skip navigation
Samson and Delilah

Samson and Delilah(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Samson and... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Newly Released Treasure

    • Alec
    • 3/14/13

    To my extreme surprise and joy, Sam and Delilah is finally released by Paramount and "Meticulously Restored". I just came across it today and have yet to watch it but I have not seen it in at least 40 years and my excitement far outpaces my expectations. Last time I watched with my sister after "Bedtime" sneaking into her room to watch on a small Portable Rectangular Panasonic B/W Tv that was all the rage then. We put it on so low we could barely hear it watching under a blanket tent to hide from our parents ears. Maybe this is what has made it so magical to me but few movies from my childhood seem so Majestic and Forbidden. I cant wait!

  • Samson and Delilah

    • Ron Harding
    • 1/29/13

    This is one of DeMille's best. The color and settings are gorgeous and Victor Young's music (one of Hollywood's most overlooked composers) make this watchable over and over again.

  • Entertaining

    • Robb
    • 1/11/12

    Entertaining movie although Mature is his usual non-talented self. His best role is playing himself which he always does.

  • Best Movie

    • Laverne Wellington
    • 3/31/11

    I had never seen this movie before and 2 years ago your TCM channel showed the movie. I loved this movieand I think you should show it every year. The acting was superb and the movie closely represented the bible account. These days its very seldom that you find a movie so good.

  • Samson and Delilah

    • Edmund Lachmann
    • 9/30/10

    The epics that Mr. DeMille made were not the hyper-violent, pseudo-hip and practically unwatchable garbage we've had to sit through in recent years. In full technicolor mode, his were delicious eye candy, a delight to behold. I confess to being mesmerized by this and "Ten Commandments" and "Greatest Show". Perhaps they lack in what some people call "historical accuracy". But, they are great fun. This one had a wonderful George Sanders, a vindictive trollop of a Hedy Lamarr and the most beautiful Angela Landsbury you can imagine. Please, don't just put it out on DVD but on blu-ray, as well. It should be seen in all its glory.

  • Samson and Delilah

    • Rachel
    • 9/25/10

    I love to watch biblical movies and this is one of my favorites. I thought the actors did a good job especially handsome Victor Mature. One of the reviewers gave it a bad review but who cares? It was entertaining and I cried which I always do when watching sad movies and happy ending ones. I would love to get this movie on DVD.

  • Samsom and Delilah

    • Paris Monfort
    • 9/23/10

    I saw this film in NYC> at its Premiere and just was thrilled by the overall opulence and the Music by Victor Young, beautiful Heby Lamarr and of course George Sanders, with his caustic wit. Please add my voice to getting it on DVD soon...there is so much inferior films out' there

  • Samson and Delilah

    • Janet Blackley
    • 9/22/10

    A reviewer wrote that this is badly-acted, the costumes are garish and the music was intrusive. Who goes to see two actors who can't act and why; one goes to see the gorgeous Hedy Lamarr and handsome Victor Mature and the gaudy costumes just for entertaimnment. I remember seeing this film as a child and being really thrilled when Samson brings down the columns in the temple shorn of his strength. If the DVD were available I'd buy it for my collection. As for Angela Landsbury, she is always a treat to watch.

  • Samson & Delilah

    • Maria
    • 5/25/10

    I added Quo Vadis to my collection, by voting and by adding a review to the post, Please consider releasing to DVD, I would love this in my collection. Great epic story!

  • Samson and Delilah (1949)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/4/10

    This is one of those films that is so bad it is entertaining. It is a preposterous movie, poorly acted by most, only Angela Lansbury brings any good acting to the film. It is laughably inaccurate. It is so overdone in every way, the costume design is so blindingly colorful, the art direction is gaudy and extreme. The score is unbearably intrusive. It is way overlong and director Cecil B. DeMille is to blame for the films absurdness. The Hungarian, Brooklyn and English accents of the cast members certainly do not add any authenticity to the film.

  • SENSATIONAL BIBLICAL STORY!

    • Posh
    • 7/27/09

    I am baffaled that this has not been made available as a classic collectors DVD of all times. I remember falling in love with Victor Mature at the movies, after seeing this movie in the 60's. This movie was fantastic and should be available to the public! Please make it happen during my lifetime, by sending our votes and letting our voices be heard! An all-time classic great!

  • One of the great Biblical epics.

    • John Flenoil
    • 7/24/09

    I think the Ten Commamdments (1956)is the greatest movie of all time. I have it in my collection. I would also like to add Samson and Delilah (1950) to this collection.

  • love classics!!!!!

    • mary sottile
    • 6/1/09

    collecting classic bible stories, would love to have this version of Samaon and Delilah.

