skip navigation
Seventh Heaven

Seventh Heaven(1937)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Seventh Heaven A Parisian sewer worker... MORE > $12.95 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Can't stop watching it!

    • mark haney
    • 8/22/17

    Such a beautiful movie! How this gem fell through the cracks I'll never know. If anyone knows of any other movies as good as this one, please let me know.

  • Absolutely captivating

    • MBufkin
    • 9/4/15

    I saw this movie late, late one night on TCM and was absolutely mesmerized by the story, the naivity and innocence that was portrayed brilliantly by Simone Simon, and the beautiful balance provided by Jimmy Stewart. His self-confidence so easily transferred to Simone, and he gave her what she needed and lacked--the dignity she had never been taught was possible or even allowed to consider in her wildest dreams, and the confidence to prevent that beautiful gift from being stolen away from her once she was allowed those feelings of worthlessness to be removed from her psyche. For me this was not a tear jerker as much as it was an well acted example of a mutual exchange of empowerment that was created and flourished when a simple man and a simple woman honestly appreciated one another. They truly completed one another.

  • Seventh Heaven

    • Linda
    • 5/29/15

    This, for me, is absolutely the GREATEST romance I have ever seen. Physically beaten, abused and taken advantage of in every possible way by her evil, heartless sister, Diane is saved by Chico, a lowly sewer cleaner with a positive and cheery outlook. They are separated by WWI for 4 years, but emotionally contact each other each day at 11am. One day, Diane cannot 'feel' Chico, and fears the worst. 'Seventh Heaven' refers to their little flat on the 7th floor that Chico runs up the stairs to every night after work to join his beloved wife, Diane. My heart leaps, breaks and rejoices each time I see this movie. 50 stars and 10 thumbs up! On a scale of 1 to 10, this movie is a 50!

  • TEAR JERKER

    • JONI
    • 1/28/14

    I loved this movie and have been waiting to see it again. It is a classic that needs to be on dvd to share with all who really appreciate the love of the oldies.

  • I found it !!!

    • Dianne
    • 5/23/12

    Greatest movie of all time , you can see it again it's available in regional 2 format just search the web !!

  • The Seventh Heaven

    • mandi
    • 2/23/12

    Loved this movie! ...i have dedicated many hours to watching Jimmy's movies, and this remains one of my favorites!

  • Seventh Heaven

    • Dianne Herman
    • 11/22/11

    My Mother tells me I was named after this movie I would love to see it ,Has it ever been on TV if so will it be on again?

  • awesome

    • Rudy
    • 10/11/11

    what can you say another awesome Stewart movie

  • Seventh Heaven 1936 with James Stewart

    • Fran Snyder
    • 7/25/11

    I saw this movie about 30 years ago and I just loved it. Very ethereal (sic) and moving. Would love to see it again. Fran

  • Unforgettable!

    • moviac
    • 12/30/10

    Seventh Heaven made a huge impression on me when I caught it on TV some decades ago. I have been looking for it ever since. The other reviewers' comments completely resonate with me. This stirring jewel of early cinema deserves to be played by TCM and made available on DVD.

  • Seventh Heaven a must!

    • Tom Neal
    • 10/12/10

    If you love a great romance with great chemistry between the leads than check this movie out. Stewart and Simon are wonderful together!

  • Adorable James Stewart

    • Mandi
    • 6/27/10

    James Stewart is adorable as always....it was delightful... touching...sweet...and funny....chico is now a favorite character of mine....

  • Felt the Love they shared

    • Ellan
    • 6/4/10

    I saw this movie and later saw the leading characters of the 1927 Silent Seventh Heaven at the Wax Museum in Buena Park, CA. I will never forget the love the couple shared.

  • James Stewart was the best

    • Caren
    • 5/1/10

    This was the first movie that moved me to thinking about morality. I'll never forget the emotions this movie stirred within me. I have been watching for this movie to be available for over 40 years. James Stewart lived the morals he portrayed on screen. My only fear is they will colorize it!

