skip navigation
Sister Kenny

Sister Kenny(1946)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Sister Kenny - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Sister Kenny

    • pat
    • 11/12/13

    I joined the movie 20 minutes in and I couldn't flip the channel if I wanted to. What an extrodinary movie! Nurse Kenny used her common sense and knowledge of muscle/brain connection to save children's lives but was shunned in three countries because she was first, a woman; second, a mere nurse; and third, did not follow common debilitating practices accepted by male dominated medical associations. My esteem for Rosalind Russell increased when post-film commentary described the efforts on her part to make this film. Sister Kenney should be required viewing in schools. Thank you, Turner Classic Movies!!! You never disappoint!

  • one of the best movies i have ever seen.

    • kathleen newell
    • 5/18/13

    i remember it as a kid and loved it more today.

  • Sister Kenny

    • Ruth Albright
    • 1/5/12

    This is a wonderful picture. Roz Russel did a superb job portraying Sister Kenny, showing perseverance in a time of mostly all male doctors of that time, and her dedication to bringing health and strength with the ability to walk again to children without the use of braces during a time when polio was running rampant through-out the world.I hope TCM will bring this picture out on DVD. I have waited a long time to be able to purchase it..

  • OUTSTANDING

    • Carolyn H.
    • 2/14/10

    This is one of the most outstanding films made! I love everything about it, the truth in this story is captivating, the acting by Rosalind Russell is wonderful and the photography pulls you in. Why isn't this in DVD?

  • Sister Kenny (1946)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/21/10

    The outstanding performance from Rosalind Russell as a very dedicated nurse, makes this film work beautifully. It is a bit too melodramatic, but it's always engrossing and interesting. A fine film.

  • a woman in a man's world

    • H.Cixous
    • 6/9/09

    rosalind russell frequently performed roles as strong willed and very bright women. sister is one such character. she's a woman in medicine, a man's world at that time in history. her work was dismissed by medical men probably because she was 'only' a woman. russell had a type of authoritative presence on film. she projected images of women who were survivors, independent, very resourceful when using humor to get what she wanted and quite determined to achieve her goals. these were extremely empowering images of women. they were enormously influential in helping women achievea more equal status. sister kenny stays in mind whenver I think of a figure who made a deep impression of people's minds.

  • Excellent film!

    • m.ray
    • 12/16/08

    My mother is a polio survivor. I recall watching this movie with her when I was a little girl. It has been a few years since I have last seen it; but my mom (now 75) and I were talking about this moving film today. I would love to purchase it for her for Christmas and am disappointed that it isn't available on DVD.

  • Sister Kenny on DVD ?

    • Jerry
    • 11/1/08

    Just watched the movie for the first time on TCM. Being a strong movie buff, I did not want to move from my seat. I would love to add this to my DVD library but right now, no luck ! The movie really pulls you in and Ms Russell gives a great performance.

  • Talking about breaking the glass ceiling!!

    • June Gill
    • 10/30/08

    Sister Kenney is an inspiration to all women in all generations.

  • Inspiring Movie

    • J. Locke
    • 9/15/08

    I was amazed to find that this film was based on a real nurse who used treatments that kept victims from being permanently damaged by polio. What a shame more doctors didn't embrace her methods.

  • BEST PICTURE

    • Nancy Chance
    • 10/23/07

    MISS RUSSELL IS A GREAT ACTRESS IN NURSE KENNY, ONE OF HER BEST. SHE IS A ONE OF A KIND IN ANY MOVIE SHE HAS MADE. I ENJOYED HER MOVIES INCLUDING ONE OF HER BEST YESTERDAY IN SOMETHING "WOMEN" SHE PLAYED A GOSSIP BIDDY ,FUNNY BUT WAS SO FANTASTIC TO WATCH. I ENJOY ANY MOVIE SHE IS IN.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.