skip navigation
Many Rivers to Cross

Many Rivers to Cross(1955)

  • Thursday, June 5 @ 12:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Many Rivers to Cross A pioneer woman sets her... MORE > $5.99 Regularly $12.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Rivers of Laughter

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 12/18/08

    When you look at what is passing for comedy on the screen today, Hollywood should take a hard backward glance at films like this one. Eleanor Parker has to be the most underrated actress of all time; and what a beauty! Even frontier clothes can't hide that incredible face. Her flair for comedy shines in this movie. Her and Robert Taylor light up the screen (They made three films together I believe). Please release this on DVD!

  • DVD release

    • Vickey
    • 7/8/08

    go on hotmoviesale.com and you can prebuy this DVD before its 8/23 release for 9.99 w/shipping!

  • Very Funny Frontier Farce

    • muriel schwenck
    • 1/28/08

    This film is just plain fun to watch. It's fun for adults and children. Just don't make them like this amymore. I remember the first time I saw it I laughed so hard my face hurt.

  • many river to cross

    • theresa
    • 1/20/08

    I like the moive it is a good one.I like to buy it if come out on dvd.I think it is a very good movie.Robert Taylor and Elenor Parker playvery good in this moive.

  • Love This Movie

    • Leanne
    • 10/31/07

    This movie is just great family fun. I can still sing the title song after 40 years. I used to watch the TV guide every week to see if it would be on so I could tape it - even had friends and family watching for me in other cities!! My tape is disintegrating - so PLEASE bring this out on DVD!

  • MANY RIVERS TO CROSS

    • sally
    • 9/16/07

    Two good stars with Robert Taylor and Eleanor Parker in a good movie and should be released on DVD.

  • A HOOt, from start to finish!

    • Sheila B
    • 8/14/07

    This film a a wild & wacky frontier farce, enjoyable for the whole family.Eleanor Parker shows great comedic flair as "Stepping Woman". Wow, she just takes your breath away. I have a weird favorite line: "I might not look so bad in a tepee." She is a gumptious little feist indeed! This one is crying out to be released on DVD format.

  • Lesser Movies on DVD Why Not This Classic

    • Linda
    • 6/26/07

    I have seen this movie twice and I have looked for it for ages. This is such a great movie, funny, all the way through.The kind of movie you can just sit and enjoy over and over. Of all the movies that are on DVD I just wish you would release this one. It truely is enjoyable from the word go. Bushrod and Stepping Woman just have to be on the DVD list.

  • A Funny, Funny Movie

    • Francis
    • 3/13/07

    Robert Taylor played this with tongue in cheek I am sure. A fun movie to watch and it has good legs to last for many years if it would be released on DVD.

  • It's been 52 years

    • Jerry Powell
    • 10/7/06

    This movie came to the Air-Sho Drive In in Mobile Alabama in 1955. I begged and pleaded with my parents to take me to see it. After awhile they finally relented. I loved this movie and it has been 52 years since I have seen it. A year or two back I requested it on your website. Yesterday at 2:00 P.M. I looked in the paper and saw where it came on at 11:00 A.M. After 52 years I missed it by a couple of hours. Please Please re-run this movie. Hopefully in the evening where I'll get to see it. It must be a good one to have stuck with me this long!

  • Many Rivers to Cross

    • Diane McNaughton
    • 10/5/06

    Please bring it to dvd it is a great move

  • Ditto for DVD on Many Rivers To Cross

    • Pat Lehman
    • 8/24/06

    It's hard to believe that this movie has never been released on VHS or DVD. The story of a trapper gettin' trapped is warm, funny and just plain good. Robert Taylor and Eleanor Parker were an excellent team. I, too, loved the way Eleanor Parker said "Bushrod", (and what a name - who thunk it up). My favorite line in the movie though is when Eleanor Parker says, "Bushrod, I unwed ye." It's a hoot. This is the type of film that the whole family can sit around and enjoy together. Hurry up and get it out on DVD.

  • DVD for Many Rivers to Cross

    • Deborah Brown
    • 8/11/06

    Please I beg you to make a dvd for Many Rivers to cross starring Robert Taylor and Elenore Parker.This is the best movie that I have ever seen. Its clean and wonderful,my 33 year old daughter would like to buy one also she just loves this movie too.Please make a dvd of this movie,by this christmas it would make a wonderful christmas present.ThanksDeborah Brown

  • Buuushrod!!!

    • Desiree
    • 7/28/06

    This is a good, clean, and fun movie for the entire family!!! When Eleanor Parker croons "Oh...Buuushrod" I laugh every time! Please show it more often!

  • many rivers to cross

    • david seal
    • 7/14/06

    Thi is a classic movie if there ever was one. Do us the honor of scheduling this movie soon. I would love my grand son to have the pleasure of seeing it. Thank You ,David.

  • Ohhhh Bushrod!!!!!!!!

    • Vicki
    • 7/5/06

    Love this movie - hate that it is rarely shown on TV. And hate even worse that it is not on DVD!Vicki

  • THIS MOVIE IS A MUST SEE!!!!

    • Yvonne
    • 4/22/06

    I can't understand why this movie"Many Rivers To Cross" has not been released on VHS or DVD. It is a charming movie, one the whole family can enjoy. Robert Taylor makes a great Bushrod Gentry, Eleanor Parker is a charming Mary Stuart the cast is fantastic. It is a Movie that can be seen over again & you will enjoy every time you see it. I don't know why TMC hasn't shown this movie, I always check your schedule. "SHAME ON YOU". This movie is on my top favorites including "Margie"with Jeanne Crain" they are much better & more entertaining than today's movies. Please put this movie on DVD or VHS so the people can see what they are missing. Thank You Yvonne James

  • Many Rivers to Cross

    • Sherri
    • 3/3/06

    If I beg, will you show this movie?My husband and I love it and would like for our grandkids to see it.

  • I really enjoy this movie

    • Stephen
    • 2/15/06

    The characters are great and so are the actors who portray them. Nicely done adventurous comedy, a movie for all time. It is a shame not to be on DVD.

  • Many Rivers to Cross

    • jackie
    • 2/14/06

    my husband and I love this movie....we have looked long and hard for a professional copy. I even approach my husband with "oh Bushrod!".

  • I Loved this movie

    • Dave A Boykin
    • 1/26/06

    I have looked everywhere to buy this movie. I would like to know where I can buy it if possible.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.