rogers I don't see it scheduled to air. I've read the synopsis for "Storm Warning", and it seems like a powerful drama about a woman who visits a small town and learns that her sister's husband is involved with the Ku Klux Klan. This was obviously a hot-button topic for a mainstream film in 1951, and "Storm Warning" must have caused some controversy when it came out. How about airing it soon TCM, and also put it on DVD.

  • A great Hollywood sleeper

    • John Sforza
    • 10/5/09

    When I was a child & a budding old movie buff, I saw this striking film & was awed on many levels. First, I was used to the cast in much lighter fare, having never seen any of them act in dramatic roles. While Ronald Reagan was impressive enough as the D.A., Ginger Rogers (sans Mr. Astaire & her dancing shoes) was incredibly convincing in every single scene. Light & lively Doris Day did not sing a note, & while her character could seem a bit dimwitted at times, her portrayal was on the mark & very believable, given the attitudes & beliefs of the small town in which she resided. Steve Cochran was also good, & the bedroom scene wherein he tries to seduce sister-in-law Rogers is very suggestive for its time, though seemingly heavily edited. Second, the film as a whole has a very dark element throughout, fittingly, but surprising for its time. Bringing the Ku Klux Klan to the forefront of American cinema in pre-civil rights days, handled as well as it is here, makes for a very interesting, gripping & entertaining film. So many actors of Hollywood's Golden Age were typecast in such familiar roles, but seeing these stars sink their teeth into a well-written screenplay & a deftly directed movie is a real treat.

  • wow

    • linda perry
    • 11/13/08

    I can remember when I was younger watching this movie thinking can ronald reagan act truly?. then finding out he could and what a good job he did in this movie.being black i had alsways heard about lynchings, but to see it happen made it very real for me and how afraid people can be.the cast didi a great job with their roles. A MUST See.

  • Strong Drama

    • Riccardo
    • 11/3/08

    A pretty good film...prescient for its time, concerning race, and the soon to be on-the-scene civil rights movement. This film reminds one of how unified the country was after WW II. Both Ronald Reagan and Ginger Rogers....both well know Republicans.... play in a film that is quite clear about the good and evil of American race relations....frankly exposing the under-belly of fear and threat that was the subtext of southern society then. It pulls no punches, even if the ending is a bit melodramatic. There's a good rapport between the players...and Ginger's acting especially, is a standout.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.