skip navigation
The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone

The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone(1961)

  • Friday, October 24 @ 03:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Monday, January 12 @ 02:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone (1961) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone A fading stage star gets... MORE > $68.98 Regularly $68.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Accent: Grave

    • Slatka Mala Marijana
    • 7/13/14

    I keep trying to love this movie and I adore much of it. Meine kleine leibling Lotte! The wonderful tragic Vivien! But, ohhhhhhhh...Beatty's attempted accent. Ai ai ai.

  • A hidden gem

    • Terry
    • 4/9/13

    Growing up catholic in the 1950's-60's this movie was probably given a triple xxx. Never having seen it for years I dismissed it as a dumb romantic tragedy, boy was I wrong. For its time this movie makes bold statements about life, loss, and the desire for human connection at any cost. I absolutely love this movie

  • Read the Novel

    • Suzanne Wheat
    • 2/5/13

    One of the great things about this film is seeing Lotte Lenya in action. I read the T. Wms novel years ago & it struck a deep chord. An older, but not aged, single woman finding herself alone in an impossible & unplanned situation emotionally. I was so saddened to learn that Tennessee Williams died in a Manhattan hotel by choking on a bottlecap of aspirin, alcohol . . . not sure what. His Mrs. Stone represents the dilemma of woman growing older alone.

  • Had it been Hitchcock

    • David Duggan
    • 1/17/13

    You knew this film was going to end tragically from the beginning but to have the murder telegraphed in a few scenes prior to it was a bit disappointing. Though I suppose this was film was meant to be more of a drama than a thriller. Had it been a Hitchcock film I suspect more characters would have met their demise near the end such as the Countess Magda Terribili-Gonzales and of course the intrusive friend Meg leaving Paolo DiLeo as the chief suspect. Mm... rewrite anyone.

  • Starring Vivien Leigh

    • Adventure
    • 12/16/12

    Vivien Leigh so memorable in Gone With The Wind and A Streetcar Named Desire made far too few films in her career. The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone is one of the last films Ms. Leigh made and I recommend this film solely for the artistry of a truly great actress.

  • The Roman Spring of Mrs.Stone

    • Dawn
    • 11/6/12

    I love this movie. I watched this movie so many times, each time it drive the same and new emotions in me.That's what a great movie does.

  • what's the point?

    • Gibbs
    • 11/6/12

    I give this show one star, only because other shows are worse and deserve no stars. Worthless plot. What is with the stranger? Lovely scenery was one good thing. Don't watch. You will regret it if you do.

  • Meh..

    • RedRain
    • 4/26/12

    The performances by the great Vivian Leigh and Warren Beatty are excellent but the story is pathetic. I believe you have to consider the time that Tennessee Williams was writing in to fully comprehend how a woman of a certain age could take up with such a despicable gigolo. (Yes, women today are known to do this but they would drop a whining guy like this one in a second! The woman of today is strong!) I rated this film two stars because of the acting. I would have given it zero for the story.

  • Terrific!

    • f1hp
    • 12/10/10

    If your tastes run to the 'Bang-Bang you're dead - let's breed' type of semi-literate er, "entertainment", then avoid this. If you enjoy actors, directors, screen writers, etc, exploring & plying their trade, then this is for you. A fine movie, well written, directed, acted and filmed. ps- Who knew that Warren Beatty could actually act?!

  • Oh Brother . . .

    • lump516
    • 9/30/10

    Hysterical nonsense about aging actress (Vivien Leigh) sort-of hiring a gigolo (Warren Beatty) to Fill Her Empty Days. This is one of those 50's/early 60's films that treated sex as some sort of mental aberration that must not be spoken of except in the most hushed and shocked of tones. The script, adapted by Gavin Lambert from a novella by Tennessee Williams, is full of purple prose about cold, aging women and the seamier side of Rome, but Leigh never comes across as less than smart and likable, and Rome, beautifully photographed, is pretty spiffy, too. Warren Beatty, fresh off of SPLENDOR IN THE GRASS, manages to look at the camera and speak clearly this time out, and he has that indefinable air of sleaze that makes him letter-perfect casting. Lotte Lenya and Jill St. John, playing respectively, a lady pimp and a dingbat film actress, seem to be having the time of their life. Did they wander in from another, better movie, one where people were having fun?

