skip navigation
The Steel Trap

The Steel Trap(1952)

  • Friday, August 29 @ 11:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, October 12 @ 10:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Steel Trap A bank employee steals cash... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Panic Stricken Indeed

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 5/15/13

    If you want to get "suspensed" this is the movie to watch. It's not a whodunit type of suspense; it's more of a PSA saying if you're just a normal guy you may not want to try and rob your employer. I'm a rather nervous, sense of urgency type of person anyway, so this film had me going out of my mind. With all the things going wrong that did, I was about to crack under the pressure, and so was my jaw from having it clenched the entire time. Really, I don't think I've ever experienced a suspense like this. It appears mild mannered on the surface, but don't be fooled, it really packs a punch.

  • Suspense as taut as "Rope"

    • Roger Steinbrink
    • 11/26/12

    This little known gem reminded me of Hitchcock's "Rope". Very suspenseful, "edge of your seat" movie, with great performances by Joseph Cotten and Theresa Wright. The location shots of New Orleans with the old Shushan art deco, lakefront airport, Antoine's restaurant, The Court of Two Sisters, and the French Quarter are priceless.The movie's fast pace, and mounting paranoia make it one great film.The only part that was a little ridiculous was the way everyone so easily slung around the 115 lb. suitcase with the million bucks. Go to any home improvement store & try picking up an 80lb. bag of concrete & you'll see what I mean.Other than than that little gaffe, a fine movie that I will always highly recommend.

  • Joseph Cotten vs. Murphy's Law

    • Bruce Reber
    • 7/10/12

    "The Steel Trap" is a tightly paced, hard-as-nails suspense film (some might call it Noir, but I don't) about a guy working in a bank (superbly played by Joseph Cotten) who begins to think how easy it would be to get in the bank vault and rip off a cool million bucks. At first it's just daydreaming, but soon he becomes totally obsessed with the idea, and formulates a plan for actually doing it. He finds out Brazil has no extradition agreement with the U.S., and after he gets away with the cash he'll take his wife (Teresa Wright) and daughter there on the pretense of going on a business trip for the bank. But almost from the get go Murphy's Law (everything that can go wrong will go wrong) rears its ugly head (getting the passports, not being able to get plane tickets, traffic delays, suspicion from his wife of why he's in such a hurry, and customs officials of why he's got a 115 lb. suitcase). After his wife finds out the truth, he tells her that with the money they can finally live the kind of life they once only dreamed of, but she tells him they could never live a normal life on stolen money. She goes back home, and after some soul searching he decides to try and get back to the bank before the theft is discovered on Monday morning. He puts the money back in the vault with only seconds to spare, and he returns home knowing that life is good enough for him and his family after all. Cotten and Wright co-starred nine years earlier in the Hitchcock classic "Shadow Of A Doubt", and they were just as good in that too.

  • Solid suspense movie!

    • Michael Alden
    • 7/8/12

    Just a heads-up to some of the other reviewers, Steel Trap was released on DVD in March of 2012. Joseph Cotten plays a man who wants it all and is willing to risk everything and Theresa Wright (who is a blonde in this film) is his unwitting wife who begins to realize that something is amiss. Well-paced and well-shot suspense movie, glad I caught it on TCM earlier this evening. (And as an aside I enjoyed seeing those elegant Super Constellation airliners.)

  • Steel Trap...

    • Don F
    • 1/4/12

    I first saw this noirish film a few years ago on the big screen via the Noir Foundation at the Egyptian Theate in Hollywood and was blown away by how well this relatively low-budget film can entertain. We need more screenwriters like the one who wrote this, because my heart was pounding through most of the film. The only recent film I've seen come close was the barely seen The Next Three Days with Russell Crowe, which follows a similar edge-of-your-seat plot to make a desperate escape, but was surprisingly panned. I also love the the fact that Andrew L. Stone ALWAYS uses great on-location shots and interesting cinematography ----- if you want to see another of the late noir capers by he and his wife, DEFINITELY check out Cry Terror!

  • Hitchcock would have been proud to direct this

    • Sarah
    • 1/3/12

    One of the best suspense movies I have seen in a long time. Joseph Cotton and Teresa Wright surely do the film justice. I am an avid fan of suspense films and I think this is right inline with Hitchcock's finest although he did not produce this one. I have told many people about this little known movie and searched for it online to purchase but cannot locate an available copy at this time. I would love to add it to my collection. I give it TEN stars (out of a 5 star rating).

  • great suspense

    • pat bonner
    • 1/26/10

    i must have seen this pic a dozen times...never get tired of it. joe c. is perfect as the harried embezzler who has everything go wrong on his get-away from L.A to Brazil and theresa w. is perfect as thewife who gets more and more suspicious at her husband's excuses for what he's up to. the flic is not available on dvd or vcr; however, i did obtain a good copy from e-bay

  • Very suspenseful movie.

    • Judy Appleton
    • 9/14/09

    This was on TV back in the 60's when local stations had movies on friday and saturdays nights.This movie reunites Joseph Cotton and Teresa Wright. The suspense can leave you breathless. This needs to be available to people who have never seen it. Let them see how great movies from the 50's are.

  • Great Movie

    • Judy Saucerman
    • 6/6/08

    The first movie that impressed me enough to want to know who the actor was and want to see Joseph Cotten in every movie he made. I was a pre-teenager and to this point knew no one except Roy Rogers.Joseph Cotten became my favorite actor because of The Steel Trap. My husband of Thirty years has not seen this movie and I can't begin to describe to him how the movie effected me. Would love to share it with him and some of my young movie going friends. If it should become available on DVD or any media, I will purchase it immediately. Thank you.

  • The Steel Trap a real gripper.

    • Thomas N. Heath
    • 10/25/06

    I saw this movie in New Orleans when it was first released. i was so riveted by the suspense that I was, literally, off my seat during the entire movie.Even though it's been 54 years since I saw it, I'd surely like to have it in my movie collection so that I can show it to the many friends to whom I've recommended it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.