skip navigation
The Red Shoes

The Red Shoes(1948)

  • Sunday, October 5 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Red Shoes A young ballerina is torn... MORE > $26.99 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Red Shoes

    • Goetan
    • 2/23/14

    To any ballet enthusiast, this is your film! Shearer is a dancer torn between Goring's composer and Walbrook's impresario. Won Oscars for it's production design and score. Them, plus the cinematography and choreography culminates in the famous ballet number which is an extraordinary and unforgettable scene. Like 2010's "Black Swan," shows the length artists go to to excel at their art at the price of personal happiness. I give it a 5/5.

  • Repeating a review

    • George Wruck Jr
    • 2/22/14

    In 1958, when this film was first presented on TV by a local station, the studio announcer called it "the most creatively and technically perfect motion picture ever produced." Those words are still true today.

  • Brilliant

    • Stephanie Colella
    • 2/22/14

    Please show this film more often. It's spectacular and timeless. Loved it!!!!!

  • The Red Shoes

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-4 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-4/5Score-5/5Titles-4/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-5/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-5/5

  • Remarkable!

    • RedRain
    • 9/19/11

    I've loved this film since I was small in the 1950s and I love it now. The only flaw for me in the film is the casting of Irina who is Victoria Page's replacement in the ballet. The girl who plays Irina is FAT! I have never, ever seen a fat prima ballerina and I doubt anyone else has either. The contrast with the beautiful lines of Moira Shearer is nothing less than jarring. Perhaps, it was meant to be but it has always been an unwelcome distraction to me.

  • not a review...

    • gregory
    • 4/17/11

    ...just a note that i can't wait 'til tcm screens "the red shoes" again.gregory 41711

  • The Red Shoes

    • Marilyn Foutz
    • 9/21/10

    I saw this movie as a 5 yr old, and was thrilled to chance upon it tonight - Sept. 20, 2010. I still remembered, seeing it now, how I felt then, 62 yr later. Many of the scenes were intact in my memory. What a magnificent creation! I am also an artist on the piano, and have raised 8 children, and understand deeply the issues involved. Kudos to a director who brought this creation to life, and to those technicians who restored it. Mahalo.

  • A must see

    • Elliot Fisch
    • 9/20/10

    Simply one of the greatest films ever made. Imaginative, spectacular, beautifully photographed, great special effects, and most of all, a wonderful story. The central ballet is probably 15 of the most fascinating and unforgettable minutes ever filmed. Once you see this you'll never forget it!

  • I loved it!

    • Enrietta
    • 9/20/09

    My love for Ballet runs through my veins. I love this film. The story and the actors are genuine. As I watched the film, I felt as though I was watching me and was part of the story, and all those people were in my life. It is the most sincere, realistic and powerful film I have watched in a long time. It touched me deeply. The set and color and everything about it is magical to me. I was fortunate to have watched the film months ago. In coming across this movie clip, it brought back all those wonderful feelings inside me.I recommend this film to all!Kind regards,Enrietta

  • Unforgettably magnificent!

    • Briana
    • 6/27/08

    I just watched this spectacular film this very day, and I can already tell that it will stick with me for the rest of my life. I am an inspiring director and this piece of art makes me appreciate talented, hardworking, individuals with amazing visions to make a masterpiece. I won't get too far into details about the movie, because I believe that everyone should watch it and find out for themselves if they really like it. However, I am going to say that this movie is a briliantly well thought out reflection of a passionate girl ripped away from the two things that she loved most in her life. The film also has a message about how- (I guess you could say)- greediness can ultimatly end in tragedy. Anyways, enough chit-chat, and go watch this film. It's an experience that will not be forgotten.:) ...x

  • A film af absolute beauty

    • Kim
    • 3/21/08

    I first saw this film when I was 9 years of age. it has stuck with me ever since. It inspired me to get into the performing arts. A story of a dancer torn between her love of dance and reponsiblity and repect to mentor Boris Lemontov,and her love for Julian Craster, composer for the Lemontov dance company.The film is sure to capture most people even those not into ballet.It is very compelling with it's many diverse, and interesting characters that portray the dance world. The 15 minute ballet of the Red shoes is a multi textured delight, like a painting by Salvidor Dali.In its abstract views one can see what Vicki is thinking as she dances the ballet which is moving and revealing at the same time. The ending is a shocker and one that you will never forget in the sometimes harsh world of the arts. A most exquisite movie that stands the test of time with its timeless story and colorful characters

  • An Incredible Film!

    • Tony
    • 1/6/08

    The film is worth watching for the ballet sequence alone, at the end of the movie. It is an amazing spectacle! The shocking ending will stay with you forever! (Sorry I won't tell, you have to watch it for yourself!)

  • perfect

    • me
    • 9/13/06

    the music is novel, gorgeous, just as the dance. The finest art humans can make

  • A film as great as its reputation

    • Alan Zachary
    • 6/24/06

    No other film artists but Powell and Pressburger had the audacity to make a movie about artistic expression, to populate it with extraorinary actors such as the great Anton Walbrook, or to build the film around a ballet feauring the gorgeous Moira Shearer. And yet, the film became an international success, inspiring Gene Kelly and Vincente Minnelli. Everyone who ever dreamed of becoming a dancer and anybody who simply loves ballet, appreciates music and is capable of appreciating luscious visual creativity enjoys this film again and again. If you can say these things about yousself and have never seen The Red Shoes, don't deny yourself a day longer.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.