skip navigation
Stand by for Action

Stand by for Action(1943)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Stand by for Action A Harvard graduate serving on... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Stand by for Action

    • Jon Kimball
    • 3/4/12

    I remember watching this movie when I was a child and can still see it in my mind. It would be great to be able to see it again and again. Just a heart warming WWII movie about how great men can be when pushed. TCM should definety bring this movie back.

  • I enjoyed this film!

    • Bob Castioni
    • 2/15/12

    I saw this movie for the first time today, and enjoyed it. While not up to the caliber of "They Were Expendable", it was entertaining, with both dramatic and comedic aspects. Movies like this helped rally the American people to the colors at the beginning of World War 2, and in their own way, helped us to win the war.

  • Movies vs Reality

    • Charlie McFarlan
    • 2/15/12

    While this movie is great for entertainment, you will notice it was shot in 1943. Sure, it's somewhat of a fantasy, but just a bit over a year later, there was a real engagement between U.S. Destroyers of Taffy 3, and the Japanese Destroyers, Cruisers and the Battleship Yamato. While the two engagements differ in that one was a convoy escort, (the movie) the real battle occured in the Phillipean Sea. While the U.S. lost several destroyers, including the galant and gutsy U.S.S. Johnston, the two, the movie and the real battle were, in some ways alike. This movie is a mixture of things that make it worth watching, and, I suppose, a case of fantasy becoming reality.

  • STAND BY FOR ACTION

    • Jack
    • 2/15/12

    I believe this movie (and other movies of that time) helped our Country win WW-2. I think a lot of the movies that have been made in the last 25 years are are going to help this Country's enemies win our next War.

  • Great Movie

    • Bob Potter
    • 8/8/11

    I couldn't stop watching it. War propaganda movie? Yes, I suppose. However, there is nothing wrong with that since it was for the right country! Moreover, it was an excellent picture that I am surprised I hadn't seen before. I wish it were available on DVD!

  • What action!!

    • Cyndi
    • 8/8/11

    Absurd - was this suppposed to be a drama, a war film, a comedy or male bounding exploration? It doesn't matter. It fails miserably on all counts. The whole "baby sequence" was laughable...and not because it was funny. Cutey pie behavior by sailors and the COmmander of the Fleet Laughton was so embarrassing. I felt like I was listening to and watching a cheesey high school production. Grown men can't recognize the fact TWO women are about to give birth, a Navy surgeon is flustered by such an impending event, officers suddenly become befuddled because of kids and pregnancy but are able to win battles in the fog! Really? And how many times do we have the tough captain, the arrogant but less experienced second in command and a pompous - but really not - Commander. The characters may have won the battle going into the fog, but this movie never came out of one. A waste and demeaning presentation of generally fine actors.

  • Outstanding but too seldom seen

    • Fred Ayers
    • 8/7/11

    An outstanding but often overlooked war picture, showcasing several of the greatest stars of the time. Very fine acting by Brian Donlevy, Robert Taylor and Walter Brennan. Charles Laughton adds a comic touch as the admiral. This movie needs to be on DVD!

  • Stand by for Action

    • Ed McDowell
    • 8/7/11

    I love the old "four piper" destroyers and this is the only movie I know of that has one in it. It is pure wartime propaganda and corny as he-- but I do love it. could never figure out how they could ever hope to bring down a plane with a 1.1 inch gun as used in the movie. The gun would have been mounted aft of the after deck house not on it as there would be a 4 incher non AA in that position but how is the movie going public supposed to know that. Laughton is the silliest US admiral in history and his staff and the crew of the cruiser are totally useless but yes I do still love the movie. Rescuing women pregnant or not along with children has never been against US naval regulations so I don't know where the movie got that from but yes I do love this old movie Mr. Masterman.

  • Stand by for Action

    • wolflair372
    • 6/9/10

    Action without the fluff, impossible situations handled with aplumb, subtle humor, great character interaction. It doesn't get any better than this! This was Hollywood and film making at its best! I came across this gem of an early action film while traveling and flipping through the hotel channels. I was so drawn in by the action, acting, and a young Walter Brennan that I was glued to the set. The next morning my two companioins started raving about this great action film they couldn't stop watching. What comradery when we found out we were raving about the same film. This film deserves to be shared with the world as a DVD! A prize for any movie buff!

  • Stand by For Action

    • Grenzewolf
    • 5/18/10

    A wonderful movie I remember from childhood that has become more poignant to me as an adult and History buff. To step back into an era with these great actors & ships when the War's outcome was still uncertain is moving. The value of this movie to our heritage is invaluable. TCM, thank you for showing and preserving this iconic film.

  • In the Navy....

    • Diana
    • 10/29/09

    What a great movie showcasing some of the most wonderful actors ever! Brian Donlevy was always one of my favorites and seeing Walter Brennan in a dramatic role is wonderful to watch.

  • Stand by for Action (1942)

    • Jay
    • 1/2/09

    Memorable performances from Walter Brennan and Charles Laughton uplift this typical flag waver from the World War II era. Good production and it is entertaining.

  • USS Crosby, APD 17, DD 164

    • Mark Johnson
    • 7/10/08

    This film was made on the Crosby. My father and two uncles were on the ship although my dad, Albert Johnson, was the only one of them to go to the Pacific with the ship.

  • This movie was filmed partly on the USS Crosby

    • Virginia Sunderland
    • 6/3/08

    My brother was stationed on this ship, and when the movie showed in the theater, we all went to see it as a family. I would love to have a copy, my brother died at the age of 37.

  • This movie was filmed in part on the USS Shaw.

    • Kathy
    • 5/26/08

    This movie was filmed in part on th USS Shaw, which was heavily bombed during the attack on Pearl Harbor. The scenes were shot while the ship was in drydock, being repaired for duty. Many of the crew died on Dec. 7. I have met one who survived that harrowing day. He has lived his life with honor. He has sought a copy of this movie for years so that he might see his ship again. Thank you for presenting it tonight, so that he may watch it.

  • Excellent study in leadership.

    • Dan
    • 9/9/07

    This move like many that came after the war shows some of the complexity dealing with leadership issues. Mission, Ship, Shipmates. Sacrifices need to be made and a young Robert Taylor needs to learn to put his sentimental notions aside for the greater good.

  • Stand by for Action

    • Craig
    • 3/3/07

    Old ships never die. even when cut up for scrap metal. some sailors say Navy ships have souls as did whalers and sailing ships. Robert tayolr was a hero type I grew up with always a honest role player. The USS John F Kennedy is soon to be put out of service a old warrior never dies.

  • A Movie With Heart.

    • Marshia Riley
    • 2/21/07

    This movie is Not your typical war film. It's the story of a gallant ship and her crew who are all too human.Walter Brennan does an Oscar quality performance. All of the actors do a bang-up job,but the ship steals the show. I have wanted to get a video or DVD of this movie for years. It is one of my favorite films.

  • thought it was enjoyble to watch

    • dale thorstad
    • 2/9/06

    never saw before like it very nuch

  • A Delightful Movie!!

    • Marianne
    • 2/9/06

    I had the pleasure to watch this movie the other night. What I thought was going to your basic war movie, turned into a charming tale of "other things". The war just happened to be in the back ground while the men on the ship encountered a plethera of ordeals that were unavoidable. All the while the men hold their heads high on all ships, as "proud fathers" and "proud sailors". It absorbs you from the beginning and doesn't leave you with a "bad taste" at the end. Being the "war" movie buff that I am, I would definately buy this if it ever came out on DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.