  • The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone

    • Barbara
    • 9/29/10

    Warren Beatty played the role of the gigolo very well. He was beautiful to look at as well as Vivien Leigh. Jill St. John was stunning and so young. This must have been one of her very first roles. This is a must see movie.

  • The Romman Spring of Mrs. Stone(1961)

    • nshepard
    • 9/28/10

    Karen Stone(Viven Leigh) a fading Broadway star travels to Rome with her husband, and he suffers a fatal heart attack, lucky him, he doesn't have to sit through the rest of this drivel, when along comes studly Paola di Leo (Warren Beatty) fresh from his triumphant role as Milton Armitage from the Dobie Gillis TV Show. Well, never one to turn down another conquest,see (You're So Vain) woos and beds down the lucky female. wow, great typecasting. So cocksure of himself, he also has another relationship with Barbara Bingham(Jill St. John), wow, another void to fill. How did the female race get so lucky... See it from your own perspective, romantic tragedy or third rate soap opera scum. The choice is yours.2 stars for 2 stars, you pick em.

  • Vivien

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/7/10

    This was a perfect project for her. The sets are gorgeous, the clothes are wonderful, make-up and accessories...it's a sumptuously produced picture. It's fun to see the trademark Vivien Leigh mannerisms crop up in her portrayal, which says that back in 'Gone with the Wind,' Scarlet may've been written on paper, but Vivien Leigh was always the real character up on screen. Some have criticised Warren Beatty's performance in this film, but accent aside, I think he's more than adequate. In fact, I think he really gets the character, on its most basic, sexual level. A lot of men don't layer the character sexually like he does, and that makes it unique. If the film were made today, I think we would definitely see more than a kiss and a fade out. We would also see what happens to her when the man from the streets enters her home. But it's an excellent piece of cinema, and there are strong moments, especially when she banishes everyone at the end of the movie screening. And I also liked the comic bit on the street where she told an acquaintance she was dying.

  • Gorgeous, Mesmerizing & Haunting Film

    • dwb
    • 5/28/09

    There are many reasons to see this exquisite film but foremost among them is that it stars the late, great Vivien Leigh in her next-to-last screen performance. Considering that she was going through the most difficult period in her personal life at the time she filmed it (her 20-year marriage to Laurence Olivier had just broken up) and that the storyline was too close for comfort, this has to be one of the most courageous performances ever attempted by any actress. And she is devastating in it. The only hint of a criticism she ever received for this performance was that she was still too beautiful at this point in her life to be believable as a woman in this position (despite the ravages of illness and middle-age she was still amazingly beautiful in this film). But her performance is so poignant that her beauty doesn't detract from it (which says a lot about her talent!). Warren Beatty as her Italian gigolo is also excellent despite receiving scattered criticism for his Italian accent (unjust in my opinion). He and Vivien Leigh have wonderful chemistry and she was said to have been very fond of him and quite impressed by his talent. Lotte Lenya as the malevolent contessa is wonderful and gives a performance that is not to be missed. Same can be said of Coral Browne as Mrs. Stone's suspicious & pragmatic friend Meg. The production design of the film is gorgeous (I want Karen Stone's Roman apartment!) as is Miss Leigh's wardrobe by Balmain. The music and cinematography are also quite beautiful. Gavin Lambert did an excellent job in adapting Tennessee William's only novel into a screenplay, and Tennesse Williams was supposedly quite pleased with the entire film (in his memoirs he compared it to a poem and praised the tragic grace of Vivien Leigh). This is a rare jewel among films and I recommend it highly!

  • Roman Spring

    • bf
    • 8/17/08

    Please add this movie to your schedule. It is fun to watch and you can't fail with the everlasting irony of T.Williams. Plus it is fun to see such a young and lovely Warren in this role, dressed in Italian fashion.Lotte Lenya is hysterical, and Vivien will tug at you in this post post post! Gone With The Wind performance.

  • Camp Champagne

    • michael
    • 1/23/08

    Fabulous erly 60's tale of fading actress and hot italian hustler. Moody and glamorous with a campy Lotte Lenya.High William's gothic!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.