skip navigation
The 7th Dawn

The 7th Dawn(1964)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The 7th Dawn A World War II veteran stays... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • REALLY UNFORGETTABLE FILM

    • Kathy
    • 7/1/11

    I agree 100% with the other reviewers of this WONDERFUL film. It has a complex, emotional and also politically-charged plot which grips you and doesn't let you go. Two love stories, and a story about friendship and betrayal in a country still under British rule, but wanting its freedom. An early film of the very wonderful Susannah York. William Holden is great as Ferris and Capucine shows her acting skill as a half-Malayan woman involved in the freedom movement. It's hard to summarize this film, you have to see it. Of note: the photography of the Malayan jungle and general landscape, and the exceptionally beautiful and haunting musical score, are not to be forgotten. YES, I vote strongly for TMC to show this movie... not once, but regularly, so that others can discover an unusual and very great movie.

  • The 7th Dawn

    • Donald Dykes
    • 8/22/10

    This is one of the best movies I can remember seeing. It is a must to be made available on home video

  • Great movie!

    • Lonnie
    • 8/20/09

    Wonderful movie - it's really a shame that there is no DVD copy available to ensure the quality stays pristine over the years. Please, please mint a DVD version!

  • The 7th Dawn

    • Pat
    • 2/28/09

    They don't make movies like this anymore. This movie has a marvelous musical score, great acting and beautiful shot of the country side in Malaysia. Please, please put this on DVD. And play put it on the monthly calendar for our viewing pleasure ASAP thanks.

  • The 7th Dawn, a dvd would be nice.

    • marty
    • 2/13/08

    I just remember, the movie left an impression on me.1965, then it came back to me many times while I was in the jungle of Viet-Nam,67-68. The jungle,the weather, situation at the time,the actions of the people,and how little I knew about the history of this beautiful country.The similarity.

  • 7th Dawn - My Dad

    • Zariah
    • 8/6/07

    I am from Malaysia - My dad played a part in this movie next to William Holdan, Cappucine and the rest of the British actors - at that time, of course, Malaya was under British rule but my dad were among the few that could speak in fluent English so he had a part as the second in command of the British police - so when you see the British police commander, you will see my dad by his side! It was awesome! I even got to sit on William Holden's knee at the wrap up party....I was 5 years old.

  • A real sleeper

    • Mike Hricik
    • 7/27/07

    William Holden was superb as was Capucine, in this movie. The scenery and music were tremendous. I saw this is Malaya in 1965 or so but have never seen it on TV here in States. I wish it were on DVD also

  • The Seventh Dawn

    • Carol Fitzpatrick
    • 7/16/07

    Many are not aware what a great movie this was! It was a box office sleeper with an incredible music score. It has remained in my mind for over 40 years and I can't find it anywhere!! I want to purchase it and don't care what format, even reel - I'll have it remade! Thank YouCarol Fitzpatrick

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.