skip navigation
Son of Frankenstein

Son of Frankenstein(1939)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Frankenstein's Son, Frankensense

    • Clichae
    • 10/3/16

    The beauty of this movie was its haunting portrayal of things actually being what they seemed- realism at it purest! With the base instincts of the town's people & the inspector's integrity, the educatedly over-zealous scientist & father put an end to his (& his ancestors') part in assembling & shocking a soulless humanoid into life. The town residents rejoiced in this & were glad to see him go!

  • What about the friendly sendoff?

    • Tom
    • 10/2/16

    The film is very well done and all of the leading performers are excellent. But why would the townspeople give the baron such a friendly sendoff when they know he was responsible for recreating the monster and causing all of the chaos?

  • Just a thought

    • Pastor Ralph Unroe
    • 10/1/16

    I am 80 years old, and worked at the Harry Warner studio Theater (The Masonic in Clifton Forge, Va when I was 13/14 years old changing marquee). During that time I joined a touring company from Texas, and finally reaching 16 years old, began to do Frankenstein & Wolfman as we toured. A great growing experience. Never got to meet Karloff or Lugosi or Jack Pierce from Universal (makeup) but feel I missed something in growing up. I have thee movies since Karlloff scared me silly in a preview of Frankenstein one night and I was luck to get home without messed pants. I can only wise more of these old silly scary movies were made today; along with still having the great actors still among us; would possibly result in less violence and death than we see in our society today. I have had a good life thus far and can only thank God for my experiences and the people I have met. I still anxiously await Halloween each year to see if the monsters still can upset you a bit. I am still thrilled and looking forward to October 31. Happy Halloween and may the monsters be among you!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Ygor & Gang(1939)

    • nshepard
    • 10/31/12

    Third installment of the Original Frankenstein Trilogy with Karloff reprising for the third and final time the roll of the '"Monster." And it is a dandy as Baron Wolf Von Frankenstein( Basil Rathbone) and family return to the Family haunts to settle the Estate. Well, as things go it doesn't go well as the "Monster" has a friend in Ygor(Bela Lugosi) , a deformed resident due to a hanging that didn't go well for him. As skewed as Ygors outlook is he convinces the Baron to restore the Monster . Ygor uses the "Monster" to seek revenge on the people who hanged him. The sets are amazing, the script is first-rate ,and the Actors give it their all ! Atmospheric with Lugosi in a Tour de Force performance.Lionel Atwill also stars. 5 stars out 5.

  • Boris,Bela,Baz

    • Dan the man
    • 10/14/12

    Wouldn't be the same without this trio.Said to be a popular set with the ladies,and joke paraphenelia.Good movie,could have been as good as first two.Too bad Basil thought this cost him The Hunchback movie in the role of Frollo.You still done good,my man.You were the star.

  • Basil The Ham

    • Baz the Spaz
    • 10/9/12

    Love the dart game, Rathbone must be supressing laughter. He may have thought this movie beneath him, but he's truly manic in his role, as is keeping with Colin Clive before him. So many great scenes, esp. with Karloff.

  • LUGOSI STEALS THE SHOW

    • MIKE CRACHIOLO
    • 9/23/12

    ANTHER MOVIE I HAVE WATCHED NUMEROUS TIMES OVER THE YEARS BELA LUGOSI IS THE REAL STAR IN THIS ONE SHOWING THAT HE WAS A MAJOR PLAYER NOT GIVEN ANY CHANCE BY UNIVERSAL WHICH TREATED HIM AS SECOND RATE NOT AS GOOD AS BRIDE BUT IT STILL AS ITS PLACE IN THE UNIVERSAL HORROR FILMS OF THAT ERA THANK GOD THAT ROWLAND V LEE GAVE BELA A CHANCE I AM SURE THERE ARE OTHER BELA LUGOSI FANS WHO WILL AGREE WITH ME

  • Basil,Basil

    • Esteban Pasquale
    • 7/20/12

    The reluctant actor in this film.He may have detested horror pics,but this was a major film.Would've loved seeing him opposite Laughton in The Hunchback,but this film is a classic.He only needed a sword to toy with as in The Mark Of Zorro,but there was humor,tension,frights and true drama and comraderie here.

  • Need Anyone Say More Than The 3 B's and Lionel

    • Basil Bela Boris
    • 7/20/12

    My favorite since Young Frankenstein's loving tribute.Love Basil and his scenes with Atwill shine.Love the darts,looked like Baz had to turn away to keep from laughing.Understand it was a fun film set.Basil rather manic,but love him always.

  • Great Flick

    • r
    • 4/7/12

    The last of the great ones in the series. The following ones have their moments, but it was all down hill from here. Moody and atmospheric it captures the temper of post monster village life perfectly. As a child it took years until I was a young adult to recognise Bela was Igor. Great performance. The monster was dumbed down a bit for this one but his relationship to the young child sets pesidence.

  • Basil,Boris Bela

    • Lorre Not
    • 4/7/12

    Enjoy especially for the dart game.Atwill is highly funny,esp after YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN parody.Baz high-strung portrayal,entirely appropriate (hope not that bad in real life).Boris a class act,as usual.

  • Lugosi's Best

    • Dan Grissom
    • 10/30/11

    The third and final stint by Boris Karloff as the Frankenstein Monster finds Bela Lugosi turning in his finest performance of his career. His characterization of the broken-necked and evil Ygor is so expertly done it's almost impossible to tell it's him under that make-up. Basil Rathbone turns in a great performance as the 'Son of Frankenstein' and Lionel Atwill is almost as awesome as Lugosi with his one-armed police inspector. The film is the longest of all the classic Universal Monster movies but not boring by any means. Highlight besides Lugosi's performance would have to be the great German Expressionistic sets.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.