skip navigation
Skylark

Skylark(1941)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Skylark A neglected housewife falls in... MORE > $19.95 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • skylark

    • kevin sellers
    • 2/8/18

    Despite its title and the presence of the always sprightly Claudette Colbert this is a heavy, slow film, really the kiss of death for comedy. Also tending toward killing the joy are Ray Milland and Brian Aherne. If there are two actors less suited to the light touch than these gents I certainly don't know them, especially Milland who cannot make the tinge of malevolence, with which he is so comfortable, completely disappear. Aside from a scene in the NYC subway that nicely captures the immediate pre WW2 American zeitgeist there is nothing that lingers in the mind after watching except for Colbert's winsome and dreamy personality. Give it a C plus, mostly for her. P.S. There were a few quick shots of Colbert from her "bad" right side and for the life of me I could discern no difference between them and those of her "good" left side. But then again I'm not a 40s Hollywood diva.

  • Darin & Samantha Stevens Without The Witchcraft

    • Joella Lyndon
    • 2/6/18

    I couldn't figure out if this was a comedy or a drama. After suffering through the film my conclusion: it was a TRAGEDY.Ray 'bland' Miland & Claudette 'I liked her in every movie except this dud' Colbert. These two together had the charisma of yogurt culturing. Ms. Colbert acted as if she knew the movie was a flop so exaggerated her part as a means of overcompensation. It's a mystery to me why Ray Miland was chosen for this part. He was completely dull, banal, blah . . . bland. As mentioned in another review Ms. Colbert's character starts out clever and exciting. By the end of the film she is nothing more than an insecure housewife, sprinting back to her manipulative, selfish husband. Too bad she couldn't twitch her nose like 'Sam' and turn him into Clark Gable, or even Fred MacMurray for that matter.The movie has a scene where Ms. Colbert's character attempts to make coffee in the bottom of a boat during a storm @ sea. Remember the scene in The Long, Long Trailor with Lucy fixing dinner while Desi drove? Yeah, identical.Well as expected Claudette 'I liked her in every movie except this dud' Colbert returns to Ray 'bland' Miland. Finally we can wash our hands of both duds: the husband and the movie. I have yet to see TCM play 'The Egg and I'. One of my favorites of all time!

  • Tiresome & Disjointed

    • Robin
    • 2/1/18

    I wasn't a fan of "It Happened One Night" either. Summaries imply "A neglected housewife...falling in love with...." which is far from the truth. She's a wife who discovers her husband turned into a machine, using her & her home for his career advancement. She finally (finally, not too soon for me!) grows a back-bone & leaves him. He pursues her to the unsurprising end where she forgives all! Finding Colbert's character fairly intelligent in the beginning, she was reduced to a dimwit by a very abusive husband, falling apart and becoming a whole other wife. I have no patience for this type of character. Start off ding-batty & stay that way and likewise, start off intelligent ~please TRY to stay in character. I guess she couldn't help the script though. Stolen ideas from Mr. & Mrs. Smith released in Feb of same year, this Thanksgiving release didn't spark any raving reviews as original or delightful; merely, same old-same-old. I found Miland (hubby) malicious & abusive, then switching character to charismatic & pitiful, was very difficult for me to follow. Very disappointed in this Rom-Com. Aheren should have already gone down with his ship ~before~ this "Turkey" came out. Walter Abel's character, all of the sudden becomes a drunk? Why? Colbert in "The Egg and I" was a much more enjoyable comedy; but of course Colbert's dramatic roles are her best roles (Tomorrow is Forever, Drums Along the Mohawk, Since You Went Away, Parrish).

  • What were they going to do

    • maria e dillon
    • 8/21/14

    loved the movie, The dog was so cute. What kind of dog was it.

  • Skylark, I enjoyed it.

    • Chris B
    • 8/20/14

    Of course it's the usual story line of a discontented wife who really wants the attention and isn't getting it from her power driven husband. So she falls for a lawyer, but really wants her husband. But the actor's were superb, and even though some may find the settings dated, really they have come back, I loved the costumes for the ladies by Irene. Many should be made today, they were so beautiful. I give it **** stars.

  • Like 'Skylark' a lot, but prefer 'Arise My Love'

    • Linda
    • 8/19/14

    'Skylark' was the very first Claudette Colbert film I recall seeing. I found it humorous and, while dated, all-in all innocuous. It came as a surprise that it hadn't aired on TCM until 8/18/14. But, I guess that explains why I've-yet to see 'Arise My Love' here, although I requested it of TCM a few years ago. 'Skylark' is worth the while for a few quick laughs, represents a good pairing of Colbert and Milland, but as 'Arise My Love' is superior, TCM fans should join in to request the latter...especially to see another pairing of these two fine actors.

  • Skylark (1941)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 11/16/11

    This movie of matrimonial strife would be impossible to take if it were not for the acting prowess of its leading stars. Coming one year after the superb "Arise, My Love," this teaming of Claudette Colbert and Ray Milland is less enjoyable, but then given the subject matter is it any wonder? All things considered, they do a good job. They draw you into their characters' life and problems and hold your interest until the inevitable happy ending.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.