skip navigation
Red, Hot and Blue

Red, Hot and Blue(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Red, Hot and... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Red Hot and blue

    • ELIZABETHC2
    • 5/14/10

    Anything Betty Hutton did is worth being preserved and this film should be available for those of us who are old musical buffs on DVD, VHS, anything we could play at home. The *Hamlet*number in this film is brilliant!

  • Why a Comma

    • Michele
    • 5/14/10

    The comma is there because the title is a play on the colors of the American flag: "red, white, and blue". They just subbed "hot" for "white". Ergo, "red, hot and blue". It's not "(red hot) and blue".

  • Why the comma in Red, Hot?

    • filmnoirguy
    • 3/3/10

    Isn't the expression "Red Hot"? So why the comma after Red in the title "Red, Hot and Blue"? At any rate, this movie really is red hot (with no comma)! I only wish it would have been filmed in color. Betty is her wacky self, and she is in fine (read: yelling) voice. Vic Mature, one of the 1940s best leading men, is spot-on, as usual. And it's always fun to see June Havoc. She's the original Baby June who was a vaudeville performer as a child. Her sister was Gypsy Rose Lee, and their real life story was told in the musical "Gypsy."

  • she is red hot!

    • holly
    • 1/28/10

    I was waching TCM last night. When Red,hot and Blue came on. The movie it else was not that great,but Betty Hutton was red hot and boy could she sing.I hope one day TCM can have all day movies of Betty Hutton.

  • Above average, near excellent

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 1/27/10

    Supposedly this was not one of Betty Hutton's better films but you'd never know that by watching it today. It has so much great energy and entertainment value that it's hard not to get drawn into this film. It's also fun to see Betty working with Mr. Demarest after their earlier appearance in 'The Miracle of Morgan's Creek.' My favorite part of this film is the musical spoof on Hamlet. That was not only irreverent and wild, but just absolutely great. The way she ends that number, and they all wind up in a pile on the floor...I don't think I've ever seen anything like it! :)

  • WHERE ARE ALL THE BETTY HUTTON FILMS??!!

    • LAUREL
    • 5/15/08

    I read references to RED HOT AND BLUE, LET'S DANCE w/Fred Astaire, SOMEBODY LOVES ME, and THE ANGELS SING. Where are these movies - have they disappeared?

  • INCENDIARY BLONDE

    • steve carpenter
    • 12/12/07

    BETTY HUTTON WAS MY FIRST FAVOURITE ACTRESS WHEN I WAS JUST A LAD. ANNIE GET YOUR GUN WAS MY FAVORITE MOVIE,I MUST HAVE SEEN IT 25 TIMES. I'M NOW IN MY 60's AND HAVE BECOME RE AQUAINTED WITH HER AVAILEABLE FILMS,[MORGANS CREEK ESP.]I WOULD TRUELY LOVE TO SEE RED HOT & BLUE,SPRING REUNION,INCENDIARY BLONDE,AS WELL AS HER OTHER FILMS RESTORED AND ON DVD . WHAT CAN HER FANS DO TO SEE HER FILMS ONCE MORE ?

  • We Want Betty Hutton Films!

    • Julie
    • 10/8/07

    I don't understand why our selection of Betty's movies is so limited. She made wonderful films and we want them all! We love Betty Hutton!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.