skip navigation
Sleuth

Sleuth(1972)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Sleuth - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Bring Back Sleuth!

    • William
    • 9/14/14

    It is a travesty this great film is not available on disc! An interview with Michael Caine (as well as other involved personnel), as an extra would also be nice.

  • This Mystery Thriller Classic on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 10/27/13

    I quite agree this classic should on DVD, Criterion if necessary. I like Laurence Olivier and Michael Caine.

  • Sleuth

    • Dashiell B.
    • 4/12/13

    A complex, extravagant mystery-drama headed by two great actors. A mystery writer uses his wit to take revenge upon his wife's lover, until a police inspector ruins what might have been one of the writer's obsessive games. The films only two actors are Olivier & Caine, both of whom received Oscar nominations for their excruciating and demanding performances. Mankiewicz earned his final Oscar nomination for directing this film, building character in a simple set which is a perfect swan-song for him. A film so compelling that you will be surprised even if you see what's coming. I give it a 5/5.

  • What! Not letterboxed?

    • Joli Ping
    • 4/11/13

    The print of "Sleuth" broadcast by TCM is faded, and what's more, not letterboxed. What a disappointment and disservice to star of the month Laurence Olivier. TCM makes a point of showing movies in their original size format, but occasionally, unformatted films slip through -- and in prime time even. TCM recently aired "The Producers" unformatted. (The opening credits read "ARRING RO MOSTEL.") Yet on TCM-on-demand "The Producers" *is* letterboxed. Don't understand that.

  • One of the most imaginative mysteries of all time!

    • Thomas Chacko
    • 4/10/13

    This film adaptation is every bit as good as the original play. Anthony Shaffer made the right, subtle adjustments without losing the thrills and the fun of his brilliant stage creation. For those of us who enjoyed the likes of Anthony Quayle, Paul Rogers, and Patrick Macnee in the lead role on stage, Laurence Olivier was equally dazzling on film as the quirky mystery writer who lives in a unique world of his own. And, although neither Keith Baxter nor Jordan Christopher were "starry" enough to be offered the film role, Michael Caine showed a depth and range which many of his other films have missed. Both Olivier and Caine were Oscar-nominated for Best Actor of 1972, but had the misfortune of going up against Marlon Brando in THE GODFATHER. Sit back with your favourite drink, and enjoy the wit, the drama, and the twists and turns of the 1972 film version of SLEUTH. And do yourself a favour - ignore the wretched 2007 remake. Michael Caine must have been drunk when he accepted that offer!

  • Save your votes folks.

    • dalldorfw
    • 7/15/10

    I know as a fact that this is on DVD.

  • One of the best movies

    • RALPH
    • 1/18/10

    I saw this movie years ago and I loved it. I was telling my older Grandkids about it because they love Michael Caine and Laurence Olivier as much as I do.I have been trying to find this movie somewhere. Please let me know as soon as it's out on vidieo.

  • Superb!

    • Richard
    • 12/6/09

    I first saw this movie during my senior year in high school.....I thought then, and still do, that this was a superb production. Both Olivier and Caine were "dead-on" in their performances. I try to catch it when I see it playing on TV........as for the remake a few years back.....Why does Hollywood bother with them?

  • THE BEST MOVIE EVER!

    • Vicki
    • 7/31/09

    I only saw this movie once on TCM and loved it from beginning to end. Michael Caine is superb! The remake (2007) of this movie does not do it justice at all!

  • One of the Greats!

    • Paul
    • 7/15/08

    If you have never seen the original Sleuth, you owe it to yourself to view this rare gem. Word association, plot twists, totally believable acting and an excellent music score all add up to an amazing film. Sadly, it has not been restored and brought to DVD; one can only assume some copyright complications entangle it's release as this is truly an unforgettable film. Utilizing gamesmanship makes a fluid vehicle for plot devices as well as language. A 10 in every category in my book and the one film overall I wish to be restored.

  • Great Movie

    • Eric
    • 1/23/08

    One of the funniest movies i've ever seen.

  • Amazing plotline and acting.

    • Sarah
    • 10/15/07

    'Twists and turns', that's all one can say after seeing this movie. And even then, one can only repeat it dumbly, awestruck at the imagination and sick genius of the screenplay. "Tell them...it was just a bloody game."- the last spoken line of the movie will forever imprint itself upon the viewer's memory. And indeed, it is a very bloody game...

  • Sleuth was available on DVD.

    • Brett
    • 10/1/07

    Anchor Bay released it on DVD on 02/05/2002. You can still find copies on amazon.com.

  • Caution: Movie Requires Thought

    • Jim Atha
    • 9/30/07

    It is criminal that this wonderful 2 man movie is not available on DVD! It is an amazing lesson on the nature of the humans!

  • Caution: Sleuth requires thought!

    • Jim Atha
    • 9/30/07

    This is an awesome movie that has been underated from the beginning. I have seen it many times in pieces, and I am always so impressed with Michael Caine's incredible versatility and Olivier's vulnerability. It is criminal that this is not available on DVD! In this age of mindless gamertainment, thoughtless primal gullibility, and senseless tabloid trials , this movie stands out as a thoughtful lesson on the nature of the humans.

  • A Menacing Mystery Movie

    • Jo
    • 3/16/07

    This one of my favorite mystery movies. Sir Laurence Olivier is so menacing and Michael Caine is so surprisingly tricky. One of the first movies I saw with my boyfriend--- now husband.

  • comments for Sleuth

    • Tom Bomeline
    • 2/18/07

    I missed the first 10 or 15 minutes of this movie but what I did see I enjoyed very much I am disappointed that it is not available on DVD It will be shown again May 15 2007 I am looking forward to it very much

  • Great Movie

    • John Torr
    • 9/9/06

    Sleuth is one of my favorite movies of all time.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.