skip navigation
Reflections in a Golden Eye

Reflections in a Golden Eye(1967)

Contribute

FOR Reflections in a Golden Eye (1967) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Reflections in a Golden Eye A military officer becomes... MORE > $59.98 Regularly $59.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Reflections in a golden eye

    • Sophia
    • 3/4/13

    I had read this movie was about homosexuality in the 40's. I was impressed that Director Huston captured the meaning so well. At first I thought the story was going to be based around the young Filipino servant. Good Movie.

  • 40's flick looks 60's

    • George B
    • 3/4/13

    the woman charachter actresses in th efilm has 1960's hairdo;s and clothes that were supposed to be depicting 1940's. The film is drawn out also. Marlin Brando does not make a convincing gay man. Montgomery Cliff would have been better, as he was a gay as well.

  • Southern Gothic and art house

    • Courtney
    • 3/4/13

    I admit there was a bit of camp and overacting in this film but altogether it don't think it was that bad. It actually reminded me of a Wim Wenders film or a David Lynch. I'd be interested to see if there was any direct influence on those film makers. Houston was definitely a filmmaker that went against the grain and took risks and you see that in this film. Pass or fail, the style and themes pushed the envelop for the times.

  • Golden!

    • RedRain
    • 3/4/13

    I like this film. I even like it being filmed in the sepia tones with a golden cast, the way I originally saw this film in a theater. It helps to have read Carson McCuller's novel before you see this film. Her closest friends were Truman Capote and Tennessee Williams and you can see their influences in this film and in the novel. It is a shame Montgomery Clift, originally cast to play the lead, died before this film began shooting, as I feel his overtly feminine and homosexual side would have made this film a huge hit. Brando does give a creditable performance but not stellar. I do like Elizabeth Taylor as Lenora, as she is given some really scene-chewing lines and she is excellent. Once again, the pairing of Taylor and Clift in this film would have been unforgettable!

  • Reflections In A Golden Eye

    • Susan
    • 11/10/12

    Stevegg. While I'm sorry you felt disappointed by reading the synopsis, you discovered the movies ending, that is the purpose of a synopsis. Perhaps you were thinking it was just a summary.

  • Masterful Film

    • Elizabeth
    • 11/9/12

    Facinating film. Loved it.

  • Synopsis is a spoiler

    • Stevegg
    • 8/12/11

    Your synopsis tells the whole damn story!! Why do you tell the end? I will never view this site again.

  • Mark is Homophobic

    • NotMark
    • 8/6/11

    Wow, Mark, you represent the latent anger, confusion, weakness, and frustration of Mr. Brando's character. Your values are as out of date as your opinions. Good luck being a sad little man.

  • STINKS TO HIGH HEAVEN

    • jan smith
    • 8/2/11

    I watched a portion of this movie today and I thought it was a total disaster. I can't believe it was directed by John Huston. This movie STUNK big time.

  • Life Can Be Distasteful...But That's Life

    • Craig
    • 8/1/11

    It's a good thing that our pretty actors don't stick to pretty roles. Homosexuality, infidelity, repression and mental illness may not be real pretty and to some, best left behind closed doors. But the real world isn't that simple. Wonderful performances by Taylor, Brando, Keith in strange but plausible roles. The sepia or golden tone was a little off-putting---either go full color or full B&W---but otherwise, a very interesting and entertaining offering by John Huston and TCM.

  • A terrible waste of time

    • Mark
    • 8/1/11

    As with anything this distatelful, having Brando play a homo is truly un-American. This is a messy weird screwed up waste of a film. This is (I would Suppose) what being crippled as a gay would be like 24/7. How sad it is that I have to comment on how far the USA has fallen in the behavoir of it's citizens. The morality and responsibility of America, is a thing of the past. And I can think of nothing more sad than that.

  • Reflections In A Golden Eye (1967)

    • Bruce Reber
    • 1/26/11

    I first saw this film when TCM aired it as part of it's "Gay Images In Film" festival in June 2007, and I watched the first half hour when it aired again on Monday 1/24/11 before I went to bed. While it certainly isn't one of either Elizabeth Taylor or Marlon Brando's better efforts, I don't think it's as bad as I have read in some of the other reviews. "Reflections" is a very daring film for its time, with its predominant theme of homosexuality, a subject that few film makers would not even touch in the late 1960's. An army officer attracted to a young private who sunbathes in the nude, the officer's wife who seems to be way more in love with her horse than her husband and who horsewhips him in front of his fellow officers, another officer's wife on the verge of insanity who plans to run away with her Asian houseboy; these definitely aren't things you expect to see in a mainstream Hollywood film in 1967. Excellent direction by John Huston. Despite all the positives it has a few negatives also. I rate "Reflections" two stars.

  • Brando & Taylor's Marriage Made of Angst

    • 1899bogie1957
    • 4/27/09

    They're anything but happily married. The story's in the details about why they are not. Telling would give the best parts of the film away. But here's an example of the intensity these two truly GREAT actors bring to the screen together: after Brando beats her favorite stallion, lashing out at her, she enters their home, during their party, for his military leader peers...armed with a horse whip, runs through the house until she finds him, and beat the living daylights out of Brando in front of his Officer peers. That's just one brief scene of this film.

  • Pure garbage

    • Tony
    • 5/26/08

    The absolute worst film Taylor ever made and she has made plenty of dogs particularly throught the 70's. This was actually the first mess of her career. Monty Clift died before shooting and was replaced by Brando. Best scene when Taylor whips his face and Sacheen littlefeather was not there to stand in for him!

  • WOW

    • ErrolFan08
    • 12/6/06

    I just saw this film in the original suffused with the color gold version and I was blown away. I cant believe they would make Mr. Huston destroy his work by re coloring it. Brando was very convincing and I always forget how excellent an actress Taylor is. Stunning and haunting film in it's first release, the color print does not move me the same way.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.