skip navigation
Secret of the Incas

Secret of the Incas(1954)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Secret of the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Let's get this restored and on DVD!!!

    • Gary Sanders
    • 1/8/13

    This is an exceptional adventure film, that features the eccentric singer Yma Sumac with her 5-octave voice. I won't go into the similarities to Raiders of the Lost Ark; but on it's own, its a must-see film with a great cast. Yes, it is slow-moving compared to Raiders, but if you relax and enjoy the acting, dialogue, and the on-site filming in Peru (inclluding Machu Picchu), you will go on a very pleasant ride. This film deserves to be available on TCM and on DVD --- Let's Do It!

  • Great Film

    • rick
    • 9/15/12

    When I first saw this years ago I was amazed at how good it was and that I had never heard of it before. Heston is great as usual but since this is the original Indiana Jones I think it would sell lots of copies and cant figure out why after all these years it was never released on any format??Paramount needs to get their head out or their.......

  • Now Available on Netflix Instant View!

    • Mike
    • 8/3/11

    I have been waiting to watch this little gem of a movie on TCM for a long time. I could have watched it on YouTube or gotten an "unofficial" DVD, but I wanted (at least) a halfway decent first viewing. Then I looked on Netflix Instant View.....YAYYYY!4 stars - 1/2 star for the music (sorry Yma Sumac, not all her fault, it really ruined the flow) = 3 1/2 stars.I hope that Lucas and Spielberg give a nod to this film on the (someday) Indiana Jones Blu-Rays, it deserves some credit for the Indy we all know and love.

  • Secret Of The Incas 1954 Great Adventure

    • FoilmLoverMike
    • 6/25/11

    I saw Secret of the Incas twice once in theatre original release in 1954 I was about 8 yrs old Then years later on I believe ANMC IT HAS NOT BEEN SHOWN SINCE MAYBE THE *0's Why Not? Its a great adventure,in a great location with a wonderful cast: Charlton Heston, Robert Young, Nicole Murray and the exotix YMA SUMAC as the 'bird lady" There are scwnes in this filn that Ill never forget.. Photography and score were briliant Why is it not on TCM ? and /or why not on VHS ever or now DVD.. Steven Spielberg himself said Secret Of The Incas" influenced his Raiders of the Lost Ark films Please show this film Therea re more but thats my number one choice for a future broadcast& congratulations on The Jean Simmons month. Well deserved she was much underrated and most definitlely should have been nominated for Best Actress in Angel Face and Elmer Gantry !!!

  • secret of the incas

    • katie wahl
    • 5/2/10

    I am a fan of charlton heston. I have been for years. I loved this movie because I'm also a fan of the mysteries of the incas.I love archeology. However, people have not recognized the bonus pleasures of Robert Young, and one reason I love the movie so much, namely Yima Sumac. Her singing in the movie was wonderful. I absolutely love movies about adventurers, lost treasures, and lost civilizations. Needless to say I am also a big fan of Harrison Fords Indiana Jones! I would dearly love to find out when and how I might be able to buy this movie! katie wahl

  • The real Indiana Jones SR.

    • Mark
    • 12/30/08

    Let me know when this will be airing again. With all the interest in Macchu Picchu at this time, and the Indiana Jones sequel. It is past due to show this movie regular and send it to DVD. Heston does a great job ,as does the singer, photogaphy is awesome.

  • please show this movie

    • ken
    • 5/29/08

    i agree wholeheartedly with these previous comments:James Byrne Date: 04/18/2008 Forgotten gem SECRET OF THE INCAS is one of Heston's best pre-Moses movies. Indiana Jones was based on the Heston character, Harry Steele. Next time it airs on tv ... don't miss this minor classic.

  • Forgotten gem

    • James Byrne
    • 4/18/08

    SECRET OF THE INCAS is one of Heston's best pre-Moses movies. Indiana Jones was based on the Heston character, Harry Steele. Next time it airs on tv ... don't miss this minor classic.

  • Release this DVD or Show it on TCM

    • Gus
    • 11/18/07

    I do not undrestand why this movie has not been released on DVD or why it is not shown more frequently on TCM. It is one of the 1950s adventure movies I really enjoyed (on TV) when I was a kid.

  • Charlton Heston is the orginal Indiana Jones.

    • Sona J. Goode
    • 4/4/06

    I loved this movie. Have not seen it in a very long time.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.