skip navigation
A Royal Scandal

A Royal Scandal(1945)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

A Royal Scandal - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Royal Scandal

    • Cindy
    • 8/25/13

    I saw the beginning of this movie late last night but unfortunately my eyes just wouldn't stay open for the entire movie. PLEASE I need this to come out on DVD so I can see the entire movie. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE !!!!

  • Diva Alert!

    • Toomedude
    • 9/14/12

    This should be a cult classic! Comedy through camp, innuendo revenge, fabulous costumes and Tallulah! Who could ask for anything more!

  • Thank Zanuck

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 1/21/12

    Another poster attributed Tallulah's motion picture resurgence to directors Alfred Hitchcock and Ernst Lubitsch. It is more accurate to state that Fox production chief Darryl Zanuck was responsible for luring her back to Hollywood in the 40s. He is the one who gave her a two-picture deal and starred her in LIFEBOAT and A ROYAL SCANDAL. As for the directors, I think Hitchcock probably enjoyed working with Miss Bankhead, but Ernst Lubitsch did not. He tried to remove her from A ROYAL SCANDAL and replace her with his first choice, Greta Garbo. But Zanuck had already signed Tallulah to the picture, and Otto Preminger who took over as director insisted that she remain in the cast.

  • Wonderfully Witty Film

    • Sharon77
    • 9/4/11

    I saw this movie for the first time on TCM. It definitely should be on dvd!! I would buy it in a flash!! The movie has such fast paced witty dialogue!! I wish TCM would show it more often.

  • A Royal Scandal - A bauble

    • Paul Gardner
    • 10/25/10

    Hail Tallulah! Thanks to Hitchcock & Lubitsch she livesforever on film. Except we don't have 'Royal Scandal' ondvd. For Tallulah and Lubitsch fans, and those who studyPreminger, this forgotten comedy should be available.It has scenes of great hilarity and wonderful dialogue.

  • Very underrated very witty.

    • Elliot Fisch
    • 9/5/09

    They finally showed this on the Fox network and it is a true gem. Some of the wittiest dialogue I've heard in years. Excellent performances. Supposedly this was directed by Otto Preminger, but the Ernst Lubitsch (who produced) touch is everywhere. Even in the titles! This moves very fast and probably should be seen twice to truly appreciate. Enjoy.

  • Release Tallulah to DVD

    • Rita Terry
    • 8/18/09

    Tallulah was one-of-a-kind and there'll never be another like her. That VOICE alone is worth the release of this film on DVD. There is so precious little of her work available to us in any medium and should be released on DVD to be shared and enjoyed.Please make this film available to us for purchase and air it more often in the usual TCM rotation as well.As the great lady herself would say: "Please Da-a-ahlings" Thank you so much!

  • PLEASE MAKE IT AVAILABLE N DVD

    • JOANNE SANTORO
    • 7/15/09

    TALLULAH BANKHEAD IS JUST "MARVELOUS"....WATCHING HER AND LISTENING TO HER IS A DELIGHT!!THE DIALOGUE SO ENTERTAINING.....BOTH TALLULAH AND COBURN WERE FLAWLESS!I'D HATE TO SEE THIS ONE DROP OFF OUR SITES!!HOPE THEY DVD IT!!!DON'T REMEMBER THE LAST TIME I SAW THIS ONE ON TVTHANK YOU!!THANK YOU!!PLEASE SHOW IT AGAIN!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.