skip navigation
So Long at the Fair

So Long at the Fair(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

So Long at the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • So Long at the Fair is Fair Enough

    • Meredith
    • 7/29/13

    This is kind of a neat film except for a few things. I really didn't like the ending, but upon reading that this film was based upon an urban legend, it made more sense to me. I also was annoyed by Simmons' acting at times. Of course, that is not something that is isolated to just this movie, watching her in other films makes me feel a bit annoyed too. All in all though I do think this is a movie that should be seen as a representation of early and quirky urban legends.

  • Great movie, but wrong date in TCM synopsis.

    • Eric K. Washington
    • 7/28/13

    I love this movie! It's worth noting that the synopsis gives the wrong date. The story is set at the famous Paris Exposition of 1889 -- not 1896. This is plainly established in the very first shot as the camera zooms into a program cover that bears the image of the Eiffel Tower and the date, 1889.

  • SO LONG AT THE FAIR

    • RENEE
    • 11/16/12

    WHAT A GREAT MOVIE!!! PLEASE PUT IT OUT ON DVD!!! WAITING FORIT TO BE PLAYED AGAIN ON TCM!!! THE WHOLE STORY IS TERRIFIC-- LOTS OF SUSPENSE.

  • SO LONG AT THE FAIR

    • JODI
    • 5/22/12

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE. ONLY SAW IT ONCE ON TCM. PLEASE PLAY IT AGAIN. GREAT SURPRISE ENDING. IF IT EVER COMES OUT IN DVD, I HAVE TO HAVE IT.

  • fantastic movie

    • Suzy
    • 1/5/12

    I love this movie. Great acting and suspense. When I first saw it I had to have it, but it is not yet on DVD. I hope TCM plays it soon so I can record it. Everyone would enjoy this film.

  • so long at the fair

    • pat collins
    • 12/11/11

    This is truly a classic. It is unique and one of the best of the old films. Please release this film because it is a film to be shared with many.

  • A good movie

    • Darby Heine
    • 6/22/11

    Jean Simmons is excellent in this. I great rainy dayfilm and a must see I remember it in color and it was a beautiful movie and period piece. Beautiful costumes in color. Enjoy !!!!

  • Title tenuous, but plot intriguing

    • Beverly
    • 6/15/11

    This is a comment to the person who didn't like the title. It refers to an old song that goes, "Oh, dear, what can the matter be, Johnny's so long at the fair." It actually makes sense if you have that reference, since the brother's name is "Johnny," he seems to have disappeared, and they're at a world's fair exhibition when the Eiffel Tower opened. I agree that the title is a bit esoteric now, but a 1950 audience would have remembered that allusion.This was a beautifully filmed story, the actors were excellent--Jean Simmons was a beautiful woman--and the plot is completely intriguing! I thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • So Long at the Fair

    • GAIL
    • 6/14/11

    Sustained suspense all the way through the film with excellent acting by the entire cast. My only criticism is that the title doesn't fit the film. The title sounds like a Meet Me in St. Louis type of film but the film is more along the Hitchcock line.

  • So Long at the Fair (1950)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 5/7/10

    Great mystery. Keeps you guessing until the end.

  • Loved it! Can't wait to see it again!

    • Katie
    • 4/19/10

    It's been years and years since I first saw this film. I loved everything about it -- the period setting, the casting, the plot, the sense of time and place, and the truly unexpected ending. I've been searching for it forever and hope I get the chance to see it again soon. I recommend it to everyone.

  • TERRIFIC MYSTERY

    • carolsue
    • 4/30/09

    I HAVE A HOMEMADE VIDEO COPY MADE 20 YEARS AGO. A TERRIFIC MYSTERY,ONE OF MY FAVORITES OF THE ERA. WONDERFULLY ACTED, DIRECTED. I INTRODUCED MY YOUNG GRANDDAUGHTERS TO THE MOVIE & THEY LOVED IT. THEY COMMENTED THAT MYSTERIES WERE BETTER IN B&W. CANT WAIT UNTIL I GET GET A BETTER COPY.

  • One of my top 5 movies of all time.

    • Susan
    • 4/19/09

    Exquisite movie. There is one exchangebetween Jean Simmons and Dirk Bogarde regading a letter, that should have earned them both Academy Awards. Dialogue, setting, suspense, this movie has it all!

  • A VERY SOLID MOVIE WITH GREAT PERFORMANCES

    • TUCKY
    • 4/18/09

    X

  • Little known jewel of a film.

    • msalensky
    • 4/18/09

    Outstanding cast and story makes you sit on the edge of your seat.

  • Wonderfully suspensefull!

    • Connie
    • 4/18/09

    I just "happened upon" this movie, and was completed enthralled from the start. It kept me on the edge of my seat, and I NEVER guessed the ending!

  • "How does it end?" (Spoiler alert)

    • Boats
    • 4/18/09

    If you don't want to know how this movie ends, stop reading this comment. This comment is for Cate. The female hotel owner tells the police that the man in room 19 had taken ill and a doctor had been called. The doctor took him to a local charitable hospital run by nuns. The chief of police and the two leads go to the hospital and find no one by the brother's name at the hospital, but when they tell the nuns the doctor's name, he is called. The doctor explains that the brother had contracted bubonic plague in Italy and was spirited away to prevent a city-wide panic during the Exhibition. Although gravely ill, its apparent that the brother will survive.

  • Charming period mystery

    • Julie
    • 4/17/09

    I'd never seen this film until today and must say I was riveted from beginning to end. Jean Simmons is delightful and really steals the show. Beautiful costumes and period settings. Highly recommended..a costume drama/mystery with a unique twist. Dirk Bogarde ably assists.

  • How does it end?????

    • Cate
    • 5/17/08

    Yikes! I saw a tape of this wonderful film, and the tape ran out!!! ....Just when the two leads break through the wall at the hotel, and the brother/sister owners are at the police station, making a confession. Can someone please tell me what happens? Thanks!

  • Such a great film

    • martina
    • 5/10/08

    The first and only time I have seen this film was on TCM. I rank it as one of my top all-time favorites due simply to the fact that when I saw it, not knowing anything about it, I was totally sucked into the story and the intrigue of what happened to her brother. The ending was so unexpected and I am very eager to see this film again.

  • "So Long at the Fair" worth watching

    • Linda Pearl
    • 5/31/07

    I found the film "So Long at the Fair" to be extemely interesting & held my attention all the way through. My opinion is that it ranks with Hitchcock films.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.