  • This Epic Movie on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 5/21/09

    I'd enjoy having this on DVD too. I like George Sanders. Also, this movie did win two Oscars for best art direction and best costume design. So, this epic does deserve to be on DVD.

  • another great movie

    • carol
    • 1/30/09

    Another great movie we want to get our hands on. What are you all waiting for. We're impatient to have this really great movie. They don't make them like they use to. It's a real shame. Please hurry and get this movie out. Thnks so much

  • Samson & Delilah (1950)

    • Hosler
    • 10/15/08

    I thought Victor Mature was great in this film. I remember watching this film many times and I love it every time. Young Angela Lansbury had a short role but thought she played the part very well. One of my best films.

  • Mature is Macho!

    • mason
    • 4/24/08

    This has to be one of victor mature's best films. i always thought he was underrated as an actor. i remember reading about the scene where he kills the lion with his hands. demille wanted mature to handle the stunt lion more, but mature balked, saying "even if he's tame, he may still lick me to death." demille, mature and hedy and their finest.

  • A DeMille Favorite

    • Steve
    • 4/23/08

    I can remember seeing this film in a theatrical re-release, and this is one of my favorites. Victor Mature gives one of his better performances as the playboy Danite being teased by Hedy Lamarr. Watch for George Sanders, the Saran of Gaza, being wonderfully cadish in the that role. This film packs a lot of spectacular visual sequences in its 2 hour runtime. Like other DeMille pictures, the film is better seen on the big screen, as it was meant to be. So get that plasma TV and hope that Paramount will release this one on DVD. Oh one last item, Victor Young film score here is his best!

  • "Hair today ..."

    • John McClafferty
    • 3/25/08

    Just to see George Sanders raise a toast to Hedy Lamarr's 'Delilah' before the "roof caves in" is worth the price of admission alone! This film is a gem!Let's get it on DVD, as soon as possible.

  • Samson and Delilah 1950

    • martha alvarez
    • 1/9/08

    I saw this movie a few years ago and I loved it, nothing like it today, please show it again. I hope it is for sale soon I want to give it as gifts to my family. Thanks Marty

  • the greatest tease

    • cynthia b.f.
    • 12/28/07

    to see a portion on sunset blvd,,, in black & white ...what a tease -- the best bibical story told should be released in a demille bible story clollection -- along with others ... each time i see this epic is like seeing ot for the first ime ..... these stories help children realize the bible stories told in sunday school are real & these movies guide us thru very important times ----- past & present ........ a true masterpeice ..cbf

  • samsin & delilah

    • claudia
    • 7/15/07

    I SAW THIS MOVIE WHEN I WAS 10 YRS OLD AND IT MADE SUCH AN IMPRESSION ON ME THAT I LOVE SEEING IT AGAIN ON TCM. VICTOR WAS SO STRONG & HANDSOME IN THE PICTURE AND WAS ABSOLUTELY RIVETING AS SAMPSON. HEDY WAS BEAUTIFUL BEYOND BELIEF AND THE TWO OF THEM MADE FOR A BEAUTIFUL LOVE STORY.

  • one of demille's best films.

    • marcco
    • 7/5/07

    this is really a great, crowd pleasing film. i saw this one at a revival theater, and with a very appreciative audience ... we were all into it. never saw such audience participation. one of the best times i've had watching a movie.this film's tremendous success started the whole hollywood biblical spectacular craze of the 1950's.... but there was never a better temptress than hedy lamarr's iconic delilah. she's stunning, and twisted to the very end!!and she is matched well with victor mature's samson, who quite believably takes down an army of men with a jawbone of an ass in one of demille's rousing set pieces.great fun, a must for dvd!!!!!

  • One of DeMille's greatest Bible films!

    • Harry Mosley
    • 5/30/07

    DeMille's 1949 epic "Samson and Delilah" is one of the screen's greatest Biblical films--and is so very typical of the undisputed master of epic spectaculars!Soundly based on the Biblical love story of the Hebrew strongman and the alluring Philestine temptress, this film delivers both inspirational faith in God and terrific, exciting entertainment.It's faithful to the events of the Biblical story, and it also provides scene after scene of eye-filling action.It's breath-taking to see Samson take out dozens of Philestines just by swinging that jawbone. And the final scene of the destruction of Dagon's temple must surely rank as one of the screen's most spectacular--as well as moving--moments.Yes, this film should be on DVD, so that it can be enjoyed by a whole new generation of movie fans again and again!

  • Why This movie should be released.

    • J. Humerez
    • 5/6/07

    I remember as a child seeing this epic in the theatre in my home town. It has always there after been one of my favorites. It was produced and directed by Cecil B. DeMille. It is a classic, only once being released in VHS. It should be released in DVD. Look at all the sick slasher movies being released everyday with meaningless plots.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.