skip navigation
The Rising of the Moon

The Rising of the Moon(1957)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Rising of the Moon Three stories examine the... MORE > $21.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Enjoyable stories

    • Gibbs
    • 3/18/14

    Enjoyable short stories. Well acted. Watching the three stories is nice way to spend an afternoon. I have seen twice and I am not sure which of the three stories is my favorite.

  • An Old Style Irish Minstrel Show

    • Kieran
    • 3/20/13

    This b&w 1950s movie definitely shows its age. Loaded with the unruly 'Stage Irish' characters once so well-known to Vaudeville audiences, here they run amok throughout the stories, giving a rather gloomy and chaotic glimpse of life in the Auld Sod. Much better choices for St Patrick's Day viewing would be films like 'Michael Collins' or 'The Wind that Shakes the Barley'.

  • Rising of the Moon, A Definite 3-Star Movie

    • David Sharpe
    • 3/19/13

    It's been two days since I saw "The Rising of the Moon" shown Sunday on TCM, and I'm still under the magical spell of that delightful movie. For an "easy going" and "little" movie by John Ford, it sure scores big on the enjoyment meter. Pity it's unavailable on DVD. A true gem of a movie.

  • Lady Gregory et al.

    • Sharon Kelly Baker
    • 3/18/13

    So great to see these wonderful short stories by the likes of Lady Gregory and her cohort of Irish writers interpreted on film. The Abby Players were dedicated to this storytelling tradition on stage and screen and it surely shows. John Ford was certainly a believer and that, too, shows. Timeless, powerful and at the same time charming. Let's see more of these!

  • Please put Rising of the Moon on DVD

    • Kathleen Kirby
    • 8/27/12

    This came on - on Saturday while I was doing my chores. I had to sit down and watch it. I LOVED IT! I would love to have it to watch again.

  • John Ford's Best Lost Work

    • Henry Rossbacher
    • 4/7/12

    The Rising of the Moon is a wonderful, nostalgic look back by John Ford to the mythical Ireland of the Blessings. Superbly acted and directed it is a comic triptych satirizing the uneasy relationship between the Irish and their English "betters". Sardonic but affectionate, it presages the Quiet Man in its depiction of a romanticized land that never was; a fantasy but one guaranteed to raise your spirits. Superbly acted by an all Irish cast from the Abbey Theatre, it stands the test of time. It is a true loss that the film is not available on DVD. Your only chance to see it is on TCM, only too rarely.

  • The Rising Of The Moon

    • Richard Yanchuk
    • 3/18/12

    This Film From 1957 narrated by Tyron Power, was my highlite of the day.It was full of joy and fun filled just like is was in old Ireland.II would sure love to see it again soon,it really give's everyone a pick up for the day.I can not tell you enough how great it was.So please show it again soon,I'll be waiting for it.Please let me know when you do show it bcause I don't want to miss it. Our Club group really enjoued it.Thank You R.Yanchuk

  • Memory bubble...

    • Jack Doyle
    • 5/27/10

    I just happened across this showing on TCM the other night.Unfortunately, I only caught the last 20 minutes.When I saw it I remembered the first time I saw it on television. It was on WGN, Chicago. I was at home with my grandfather who grew up in Ireland during the time of the "troubles."I remember his reaction to the film and to the portrayal of the "black and tan."I learned years later he was a "guest" of the tan for several months, which left him with a limp.He watched the movie so intently, nodding his head, saying, yes sir, that's how it was, directing me to remember this movie.When I saw it briefly on TCM I was projected back to Chicago, in our apartment, with Grand Da.

  • The Rising of the Moon

    • Kate
    • 5/24/10

    Just watched this last night.......what a surprise! A perfect little gem. How delightful....all the Irish actors, the representations of moments in Irish history , the absolutely authentic culture.....couldn't have been more pleased. Please run it again soon. Would love my dad to see it. Would love to purchase it.

  • Rising of the Moon

    • Margaret Sabo
    • 5/24/10

    Oh please show this again. It was a marvel of pathos and comedy. I loved all the characters. We would love to own this when and if it becomes available on DVD. I wish my family could have seen this. Please repeat ASAP.

  • The Rising of the Moon

    • Steve
    • 5/23/10

    When I was nine years old we did (the third story) this as a school play for our parent / teachers night (1951) Watching this show sure brought back a lot of memories especially the closing line " five hundred pounds, five hundred pounds am I such a fool as I think I am"Hope it comes out in home DVD

  • A little known gem of a movie

    • joe O'Hagan
    • 10/6/09

    This is a great movie that should be shown far and wide on the screen. It is funny and well written.It has historical and cultural value and I hope it becomes available soon.

  • One of Ford's BEST

    • OrenTruitt
    • 4/29/09

    This is a wonderful movie and it is difficult to believe that it has been so completely overlooked. One of Ford's best! The cast, sets, locations, script, score all come together to create a marvelous piece of film. Not only is it an important piece of film for it's artistic merit, it is a gem of history in the way that it captures a portrait of Irish culture in a particular period.

  • My favorite Irish film

    • Bill
    • 3/16/09

    This little film ,which has all Irish actors, is my favorite Irish film and I've seen them all. The three short stories told provide a wonderful respite on a cold day and the acting, while considered hokey by some, is what many Irish people living in Ireland love.I believe that this film would, with some marketing, would be a fine addition to everyones Irish film collection.I presently watch it on a worn VHS tape as it hasen't been shown in a while.

  • Overlooked Gem by John Ford

    • Mike
    • 3/6/09

    The Rising of the Moon is a very fine John Ford film, long overlooked. There are three self-contained segments, each introduced by Tyrone Power. One segment is philosophical, one comical, and one semi-serious and suspenseful. Each contains masterful dialogue and direction. The comic segment, "One Minute's Wait," is amptly demonstrates Ford's directorial skills -- innumerable speaking parts with movement almost choreographed. It is ashame that this film has never been released on DVD or VHS.

  • "The Rising of the Moon"

    • Joe
    • 2/12/08

    John Ford's trilogy of stories about the Irish character. Black & white and filmed in 1957 on location in Ireland. Narrator Tyrone Power. Runs the gamut of Celtic emotions from stubborn to proud to patriotic. Favorite segment, "There'll Be A Five Minute Wait." Just what you think. The local milk train can't seem to get out of the rural train station without one delay or another. Each one gives the engineer an excuse to run back into the pub at the station for another pint. Favorite put down, "You, whose Uncle Maurice took to the drink at 86 and died before his time!" Wonderful film. Used to play late night every St. Patrick's Day on Channel 2 New York. Catch it if you can.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.