skip navigation
She Wore a Yellow Ribbon

She Wore a Yellow Ribbon(1949)

  • Wednesday, April 23 @ 08:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (1949) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

She Wore a Yellow Ribbon An aging Cavalry officer tries... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great classic western!

    • RedRain
    • 7/27/13

    This is one of my favorite films and it is strictly because of John Wayne's very powerful performance. He is so good in this film that I've forgiven some of the horrid performances he gave prior to it and after. It is a beautifully photographed film, well deserving of the Oscar for cinematography, with a host of excellent actors. (Victor McLaghlen is hilarious.) For my money, this is John Ford's best film of the Western genre and his love of the natural beauty of the West is clearly illustrated in the photography. Of course, there is that song! You are humming it for days after viewing the film. It is a very old cavalry song and you can feel that military cadence when they sing it. Just one HUGE "essential" in the Western genre here!

  • Yellow Ribbon and Monument Valley

    • John Mather
    • 2/13/13

    A year ago it was my joy to finally visit the sight on John Ford's "She Wore a Yellow Ribbon." I have been a fan of early John Wayne movies, this one in particular. BUT staying at the film site, walking where the two Johns trod, and seeing seeing what greeted them every day made me weep unassamedly. Monument Valley and Gouldings are a must see pilgrimage for any fans of this movie or anyother Ford filming here. This movie and that place are a spiritual part of me.

  • She Wore a Yellow Ribbon

    • Ron
    • 1/14/13

    Dominating song, "She Wore a Yellow Ribbon," enhanced the movie's appeal, even with the dog barking in the background. Pony-that-Walks was cool too, along with Wayne.

  • "Don't apologize - it's a sign of weakness"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 8/1/12

    Future Oscar winners John Wayne and Ben Johnson, along with past Oscar winner Victor McLaglen (the bar scene is a funny tribute to his boxing days) are directed by past and future Oscar winner John Ford in one of his many movies set in Monument Valley. More boring than most films with Wayne, who does a wonderful job playing a character 20 years his senior. The Duke never disappoints. The gun dealing scene remains raw.

  • She Wore a Yellow Ribbon

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/1/12

    Ford's second film in the "Calvary Trilogy" and the only one in color. Wayne himself had stated that he wish was received an Oscar nomination for this film, anybody who say this film would tend to agree. Winton C. Hoch did win an Academy Award for photography Monument Valley in all it's gorgeous hues. The story is weak, but the overall film is magnificent. I give it a 4/5.

  • I Love John Wayne in this movie

    • Caroline
    • 2/18/10

    John Wayne's performance of Nathan Brittle was one of his best. I read that he wished he would of won his Oscar for Yellow Ribbon instead of True Grit, I felt that this performance was more deserving of the award. Beautiful scenery, humor, and you can't stop singing the title song once the movie is over. I'm not much into westerns but recently I watched this movie, Red River, and True Grit, and I am learning to appreciate the genre.

  • A Woman Not Usualy a Fan of Westerns

    • Carola
    • 7/5/08

    Ford's use of the scenery as in a Remington painting is an integral part of my enjoyment of the film. This movie made me a fan of John Wayne and westerns.

  • ONE OF THE GREATIST

    • WALTER
    • 5/22/07

    THIS IS A FANTASTIC FILM. IT IS THE BEST OF JOHN WAYNE.JOHN FORD GIVES EXCELLENT DIRECTION.I THINK IT GOES DOWN IN HISTORY AS ONE OF THE BEST WESTERNS EVER MADE.GREAT SCREENPLAY AND BEAUTIFUL LOCATIONS MAKES IT A GEM.VICTOR MCLAGLEN AS THE OLD FIESTY SGT. QUINCANNON ADDS SO MUCH TO THE FILM.LOOKOUT FOR THAT GREAT BOXING SCENE.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.