skip navigation
Ring of Bright Water

Ring of Bright Water(1969)

  • Sunday, November 30 @ 06:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Thursday, December 4 @ 05:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Ring of Bright... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Not good for kids or adults

    • shaleen
    • 8/25/14

    I saw this movie when I was 9 years old. You fall in love with the otter then it get brutally killed. It traumatized me for life!

  • Be Cautious

    • Otter Lover
    • 3/1/14

    I remember seeing this movie as a child at the local drive-in back in 1970. What happened to the otter remains vividly instilled in my memory as if it happened yesterday. This is a good movie but be cautious of allowing young kids to watch this as it traumatized me.

  • Loved this movie

    • Coco
    • 9/28/13

    This movie reminded me of a childhood dream of having an otter! Only problem is that I'd go to jail cause I'd kill that worker who killed the otter! I know..... that is sooooo wrong! I had my entire family in and out of my room wanting to know what had happened, lol.

  • Ring of Bright Water

    • pat rutter
    • 4/24/13

    On Sunday April 21st I was searching and came across this movie.At first I changed the channel and would keep coming back to this movie.I JUST LOVED IT. I was so moved bY the story and the characters I was so into it.until the last 15 mintues when i feel asleep and was woken up by my own pet.I was so angry I started to research to find out what happened. Sad about the otter but happy about the ending. I want to use this with my English classes and am looking forward to purchasing this REAL SOON! tHANK YOU FOR THIS FINE STORY.

  • A Good Movie

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/21/13

    I agree with what the last reviewer said. I don't normally like to watch animal movies because sure enough something horrible happens to the animal. This movie is no exception, but the fact that the otter ended up having a family made it somewhat better. I do like this movie too because of the location on the Scottish coast. It has a lot of character. It's also good that the husband and wife, Bill and Virginia, did a lot to help animals.

  • Heart touching.

    • Fran Pate
    • 6/8/12

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, the story, scenery, and the great animals made for a wonderful combination. I do not usually watch movies with animals as a focal point, because usually something happens to the animal and it makes me sad. I was upset that the otter died in such a meaningless way. If the offspring had not appeared when they did, this movie might have ruined my day.

  • Charmer

    • Elise Baron
    • 3/19/12

    Such a nice movie. The acting was real and very touching in many scenes. The scenery was lovely too. The otter was absolutely delightful, as was the dog. It was especially fun to see them playing together. I love animals and this was quite a charming and lovely little film.

  • RING OF BRIGHT WATER

    • EVELYN PATTERSON
    • 3/19/12

    One ofthe most charming movies that I have ever seen. The story was quite unusual,I had never seen one about a tame otter. I am from the movie going generation (before TV) and this is the type of story that would appeal to all ages. It was well filmed. . . a typical J. Arthur Rank production. It was shown last evening on TCM and I look forward to seeing it again. I had hoped to be able to buy a few coopies for friends.

  • Brightwater Rings True

    • Sudduth Rea Cummings
    • 3/19/12

    If you would like a smile on your face and a sense of joy in your heart, then I suggest you watch this engaging movie. "The Ring of Brightwater" is a quiet and utterly charming film about the changes in an ordinary man's life brought about by the wonderful little otter. I was tempted to write "otterly charming" since this creature posseses the gift of enegetic companionship and fun that could be life changing for anyone who lives with one.

  • "Ring of Bright Water"

    • Joan Habbegger
    • 3/19/12

    Really good movie that I' d never heard of before I switched to seeing it being introduced. Thanks.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.