skip navigation
Sitting Pretty

Sitting Pretty(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Sitting Pretty - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • loved the movie, have a question

    • Barbara
    • 12/27/12

    Just wanted to know what the whole quote was in the movie about" drinking being a mistake for mental insecurity" . If any ones know it please let me know. Thanks.barbarajalali@yahoo.ca

  • Sitting Pretty

    • Mamma R
    • 11/24/12

    This is a wonderful movie. Please put it on DVD!

  • Witting Pretty

    • Eric Davison
    • 11/22/12

    An excellent family classic holiday film

  • Fun Entertaining Comedy

    • Mary
    • 10/30/12

    I always enjoy watching "Sitting Pretty". The stars do a great job. The movie will tickle your funny bone. Turner Classic should show the movie more often. Please release movie in DVD!!!!!!!! PLEASE!!!!!!!

  • Sitting Pretty

    • Steve
    • 8/11/12

    This is a great movie. My children really need the opportunity to see this. I have raised them on the classics, as was I. Please bring this to DVD soon, I would really love to watch Sitting Pretty with my family.

  • A classic for all times

    • Mary
    • 5/25/12

    This film was a family favorite. I hate to think of its being lost to current generations. DVD, please.

  • Father knows his babysitters!

    • Janice Faucett
    • 3/16/12

    Clifton Webb is at his archest and funniest as Mr. Belvedere the writer/babbysitter/genius to the family headed by Robert Young and Maureen O'Hara. Young shines brightly with foreshadows of his role in the TV series Father Knows Best. Look for John Russel of Lawmen fame as lawyer friend. All in all a wonderful romp of small town vices and skullduggery. Four and a half stars! Needs to be on DVD.

  • Sitting Pretty

    • jerry tunnell
    • 3/11/12

    This is a great comedy. Every time I see it, I feel as if I am watching it for the first time. Sitting Pretty and the two other Mr. Belvedere films should be on DVD.

  • ONE OF THE BEST!

    • Jane
    • 10/24/11

    IT IS A REAL SHAME THAT THIS MOVIE ISN'T ON DVD! The cast is wonderful in this film, Maureen O'Hara, Clifton Webb, Robert Young, Richard Haydn. Why is there such a dearth of Clifton Webb movies? The only ones out are "Laura" and "Cheaper by the Dozen". This movie, "Sitting Pretty" is hilarious! Clifton Webb is perfection, and the storyline is great. This gem deserves to be on DVD as soon as possible.

  • Sitting Pretty (1948)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 9/20/11

    Amusing film with a great comic performance by Clifton Webb as Mr. Belvedere. He reprises the memorable character, who seems to know how to do everything, two more times. Is it just me, or does Clifton Webb's mannerisms remind you of Jonathan "Dr. Smith" Harris from TVs Lost in Space? Some trivia: Mr. Belvedere was also turned into a TV series in the mid-80s.

  • OMG!

    • Kelvin
    • 9/13/11

    First watched this movie over 25 years ago (as a late-teen) and absolutely fell in love with it! Haven't seen it since. Surely overjoyed TCM is showing this wonderful little gem of a movie on Sunday 9 October 2011!! My DVR is set!A great family movie with lots of laughter, and pointed messages for those doubtful about raising children.

  • Sitting Pretty

    • Marlene Conte
    • 7/31/11

    Would love to see this movie on DVD.... Classic movies will be a thing of the past soon. We have to let our Grandchildren watch and enjoy these with us before it is too late!!!

  • Finally...

    • Mama G
    • 7/27/11

    My mother loved this movie and many other classics. She looked for it on DVD every time she shopped and had me search the Internet repeatedly to no avail. I love that it's being shown, I only wish she had lived to see it again. She treasured the old classic films. I realize that Ted Turner is trying to keep the old classics from becoming tired by showing them only on occasion but I'd like to see more released or shown once or twice a year.

  • Sitting Pretty

    • Sharon
    • 2/16/11

    Terrific! My children love it!Was there a sequel called "Hummingbird Hill?"

  • GREAT ACTING AND SO FUNNY!

    • Jane
    • 7/6/10

    I wish this would be released on DVD! This movie hasn't been shown in a while, and we are not letting our younger generation become aware of all these great old movies because they are unavailable on DVD. This movie is so funny! Clifton Webb was a comedic genius - not only in this movie, but also in "Cheaper by the Dozen".

  • Sitting Pretty

    • Catherine
    • 6/20/10

    I LOVE this movie! This movie really has a place in my memory, it is so funny

  • Sitting Pretty

    • Jeff
    • 5/25/10

    Sitting Pretty starring Clifton Webb, is the funniest movie ever. I can't believe it was never released on DVD. I saw this years ago and have looked for it ever since. I wish TCM would show it.

  • Sitting Pretty

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 5/6/10

    Wonderful comedy. No one like Clifton Webb.

  • Sitting Pretty (1948)

    • Jay
    • 6/22/09

    Clifton Webb's outstanding performance made him a household name at the time. Skillfully made, funny and very entertaining, good support, especially from Richard Haydn. Maureen O'Hara is great, Robert Young is bland. Well written.

  • Sitting Pretty. Great Comedy Great Cast

    • Joan jones
    • 4/20/09

    No one else but Clifton Webb could portray the part of Mr Belevedere so perfectly. The same goes for Maureen O'Hara & Robert Young in their characters in this movie. My husband & I have had the greatest pleasure of seeing all the Mr Belevedere movies and find it sad that they are not aired more often and are not available on DVD.Let's have more of these wonderful movies on TV & DVD. These are movies our younger generation should have the opportunity of viewing. They need to see what real entertainment & fine acting is.

  • Legendary Movie with Legendary Casts

    • ANGIE WILKINSON
    • 6/6/08

    Sitting Pretty:A Legendary Movie, with an Legendary Casts with Clifton Webb as Mr. Belvedere, Maureen O'Hara who in this movie is beautiful and classic Actress and shall forever be. Robert Young who as well is handsome and classic as well Actor. A classic Comedy Movie that shall never come again! It keeps me laughing every time I watch it. Movies today in my opinnon will never match this classic and legendary movie.

  • CLIFTON WEBB AS MR BELVEDERE - HOW GREAT!

    • Jane Carey
    • 3/4/08

    Why hasn't this funny movie with Clifton Webb and Maureen O'Hara ever been put on DVD? There are hilarious sequences in the movie and good supporting actors. The other Mr Belvedere movies- "Mr. Belevedere goes to College" with Shirley Temple & Clifton Webb, and "Mr Belvedere Rings the Bell" should also be put on DVD - maybe all 3 movies in one DVD set?Clifton Webb had great comedic timing! He deserves to be better known by this generation, so please put these movies on DVD!

  • Sitting Pretty

    • Pamela
    • 8/12/07

    This movie is one of the funniest I have ever seen. Please run this one and all the Mr. Belvedere series on TCM. I can't believe it is not on DVD yet.

  • LOVE THIS MOVIE

    • Sissy
    • 6/11/07

    I love this movie. Please show it on TCM. I've tried to tell my kids about it, but until they see it for themselves, they won't understand what a great movie it is!

  • Sitting Pretty Is Pretty Darn Good!`

    • Debbie Crawford
    • 2/27/07

    How could this movie not be available to the public on DVD? What great lines, acting just great. The sitting, the Clothes, etc, I love it all please show this movie, its never shown on TCM.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.