skip navigation
The Secret Heart

The Secret Heart(1946)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Secret Heart - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Meh...

    • RedRain
    • 8/18/14

    Although Pigeon and Colbert give good performances in this film, the perpetual goody-two-shoes, Allyson, is grossly miscast as a teenager. This would have been a MUCH better film, and much more believable, had a younger actress been cast as Penny.

  • Convincing Enough

    • RobertL2
    • 5/8/14

    Just watched this film for the very first time tonight on TCM. I really don't understand the Maltin comment that this film is "not for all tastes." What movie is? This is a well-wrought film played under good direction by director Robert Z. Leonard, mostly renowned for his musicals, rom-coms and period pieces. In this instance, in a somewhat darker-than-usual piece for him and the actors involved, he got impressive performances from Colbert, Pidgeon and Allyson. Pidgeon does very well as the male far too old for the adolescent who falls for him while it's Mom he wants, but he'd had practice in the very same role six years before, opposite Kay Francis and Deanna Durbin in Universal's musical and much more lighthearted It's a Date. Allyson at age 29 did an even more convincing job of playing a highly neurotic teen thirteen years her junior than she did at age 32 playing Jo in Little Women (also directed by Leonard) three years later.

  • The Secret Heart

    • ShirleyM
    • 4/30/14

    An engaging drama. The plot is interesting enough to keep me watching until the end, even though I am not usually a fan of dramas. The acting and direction are superb. Love Claudette Colbert (what a professional!).Although June Allyson is a good actress, the pigtails could not hide the fact that she was pushing 30. As for theBarrymores, I must be the only one who wonders what the film industry and the rest of the world ever saw in them. Walter Pidgeon was a great pick for his role and although not much to look at, he played his part very well.I would give this movie a 7 or 8.

  • The Secret Heart

    • Gemdandy
    • 4/23/14

    Excellent movie, I wish I could buy it. I can watch this movie over and over again. Have been watching and waiting for it to come on again. Claudette Colbert and Walter Pidgeon are awesome in this movie. A must watch for anyone. Superbly done. TCM please play this often or make it available to purchase. Thank you.

  • The Secret Heart

    • Terrie Bedgood
    • 4/23/14

    Excellent movie, I wish I could buy it. I can watch this movie over and over again. Have been watching and waiting for it to come on again. Claudette Colbert and Walter Pidgeon are awesome in this movie. A must watch for anyone. Superbly done. TCM please play this often or make it available to purchase. Thank you.

  • secret heart

    • billj
    • 1/13/14

    i only want to see this move again because it is the first movie i ever saw. other reviews criticize allyson because she is too old to play a 17 yr girl, i agree. A little bit of Claudette goes a long way, but I would love to see it again. bravo all barrymores

  • The Secret Heart ....

    • AlanS
    • 4/27/13

    Yeah, I'm not a fan of June Allyson either, Gypsy. There's just something about her that, I don't know, annoys me. But like you I tried not to let that spoil the movie. She plays a looney tune and it fits her. Besides, most of the action seems to revolve around Claudette and Walter's characters anyway. Oh, and of course, Lionel Barrymore is always a treat to see in any film!

  • This Movie Presents a Problem and a Solution

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/25/13

    Here's a problem I sometimes have when watching all these films on TCM: Sometimes I really just don't like an actor. There's no real reason behind it and nothing against them.. they're just not my cup of tea. So, I'm not a big June Allyson fan, but I don't want to not like a movie just because she's in it. I was kind of struggling with that while watching this movie. It's an interesting film. It has a different storyline that's worth seeing. Well, here's what I realized while watching this movie.. I really like Lionel Barrymore. In fact, he's like an anchor of comfort to me. I thought about all the movies I've seen him in and it's like he's a lighthouse telling me it's okay.. it's all going to work out just fine. I can hear his clear and distinctive voice speaking to me through the storm letting me know the end of the turbulence is near and blue skies are ahead. It's funny I never realized this before. I never realized how glad I was to see him in a film, but it's true. As soon as he appears in a film I'm watching I feel the serene presence of an old soul sharing all his wisdom with me for that moment.. a moment that has thankfully transcended time. Problem solved.

  • The Secret Heart

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/15/11

    Engaging film that doesn't get too bogged down in the drama of it all. It's "real life" humorous scenes went a long way in counteracting too much sentimentality or moroseness. As usual, Claudette Colbert makes this film, and her chemistry with Walter Pidgeon is surprisingly good. Robert Sterling, who plays her devoted step-son, is exceptionally good, as well.

  • The Secret Heart

    • ralphsato
    • 4/9/10

    A very great movie with the best stars of the silver screen. Quite impressed with Claudette Colbert. Although I remember seeing her when I was very young I never realized what a great actress she really was. This accounts for her appearance in so many movies at the time.

  • Colbert is great; Allyson is miscast

    • spunkylubbock
    • 4/9/10

    Claudette Colbert as a commercial real estate business woman and mother is great in this film. But 29-year-old June Allyson as a 17-year-old? Surely MGM had a younger actress who would have been more believable in the part of Penny.

  • Why are you hiding this great film?

    • Shirley
    • 3/31/09

    Please release "The Secret Heart" or schedule it on TCM soon! Haven't seen it in ages. One of my favorite CC films. Thanks

  • PLEASE RELEASE "THE SECRET HEART"!!

    • Katharine
    • 2/10/09

    I'd love to see this movie, but I can't find it anywhere. If they release it, I'll buy it!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.