skip navigation
So Proudly We Hail!

So Proudly We Hail!(1943)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

So Proudly We Hail! Nurses caught behind enemy... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Both touching and terrifying

    • Jeff Boston
    • 4/13/13

    Released in the middle of our 4-year war with jingoistic Japan, "So Proudly We Hail!" has testy dialogue specific to the time, action that has stood the test of time, and timeless convictions now being tested like never before, but not by a ruthless enemy like Tojo's totalitarian imperialists. In the middle of the Colbert classic, the Chaplain tells the others on Christmas Eve that "we are a sentimental people, even though our enemies deride us for it. Have faith in those things in which we believe so we can make those tender and sentimental beliefs, like Christmas, last forever."

  • The best war movie ever

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/11/11

    Generally speaking, I'm not a fan of war movies but this one is unlike any other you'll see. Instead of the usual tough-talking, macho war-mongering fare, this film deals with people who don't like the war and instead shows the high price of human life. Centering around a group of nurses, this film is the original M*A*S*H in its anti-war dialogue. Yes, the end of the film does give a little shot in the arm for patriotism, but overall it is an intelligent, open-minded film that will leave you emotionally exhausted. Great acting by Claudette Colbert and George Reeves, who have an amazing, totally believable on-screen chemistry. It's a shame they didn't do more movies together.

  • top notch

    • jack
    • 8/9/11

    served as a much needed boost for american morale during the war, outstanding ensemble cast, my only regret is that veronica lake's character dies barely half-way into the movie. she was rivetting when she breaks down and explains her inner torment.

  • Courageous and beautiful Angels Of Mercy Tribute!

    • Steve S.
    • 8/6/09

    The cast and crew are superb.Goddard steals the show with her cool, witty and very sexy performance. The chemistry between Paulette and Sonny Tufts is unquestionable.Veronca Lake let's her long, blonde and beautiful hair down only once but when she does she oozes with starking appeal.I was even surprised at the perforamnce of George Reeves - well done!And, Ms. Colbert is her ever professional self.A WWII classic in every sense of the word!

  • So Proudly We Hail (1943)

    • Jay
    • 1/18/09

    The cast is outstanding. Surprisingly brutal for the time and it's not watered down. Great story. Unforgettable due to the powerful screenplay. Excellent in all ways.

  • got the dvd

    • rick dumesnil
    • 1/12/08

    omg....the dvd came out. watched it for the 22 time. not bored with it at all. what a sublime movie...ty whoever decided to put it on dvd. barbara britton was she awesome.....mary treen...the girl next door we all wanted to know....sonny tufts...noone will twell me he was a mediocre actor. paulette goddard of course.....my favorite. miklos rozsa score.....mmmmmm. im hooked forever.

  • THE MOVIE OF MY LIFE

    • rick dumesnil
    • 9/11/07

    at the mere mention of sp proudly we hail i get goose bumps. the story...the acting the music. THE SCENE WHERE SUPERBE PAULETTE GODDARD SAYS HER LAST GOODBYE TO KANSAS. i saw it first when i was 16..am now 57 and it hits me to the heart directly. colbert class one....lake really showing good acting and sonny tufts...actually brilliant. i have a nurse uniform worn by goddard in the film. it is SO PROUDLY ON MY WALL. to think the stars have all left us...really affects me. bye

  • This needs to be on DVD!

    • Sherri Lynch
    • 9/14/06

    Everyone needs to vote to have this top rated movie released onto dvd. My husband was an Army nurse and he said after watching this with me that everyone needs to see this movie to appreciate what nurses go through and went through during WWII, especially on Bataan. These nurses gae their lives and so many of them never got any recognition for their sacrifices for our Country. Please vote to have this movie made into DVD so more cn see this wonderful movie. Thank You.

  • a blessed profession

    • carol
    • 5/17/06

    Everytime I watch this movie,I feel such a sense of pride. I am nurse. This movie displays the truths of our profession. The intelligence, fortitude, compassion required of an excellent nurse. Nurses are portrayed as human beings with souls that sometime lack nourishment because we have to care for others. I cannot wait for this movie to be added to my classic film collection. I recommend it to every nurse I meet.

  • So proud and so brave

    • loretta easton
    • 3/2/06

    I was captivated with this movie. It caught my attention right off the bat and I never moved a muscle until it was over. I laughed, cried and felt the pride that our country had during that time. I just wish we had the same kind of pride now that we had then for our brave people fighting overseas, instead of whining and bickering over every little thing. We take our freedom for granted and it can be taken away if we get to complacent. Claudette Colbert is one of my favorite actresses and she was superb in this movie. I would rate this one of the best all time movies in history.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.