skip navigation
Rock Around the Clock

Rock Around the Clock(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Rock Around the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A vintage treasure

    • Elaine J
    • 3/23/12

    We watched this movie and were delighted! We felt like we were watching a buried treasure. With the musicial performances of Bill Haley, as well as the excellent Bellboys and theothers, came along the vintage guitars and equipment. The dancing was spectacular! There was nothing made up about this film, it's a genuine retro blast from the past.

  • Rock Around the Clock

    • Wayne
    • 8/12/10

    Like Paula, I'm related to one of the band members. My uncle was the saxophonist with Freddy Bell and the Bell Boys. He was a great uncle, who sadly passed away far too young. FB and the BB had a song they played called "Hound Dog". I understand that Elvis Presley heard them play that song in a club, and decided to record it himself. History was made. The Bell Boys were a fixture in Las Vegas, playing at the Sahara Casino. And they recorded at least one album with the cover photo taken with the band standing on the Sahara's marque. It's a real treat to watch this movie, relishing the times my uncle is on screen. Enjoy...

  • THIS IS ON DVD!!!

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/19/09

    Rock Around The Clock is available on a 2 DVD set with the sequel Don't Knock Knock The Rock because I have it. Please stop voting for it, update and show that it IS available. RATC is a great musical about the early years of rock and its struggle for acceptance and impact on the pop culture of the 1950's. Bill Haley and the Comets and all the other artists give lively performances. This was only one year after the title song by the Comets was heard in Blackboard Jungle, which was credited with starting rock and roll in the movies. RATC is a very good, underrated rock musical. And it IS available on DVD!!!

  • It made me sad but I was so happy to see it!

    • Paula
    • 2/15/08

    I absolutely love this movie. My mother let me know it was coming on. The member of the comets Johnny Grande is my husbands grandfather, and one of the most amazing people I have ever known. Sadly he passed away June 3rd of 2006. So although I was happy to see it I was still sad knowing he is no longer with us. I love the movie because it is a fighting tribute to these pioneers of a different sound. Had they not stuck there creative necks out we would not have the music we do now.

  • A musical must have!

    • gina
    • 1/13/08

    It's things like this that make me love TCM. Besides the news, TCM is all I watch and I love when they show a great film that I have never seen before. Besides the dialogue being a little corny, which is easily overlooked due the performances of the 'artists', this movie is history in the making and a must for my library. Please say it will be out on DVD soon, I will try to be paitient. Warm regards.

  • Rock Around The Clock

    • Craig W.
    • 1/11/08

    Great music, remarkable young dancers, the lingo, the transition from the Swinging Big Band Era to the Age of Rock and Roll...this should be available on home video and I look forward to seeing it again on TCM.

  • Outstanding

    • Ronald Ross
    • 12/29/06

    This movie should be on DVD like today

  • Rock around the Clock

    • Craig Brewster
    • 12/29/06

    Thanks Tcm for this movie. Should be listed as a american history lesson in are past. Music still played and asked for today. many have never seen the faces behind the music . Bill Haley was a great loss to America to music. along with the others killed on the plane crash . should be a on home viedo.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.