skip navigation
Spellbound

Spellbound(1945)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Spellbound A psychiatrist tries to help... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Spellbound

    • Goetan
    • 6/25/14

    A tale of psychoanalysis as done by Hitchcock. Bergman and Peck are excellent in their roles, Chekhov was nominated for an Oscar for his supporting role and Fleming's debut. Won an Oscar for it's haunting score, Hitchcock does a good a job as he can do exploring the mind than creating suspense and how Bergman's character arrives at her conclusions seem questionable. Still an engaging and unique story. I give it a 4/5.

  • Spellbound

    • John
    • 10/3/13

    Overall-3/5Lead Performers-3 1/2 out of 5Supporting Cast- 3 1/2 out of 5Director- 5/5Score- 4/5Titles- 2/5Screenplay- 3/5Cinematography- 3 1/2 out of 5Importance- 2/5Recommendation for fans of the genre- 4/5

  • This Morning's SPELLBOUND - August 15, 2013

    • Jay Gould
    • 8/15/13

    My rating above reflects THIS TRANSFER from film to video, not the movie which would have gotten SIX stars if they were available. It's been one of my favorites for many years.I have a copy of TCM's SPELLBOUND recorded back in 2008 before TCM-HD was added by my cable provider. That recording is a favorite of mine: it includes the somewhat rare Overture and Exit Music (the movie won the 1945 Oscar for Best Music and these additional clips are exquisite). I was looking forward to upgrading my version to HD...but suffered disappointment. While the HD transfer was lovely, 1) the Overture and Exit music were cut and, most dissappointingly, the two famous frames of red color in this black & white movie are no longer in color. I know it's expensive to re-scan a movie but I beg TCM to consider fixing their mistakes in this one (the music probably doesn't qualify as a "mistake" since the music adds running time of about 6 minutes total). The article on the film in Wikipedia even cites TCM's use of the two-second red effect, so finding it not there was unexpected.

  • HITCHCOCK DOES IT AGAIN!

    • alexander perez
    • 8/13/11

    for me, and most people, this is one of Hitchcock's best. two legends of Hollywood's Golden Age shine in this one, a young and Handsome Gregory Peck in one of his first roles as an amniotic man posing as a doctor, and the Beautiful Ingrid Bergman as the Psychiatrist who is trying to help him, but can't help falling in love with him as well. like most of Hitchcock's films, this one blends Romance and Suspense perfectly, Peck once again showing his great acting ability after his role in THE KEYS OF THE KINGDOM, and Ingrid Bergman also great. but it's a shame Hitchcock disliked Miklos Rozsa's beautiful score, because Hitch didn't know he was dealing with one of the great Fathers of Film music!

  • Excellent

    • Chris
    • 5/23/11

    Dark, haunting. Loved Chekov

  • Spellbound filme

    • Sonia
    • 10/25/10

    Um filme muito complexo. Alfred Hitchcock dirige um suspense maravilhoso com a maravilhosa Ingrid Bergman . Uns dos melhores filmes do mestre do suspense.

  • Hitchcock's Psychological Mind-Bender.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 7/13/10

    Alfred Hitchcock delves into the "secret recesses of the mind" as Ingrid Bergman and Gregory Peck star in Hitch's psychological suspenseful thriller. Ms. Bergman plays a beautiful dedicated psychiatrist, who falls in love with an amnesiac (Peck), who may or may not be a cold-blooded killer, but the question is: "Is he really a murderer?" You make the call. One of Hitchcock's best films since "Rebecca", "Suspicion", "Saboteur", and "The Shadow of a Doubt". Filmed on location in Alma, Utah, Los Angeles, California, and in New York City. Also starring Leo G. Carroll, Rhonda Fleming, Michael Chekhov, John Emery, Wallace Ford, Regis Toomey, Bill Goodwin, Norman Lloyd, Steven Geray, Donald Curtis, Art Baker, Paul Harvey, Edward Fielding, Janet Scott, Addison Richards, Jacqueline de Wit & Erskine Sanford.

  • Spellbound (1945)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 10/3/09

    A great Hitchcock film taut direction, suspenseful and extremely well acted. The Salvatore Dali sequence is an outstanding classic scene. Very well produced, excellent score.

  • It's extrodinary!

    • Leira
    • 3/7/08

    I have to admit, this is my first time seeing a Hitchcock film (unless you count seeing the ending of 'To catch a thief') Anyway, this is wonderful. I find this subject very intresting. It's wonderfully acted (especially the luminous Ingrid Bergman and the funny Mikhail Chekov and the suffering of Gregory Peck). I won't reveal the ending but when I saw that ending, I seriously jumped even though I knew it was going to happen. And I don't get jumpy from movies. I recomend this to any one who loves Hitchcock.

  • Hitchcock does psychoanalysis

    • Wise Jake
    • 3/5/08

    Alfred Hitchcock is the father of all those slick modern movies with all those tricky twists. And "Spellbound" definately has much to offer in the areas of twists, suspense, and entertainment. I love the Salvaore Dali dream sequence (it was rather creepy, no?) and thought the acting and directing was great. My only question is: Why is this movie not on DVD? That is a very good question and I hope it will be answered in the near future by being released. Keep voting for it to be released!

  • Spellbound Lives!!!!!!!!!!

    • Mike Gruteke
    • 3/2/08

    This Extraordinary Hitchcock film is available, if you look on Amazon.com, or are willing to pay through the nose., as I am, but it is available!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • A REAL "BRAIN TEASER"

    • CINDY
    • 2/6/08

    ANOTHER HITCHCOCK MASTERPIECE! I LOVE THE SCENES WITH THE SALVADORE DALI IMAGES.I ALSO APPRECIATE WHEN TCM SHOWS THIS MOVIE WITH THE ORIGINAL "OVERTURES" AND "EXIT" MUSIC. NO ONE COMPARES TO HITCHCOCK!

  • Wonderful

    • Monica
    • 11/11/07

    I loved this movie, the leads, Gregory Peck and Ingrid Bergman are superb.

  • Excellent Movie

    • Elizabeth
    • 11/11/07

    Great film! I absolutely love the musical score, it's gorgeous. This movie needs to be released on DVD.

  • SPELLBOUND

    • sally mckee
    • 9/3/07

    I have this movie on VHS and would like it on DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.