  • Great Early Jimmie Stewart Movie

    • Gary Flandro
    • 4/2/10

    Like many others, saw this movie as a youngster and was deeply touched by it. This is a lovely story with a well-acted and well-presented screenplay. It really should be available with Jimmie Stewart's other material in the DVD format. It is a refreshing change from the despicable junk now produced by Hollywood.

  • Fond Memories

    • Dan
    • 2/6/10

    I saw this movie years ago, when I was only a child, but it left such an impression on me, that I have never forgotten it. I love all of Jimmy Stewarts movies, but I have fond memories of this one. Is it possible that you will ever show it? I haven't seen, or even heard, of it being shown anywhere for many years. I'm sure there is a great number of Jimmy Stewart fans that would fall in love with this particular film. Please see if there is any way you could show "Seventh Heaven" again. Thank you and I love your work with all the old classics.

  • 1937 version of Seventh Heaven

    • Charles
    • 10/10/09

    I saw this film at the Radio City Music Hall in 1937 and the venue, show, and film left a lasting memory for me. By either fate or chance, I married "My Diane" and this gave even more meaning to the time I saw the film. I would love to see it again on Turner Clasic Movies.Please show it...Thank you

  • A sweet love story

    • Diana
    • 8/24/09

    This is a touching love story that is not shown often enough. I saw it years ago it is one of those forgotten Jimmy Stewart movies that needs to be introduce to a new audience.

  • Please show on TCM !!

    • Nancy
    • 8/2/09

    This is a wonderful, sweet movie I say years ago as a young girl and have never forgotten it. I would enjoy so much seeing it again. Please show it again on TCM soon.

  • Love Jimmy Stewart

    • Arlene Molinaro
    • 7/4/09

    I have always been a fan of Jimmy Stewart. I saw this movie only once and really enjoyed it. That is where I remember first seeing Simone Simon. I would really like to see this movie again. If at all possible please show it again. Maybe a lot more people might like it if given the opportunity to see this great movie.

  • Must see this Movie !!!!

    • Dianne Herman
    • 5/3/09

    I have heard so much about this movie from my mother & I would love to see it if at all possible ? did I miss it will it play again ?

  • Simone Simon Will Melt Your Heart

    • Buzz Swanson
    • 6/19/08

    I love this movie. I first saw it, this story of devoted and undying romantic love, on late-night television when I was about thirteen and immediately fell in love with the lovely and charming Simone Simon as Diane. I also was moved by Jimmy Stewart's portrayal as likable sewer worker Chico. If you are not too cynical to appreciate old-fashioned and sentimental love stories, give this film a viewing. It is deserving of better notices than critics gave it in 1937, when they were too quick to compare it unfavorably with the 1927 Janet Gaynor/Charles Farrell silent version. The film is enhanced by the hauntingly beautiful song "Diane."

  • Please show it again

    • Jack Mang
    • 6/7/08

    Please show the mvie again so that I can save it. Better yet release this classic on DVD.

  • Please release this wonderful film on DVD.

    • Doug Drake
    • 4/8/08

    I don't see how you not include this movie for a tribute to Jimmy Stewart.It is classic and a good story of WWI,of which we don't have too many that are good.Thanks.

  • Still Waiting

    • Jan Creighton
    • 3/28/08

    You could not capture this today. It is old and delightful. I remember it as a child. I would love to see it again. I did manage to copy it when it was on tv some time back. I lost it in Hurricane Katrina. Please show it again. How about when you do a Jimmy Stewart special. Instead of the same old ones.Thank you, Jan

  • 70 years is long enough to wait to own this movie

    • Nicole
    • 12/22/07

    Why isn't this available for purchase? I've told everyone about this movie since I saw it on TCM years ago, and I haven't been able to locate a copy to watch it a second time. To the powers that be: release the DVD!

  • 7th Heaven 1937

    • Meg
    • 3/21/07

    An amazing movie which my Mom has always told me about and would really like to see again.

  • Great Movie

    • Debbie Crawford
    • 3/6/07

    This movie should be on DVD for everyone to see. Jimmy Stewart and Simone Simone together were great. I love this story, I saw it on the Fox Movie Channel and I taped it and watched it maybe 15 times.Once again it should be on DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.