skip navigation
Sanctuary

Sanctuary(1961)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Sanctuary In the Misssissippi of the... MORE > $29.98 Regularly $29.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Mississippi in the Twenties

    • raven maven
    • 10/7/14

    Let's see now. You have a boyfriend/ then husband who is sexually unappealing. Your life with him is "right address, right church, right pew" AND he listens to all your conversations and is relentless about bossing you around. OR you have a boyfriend who is a bootlegger so he's too busy to keep you under constant surveillance. And he's sexually sublime. And you live in a zesty BROTHEL. Given the choices of a woman of this era, I'd take the High Life, too! This is a wonderful, compelling movie. Wonderful soundtrack, too, by Alex North of Sparticus fame. Loved it.

  • ABSOLUTELY UNFORGETTABLE

    • el debbo
    • 8/17/14

    Lee Remick was grand as the gin-soaked jazz baby Temple Drake. Bradford Dillman is always wonderfully intense. Odetta was the perfect choice for Nancy, no one could've played her better. But Yves Montand as Candy Man, WOW!Magnetic, mesmerizing, silky, rough, tender, malevolent. I had never seen him before in a movie and could not take my eyes off his beautiful face. A face so flat & sociopathic at times, then so tender & broken when he holds her and says "You're mine. My woman. The real one. The only." That scene where he finishes shaving outside at the pump...that does it. Stunning. No wonder Marilyn Monroe was drawn to him. Anyhow, "Sanctuary" is a vast, poignant story, not only for the vision of Faulkner's gothic South, the honesty of Pepper's seduction, but for the love shown between Nancy and Temple. Not sexual love, deep and abiding women-love. This is a great movie.

  • Sanctuary

    • Carol
    • 2/4/14

    I saw this in the 60's as a teenager & have NEVER gotten over it! Lee & Yves--so sensual! It was broadcast on TV but only once --still in the 60's I believe. I keep hoping to see it again on TCM but haven't even tho' they have had many LEE REMICK Days & have also aired an earlier version of this play for which ROBERT OSBORNE did a commentary on it. I don't understand their reluctance to show this movie....PLEASE show it again!! I'm glad I'm not the only one who feels this way! It had a profound affect on me!

  • Sanctuary 1961

    • MIKE O'
    • 8/8/13

    One of the best movies I've ever seen! This movie should be restored and shown or offered for sale instead of some of the junk. Saw it at the preston drive in around 1962. TCM are you listening?

  • Sanctuary

    • JO
    • 11/1/12

    I saw this movie back in the 60's on television. I have never forgotten this movie and would love to see it again. Even better would be the option to buy it. Why is it never shown since it has obviously been requested many times?

  • A GREAT MOVIE THAT NEEDS TO BE SHOWN!

    • Caroline Jason
    • 8/3/12

    I submitted a request for this movie about 6 years ago. I still haven't seen it and its still not available on tape or DVD or anywhere. I am sick now and am putting in another request. I 'd like to see it just one more time. Maybe when Turner does a day of Lee Remick movies, this will be included. It should be as its one of her best performances.

  • Sensual Movie

    • Courtney
    • 7/4/11

    I remember seeing this movie over 20 years ago on one of the Atlanta local channels late one night and I still think about to this day. The character Candy still haunts my dreams!!! This movie was so sensual and alarming at the same time. I would like to see it again. Maybe they can have a Lee Remick month on TCM. Lee's performance was outstanding. Please show it.

  • sanctuary

    • janet Hicks
    • 11/25/10

    I have been looking for this film for years...why can't we see it again...Faulkner was great.....bad film you can find every where...what is the deal with this?Janet

  • sanctuary

    • mike
    • 9/27/10

    saw it at drive in sure hope itbecomes available!

  • Sanctuary

    • Paul
    • 8/28/10

    I wish I could see this movie again since I last saw it about 20 years ago. I still remember it today as a very risque and haunting movie. Lee Remick is gorgeous, bad, and fragile young woman and Candy is a nasty man. Stockhom Syndrome lives in this atmospheric and absorbing film.

  • Unforgettable

    • Pearl Saunders
    • 5/15/09

    Like everyone else I saw first this movie many years ago. It is a movie that I will never forget because it is so haunting. It seeps into your soul. It's one of those movies that has perfect chemistry among the actors and for that reason I don't think they could ever do a remake. I would like to add it to my collection and watch it with others.

  • Lets get this on a DVD!

    • Nina Swain
    • 3/9/09

    I saw this movie, over 20 years ago, on late night TV up in Connecticut, probably a NYC channel. I NEVER forgot it, and have not heard of it since. For it's day, and any day for that matter it is quite a sensual film. I have wanted it for my collection since the time of VHS. Great Movie! If you aire it again, I'm sure it will become a popular cult film as well!

  • Real stunner-Lee Remick never better

    • Steve E
    • 1/16/09

    I saw this film many years ago at the theater. It was very controversial at the time of its release and many southern cities would not even show it in the sixties. Lee Remick is fantastic and the script was based on the story by writer William Faulkner. This should be available to all movie lovers. Great flick!

  • Unforgettable

    • Candice Forrest
    • 2/22/08

    I only saw this Movie one time many years ago. I could not forget it. I found it haunting. I spoke with many people over the years and only met two that had seen it. I viewed this movie around 1968 late night TV and I was eighteen. One of the two people I met saw it in class at UMSL the other was from Atlanta, GA. Through the internet looking up the Actors-I found the proper name, at the age of 58 I would like to have this as part of my collection.

  • Should be on home video.

    • o.a.c.
    • 11/21/06

    One of the better films of the '60s. Great perfomance by Lee Remick in a somewhat sensual role.

  • A GREAT MOVIE!!!! SHOULDN'T BE MISSED!!!!

    • Caroline Jason
    • 3/24/06

    I loved this movie. Have been looking for it on video for some time. It is not available but should be. I saw it many years ago, maybe 20, on public television. I loved Lee Remick and thought it was a wonderful performance by her. Yves Montand played a great part as well as Bradford Dillman and Odetta. It has always been one of my favorites.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.