skip navigation
Rope

Rope(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Rope Two wealthy young men try to... MORE > $80.99 Regularly $119.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Rope

    • Goetan
    • 9/1/13

    Hitchcock's first Colour film is also his most technically impressive. Dall and Granger kill their friend for the depraved enjoyment if it and invite friends, including fellow egghead, Stewart, to see what unfolds; Dall is the more intriguing of the deadly duo. Hitchcock films the story with long takes to make it seamless, which is impressive but feels too much like a way to display his technical ingenuity, thereby suppressing the story. A very fascinating film nonetheless. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • One of my Favorite Hitchcock Movies

    • Sue Sperry
    • 9/1/13

    I agree that this movie is underrated and somewhat misunderstood. I think there has been too much focus on the one-shot filming technique and not enough on the content. I've always enjoyed the arch, sly dialogue peppered with uncomfortable double entendre. It's a pleasure to see James Stewart playing against type as a self aggrandizing "intellectual" espousing "shocking" theories simply for effect and to hear the sound of his own voice who is then appalled and disgusted when John Dahl as the manipulative, supreme egotist and Farley Granger as his weak acolyte take those ideas literally. Both Dahl and Granger are well cast and do a wonderful job. Yes, the movie's setting is artificial, but that doesn't detract from the theme - that certain ideas shouldn't be expressed negligently, but with caution and a sense of responsibility for the potential consequences.

  • Rope

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-4 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-3/5Director-5/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-5/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • ROPE ! (1948)

    • Travis Black
    • 11/27/12

    "Rope" is one of my favorite Hitchcock films and i must say HIGHLY UNDERRATED Hitchcock Thriller. The first film in the series of Technicolor Hitchcock classics, and used 10 min takes to make the film seem it is shot in real time (Highly Effective). LOVE THIS HITCHCOCK CLASSIC THRILLER !

  • Rope (1948)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/23/12

    All Hitchcock films have a degree of artificially and unreality to them but this one takes the cake. It has the vibe of a college play rehearsal, with unsatisfying performances all around and a huge city skyline backdrop that is remarkably fake and distracting. The only good part of this thing is Stewart's acting in the brief "you gave my words unintended meaning" scene, but it doesn't validate the entire film.

  • Witness True Greatness Form the Master!

    • Kim
    • 7/24/11

    Fun dark humor, sick plot, perfect cast - what else do you want?

  • Rope (1948)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/24/10

    Alfred Hitchcock is such an amazing director with a such a gift for the vision of how the final film will come out. Wonderfully acted by everyone, the claustrophobic setting adds to the tension of the film, a touch Hitchcock has used before and since. This was his first film in color, and his first with Jimmy Stewart. Extremely well written, interesting art direction and vivid characterizations.

  • rope is dope

    • sullivan
    • 7/26/09

    There is nothing like a Hichcock film after dark, and on a Sunday before the work week, is the best way to round off your weekend. Rope is one of my favorite Hitch movies with everything that mordern movies all most always are lacking.

  • Hitchcock's Murderous Intent

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 7/13/08

    Alfred Hitchcock is the undisputed master of horror suspense and macabre comedy. For modern audiences who loved The Talented Mr. Ripley which was more explicit with less implied, the connection to Hitchcock's Rope will seem obvious. Rope was made in the late 40s and seems to be very ahead of its time with its story involving two homosexual killers. Maybe it's just me, but there's something fascinating about the idea of two men with secrets hooking up and it being deadly. Of course the themes in Rope were carried forward by Hitch himself in his later film Strangers on a Train with its gay undertones...again, men arranging a killing. Now, fastforward to the more recent Murderous Intent, which was not gay, but here we have two cute sociopaths suggesting the idea that they may have been 'more' than friends.'

  • (!)

    • Courtney
    • 6/21/07

    A very underated Hitchcock. In my opinion one of his best. Great cast and story.

  • well executed, well done!

    • Glenn Morrison
    • 6/30/06

    interesting style for Hitchcock this time around but really well executed and really well done- a classic, it is in my top 5 of his films

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.