skip navigation
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty(1947)

  • Tuesday, November 25 @ 09:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (1947) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty An accountant dreams of being... MORE > $9.99 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • No One Like Danny Kaye

    • Maria Ramos
    • 10/12/14

    Danny Kaye was one of the greats. The redo of this film can't compare. Has TCM paid Mr. Kaye tribute as star of the month or Summer under the stars. If not way over due.

  • Hilariously fun

    • KQ
    • 8/15/13

    I remember watching this at my grandparents house on a lazy Sunday afternoon, and it instantly became a favorite. When it recently appeared on the TV guide, I just had to record it, later watching it with my three children, ages 10, 8 & 5. At first they were skeptical, "Mom and her old movies!" But the giggles soon arrived as Danny Kaye bumbles around his boss' office, nearly knocking over the water cooler. By the time Walter is "conducting the orchestra," my kids were rolling on the floor with full blown laughter. My 10-year-old son thinks that "Symphony for an Unstrung Tongue" should be my cellphone ringtone. My five-year-old now requests to watch this movie all the time. Alas, I had already deleted it! If I had only known how much they would request to watch this, I definitely would have saved it. Please, please release this onto DVD!

  • Secret Life of Walter Mitty

    • Bruce C
    • 1/21/13

    An entertaining movie. Waste's no time getting into it. Exemplifies the art of daydreaming and its grandness through imagination. A detail almost lost todayin the world of lobbied grid architecture. Danny Kaye captures it perfectly. His vocal ability is... second to none. A true gemof a film from start to finish. Virginia Mayo is dazzling and Boris Karloff provides his essential standard of spooky. Great cast.

  • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 5/6/10

    Great Danny Kaye comedy.

  • The Secret Life of Walter mitty 1947

    • Marty Painter
    • 12/22/09

    The Secret Life of Walter mitty 1947 is a good movie needs to be released on blu-ray dvd and and the secret life of walter mitty is hard to find need to be released on blu-ray dvd and dvd.

  • THIS IS DANNY KAYE AT HIS BEST!!

    • Stefan
    • 4/18/09

    How can you NOT offer this wonderful, inventive, witty classic?!!! You have the others, why not add this and make your website the best for being the only one who listens to customers who love classic movies [& love Danny Kaye]? Make it happen! We Danny Kaye fans are waiting!!

  • Darling Movie

    • Judy
    • 10/11/08

    I saw this film yesterday when I turned on TCM just to see what was on. I didn't even know it was playing, but I sat down and began to watch it. I cannot tell you how delighted I was and how carefree and happy I felt after it was over, and that's what movies are all about: making you forget reality and then feel great when they're over. This film is one of my favorite Danny Kaye films ever.

  • Great Movie

    • ronald
    • 1/19/08

    Another great classic that is not on DVD. The powers that be, never seem to understand that there is a viable market for all these classics! It is a shame that movies like "The African Queen","Ride the Pink Horse" and "The Uninvited" are still not available. Excuse the tirade, it's just very frustrating. As for this gem (Walter Mitty) Danny Kaye is awesome as the great daydreamer that lives within us all! Virginia Mayo is wonderful as the quintessential "Dream girl". This is a wonderful movie, for everyone. I highly recommend it!

  • Great Adaptation!

    • Helen
    • 4/12/07

    I don't get tired of watching this movie! Danny Kaye is hilarious esp. when he goes off into his daydreams and Virginia Mayo is all the glamour of those times. A really good adaptation of the short story. A Perfect mix of mystery and humor. Super clean fun.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.