skip navigation
Stars and Stripes Forever

Stars and Stripes Forever(1952)

Contribute

FOR Stars and Stripes Forever (1952) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Stars and Stripes Forever A film biography of the composer John Philip Sousa. MORE > $24.99 Regularly $24.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Stars & Stripes FOrever-Clifton Webb's Best

    • Michael Shea
    • 6/5/14

    I thought that Clifton Webb starred in many great movies. I thought his best was Stars & Stripes Forever. He was definitely the star and bore an uncanny resemblance to John Phillips Sousa. The story and the music was great. It is one of the great patriotic movies. I wish TCM would show it every July 4th.

  • Stars and Stripes Forever

    • Stephanie Myers
    • 7/4/12

    This is a genuine, well written glimpse into the life and genius of America's march king, John Philip Sousa. Best known for his marches, Sousa also wrote ballads and this film deftly showed off his ability to well craft a song. This film made me fall in love with mr. sousa's music. The performance by Clifton Webb as John Philip Sousa makes the man more human and likable whereas history tends to make him look stuffy and rigid. the supporting cast performances add depth and emotional connection to film. I enjoy this film and would recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Really enjoyed this film

    • Donna
    • 5/16/12

    This film is a bit of charming nostalgia that TCM ought to show every July 4th. I really enjoyed watching it the other night.

  • Shed Happy, Yet Nostalgic Tears

    • Alice
    • 5/15/12

    Oh, what a treasure this film and others are that show the United States of America as it was when I was growing up. As our country continues to change, these films will become even more special to us. Thank you, TCM for the wonderful service you provide.

  • A Veteran's Movie

    • Richard M Mason Sr
    • 5/14/12

    The quality of this movie is Patriotic Gold for any combat veteran of the USA. It is set in a time before anyone alive today has first hand knowledge of. However, the music of Mr JPS will be a part of all that served, no matter the generation or conflict. His music is still honored in all branches of the US Military today. I readily admit to having had trouble keeping my eyes dry. The film inspired me to recall moments and men I left behind years ago in another place. The message of this film will always hit home with American veterans in my opinion. Thank you TCM for bringing this film to the little screen for everyone to experience.

  • Stars and Stripes Forever

    • Thomas Gomez
    • 4/30/12

    I remember seen this movie when I was very young and it made a big impression. Along 1776 and Yankee Doodle Dandee and other patriotic movies I think it should be shown annually.

  • Stars and Stripes Forever

    • Rosemary Horvath
    • 9/4/11

    I really like this movie and it is shame that it is no longer available. I sure hope this does come out again.

  • Stars and Stripes Forever

    • W.D. (Bill) Southworth
    • 8/14/11

    Outstanding movie, I get a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes watching it. I have it on VHS, but would like to have on DVD!

  • the best movie for 4th of july celebrations

    • LINDA
    • 7/3/11

    this one should be shown annually at 4th like 1776, THIS IS THE ARMY, and YANKEE DOODLE DANDY. STARS AND STRIPES TOPS THEM ALL.

  • Fun movie

    • Laura Erickson
    • 6/7/11

    This is a fun movie even if it lacks historical accuracy. I enjoy Clifton Webb, it features the exceptional Ruth Hussey, has a lovely version of "Sweet Marie" lurking in the soundtrack, and I've loved it since it was on Chicago's Channel 9 movie rotation. I have it on VHS, but would fork out additional dollars to get it on DVD.

  • stars and stripes forever

    • edith
    • 5/6/11

    great movie and history of america

  • STARS AND STRIPES FOREVER WOW WHAT A MOVIE

    • FRED
    • 11/30/10

    I HAVE LOVED THIS MOVIE AND WOULD LOVE TO SEE IT ON DVD. THE PEOPLE OF TODAY NEED TO SEE IT. THIS IS ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITES. PLEASE PUT IT ON DVD AND I WANT THE FIRST 12 THAT ARE MADE. EVERY HIGHSCHOOL BAND SHOULD SEE THIS MOVIE. WHAT A GREAT MOVIE.

  • Bring the movie to light.

    • Doug
    • 9/5/10

    In a world of war, destructive games, lack of respect and "what is in it for me attitude", it seems to me the right time to bring forth what it was like when people DID give a darn. It is not important that it doesnt exactly follow history. What it does do is keep the music of Sousa alive and a time of values and family that is needed more now than ever before. Most people will recognize the music but not who it created it and under what circumstances. If TCM only plays movies that people request, then we will never see a great many movies. If people are not aware of the movie, how will they vote for it? TCM has the most knowledge, history and celebrity behind the scenes than any channel i know. It must be brought to the viewing public to expose them to what treasures are still stacked in the dark recesses of the movie vaults. If they were important enough to save, they are important enough to play. To keep movies such as this hidden is a crime of epic proportions. I speak not only of this movie but many others that remain unseen. The channel has the opportunity and responsibility to bring the vast array of movies to light, regardless of popularity or votes. They have the responsibility to educate us as to the reason why such a movie was created and why it was deemed important enough to save. While it serves a purpose to save, restore and catalog, more importantly it needs to be seen. Isnt this why the movie was made? While some movies are played over and over, there are many more not shown at all. As I type this, the channel is showing the lengths they go to search out, restore and save movies so they are not lost. It is important and valuable work but if they are left in the vaults, never to see the light of day, I say they are already lost. Please make it available on DVD and make it available on the channel, at least once or twice a year. Thank YouDoug

  • Stars and Stripes Forever

    • Mary
    • 7/4/10

    This movie was one of my favorites growing up. I love the music and while it deviates from historical accuracy, it nonetheless tells a compelling and entertaining story. I would add my voice to those who beg for it to be released on DVD.

  • Stars and Stripes Forever

    • Byron Hallam
    • 7/4/10

    Alethea Thomas said it so very well in 2008 when she said ...This wonderful movie is great contribution to the father of our National Anthem and should be viewed by all. Clifton Webb was superb, as usual, in his portrayal of John Phillip Sousa. Including awesome performances from that talented cast. Music and singing, at its best. Not to mention the storyline and history was well organized and very beneficial to our families. The homework was done on this Master Band Leader. Simply Excellent!It is such a shame that this movie classic is not on DVD and hasn't been aired for a very long time. It is one of the movies I would like to watch every 4th of July. Please show this movie ASAP.

  • FANTASTIC Entertainment!

    • Alethea Thomas
    • 7/8/08

    This wonderful movie is great contribution to the father of our National Anthem and should be viewed by all. Clifton Webb was superb, as usual, in his portrayal of John Phillip Sousa. Including awesome performances from that talented cast. Music and singing, at its best. Not to mention the storyline and history was well organized and very beneficial to our families. The homework was done on this Master Band Leader. Simply Excellent! Another shame that it is not on DVD and hasn't been aired for decades. TCM,please show this movie ASAP.

  • Great Movie!

    • windle J
    • 7/8/08

    Great movie that should be available on DVD. Goes without saying TCM should air this movie at some point.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.