skip navigation
The Clock

The Clock(1945)

  • Monday, August 4 @ 10:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Clock A G.I. en route to Europe... MORE > $21.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Clock is good but...

    • Polly
    • 8/7/09

    Don't get me wrong, this movie is good and Judy Garland and Robert Walker are great in it. But I did not like the ending very much. It was so empty and strange. I understand it, but don't like it. Believe me it is not a bad movie and anyone who is a Judy garland fan should see it, but for me the ending kind of ruined the whole film.

  • Tic Tock.....

    • Lyrna Moy
    • 10/29/08

    The Clock is a very sweet and poignant little film.Not the usual fare for Judy Garland fans but worth a watch none the less. I especially enjoyed seeing Robert Walker play a good guy after seeing him play such an evil person in Strangers On A Train.

  • wartime love!

    • ms. miniver
    • 10/29/08

    The Clock is a very good movie! When Judy Garland and Robert Walker kiss it's like everything melts away and its just them. When I first saw this movie i felt there was something missing in Garland's performance because this is not a musical but I have since grown to love it.

  • Judy's untapped dramatic sklls

    • Frank
    • 1/11/08

    After watching The Clock, one can only imagine what dramatic accomplishments Judy could have added to her musical ones if MGM would have only let her do more dramatic pieces. Some of her later films certainly give us a taste but none so completely as The Clock.

  • The Clock is so good!

    • Donna
    • 1/10/08

    Judy is so good in this movie. This is such a nice love story. Robert Walker is good with Judy. I've seen this movie many times and always enjoy it.

  • "The Clock": Pure Romance

    • Anitra
    • 5/28/07

    I grew up loving this movie. After watching it scores of times over 50 years, it has never lost its charm. Robert Walker is one of my top three favorite actors. The chemistry between Walker and Garland is so pure, I feel as if the story and characters are real and I'm ease-dropping, intruding on their love affair. The music is beautiful and draws you into the magic, further weaving it's spell over you. I love the use of shadows in the park scene, making it more beautiful in black and white than it would ever be in color. If you love a good Hollywood romantic film, this one is sure to warm your heart and soul.

  • Overlooked Classic

    • Andy
    • 10/13/06

    I love this film. I was very surprised by it the first time i saw it. I was not expecting it to be so funny and sweet and romantic. Judy and Robert Walker give wonderfully sweet and charming performances. Judy gets to truyl show off her range here. All of the supporting actors are wonderful as well. And I have to say I cried during the church scene. I was taken aback by how hard that scene hit me. It is one of the most romantic and beautifully sentimental scenes I have ever seen.

  • One of the greatest Judy Garland films

    • Hanna
    • 9/2/06

    I would have to say that this is one of my favorite movies of all time. Not just because Judy Garland is in it but because of the wonderful story. I hope they release it on dvd soon!!!

  • The most believable adventure, in 48 hours!

    • Robert
    • 7/2/06

    They meet, fall in love, have a series of wonderful adventures and then marry, and all in 48 hours. Beautiful film, makes you think "Life can be so wonderful!" Robert Walker & Judy Garland shine in this very different & enjoyable romance.Come on Warner Home Video, let us have that DVD!

  • The Clock

    • esther fox
    • 6/30/06

    This has got to be one of my favorite movies that Judy Garland has performed in.I would like to know when it is scheduled to view in the future. i would like to see it again.thank you.

  • Garland's finest hour and a half

    • Judge Hardy
    • 6/11/06

    Simply Judy Garland's finest film. There's no singing or dancing for those of you with a phobia against it. The chemistry with Robert Walker is very tender. Watch for the scene in the Central Park during their first kiss!

  • REALLY good movie

    • franklin
    • 5/23/06

    Very sweet movie and great job on Garland's part. J. Crawford won the Oscar that year for Mildred Pierce, but if the two are compared, Garland's performance is better.

  • Wonderful

    • Dave
    • 3/18/06

    I thought this was one of the better movies that Judy Garland did. Don't get me wrong, I really do love every Judy GArland movie I've ever seen, but some of them were basically the same. The Clock was so well directedby Minnelli, and so well acted by Judy that the moment it ended, I knew it would forever be one of my favorites. And as a side not, Judy Garland looked absolutley amazing in this movie. 1945 was the peak of her beauty.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.