skip navigation
The Rains Came

The Rains Came(1939)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Rains Came A Hindu doctor's affair... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Perfect Movie Magic

    • ChristineB
    • 4/27/14

    I love this film for the perfect characterizations of the actors. I think that Myrna Loy has never been more beautifully cast than as Lady Esquith. She goes from a bored sexy and exotic woman of the world with an evil -tempered wretch of a husband to a tender love -drunk saint without a misstep. George Brent too fulfilled the role of the slightly alchoholic artist who is saved by disaster and love, the degenerate Tom Ransom, perfectly. Tyrone Power plays the doctor, Major Safti, at first with the cool dismissiveness and arm's -length remoteness that is appropriate to his character when the foreign Lady Esquith first comes on to him. He is worldly and knows what she is up to, but is more mindful of his duty to his Maharajah's expectations that he will take over the rule of his state in the future. However, by the time the floods have turned everyone's world upside down, Safti's emotional turmoil is written all over Power's face and in his body language during his touching encounters with Loy/Esquith. They have become star -crossed lovers. Brent's Ransom fares much better in his commitment to helping out in the disaster recovery and his maturing affair with a young missionary daughter. The Rains Came is a lavish, emotionally charged, evocative and wonderful movie. Far superior and much more sophisticated in many ways than some of the other 1939 productions that get far more notoriety.

  • The Rain Came

    • Francine
    • 10/9/13

    I loved this movie. George Brent and Myrna Loy were excellent.

  • beautiful myrna and ty

    • dcb
    • 9/30/13

    The loves scenes between Myrna Loy and Tyrone Power in this film are beautifully restrained and exquisite. Loys scenes with Brent are well played too. Good acting all around and dazzling special effects. A wonderful golden-age Hollywood classic.

  • Felt insulted

    • Nora Qudus
    • 7/15/13

    I know Hollywood can't be bothered with anything authentic but I really felt insulted with the fake everything, turbans wrapped wrong, saris wrapped wrong the "native" music was not even close to anything in India then or now. The only thing authentic was the "white" attitudes. It is an OK movie but it was so fake. Even for Hollywood.

  • A classic--excellent

    • Maureen
    • 7/14/13

    I love Myrna Loy in almost everything I've seen her in. This film is one I discovered a few years ago, and it's a favorite. Tyrone Power and Myrna Loy make a great team. Excellent.

  • "The Rains Came" was nice to watch.

    • Ralph
    • 6/5/13

    After work and dinner and my wife at school last night I sat down to watch this movie on TCM, and thought I wouldn't enjoy it. To my surprise It was a delight to watch. I loved the story line and the special effects. But was really stuck by George Brent's performance as Tom Ransome. Somehow, his portrayal kept making me reflect on my own past and experiences. Tyrone Power I found a little to passive compared to his other roles (do you know he died young, age 44 of a heart attack)? Myrna Loy and Brenda Joyce were very pleasing to watch and I think pulled it off. So, I enjoyed it after all.

  • Okay...

    • RedRain
    • 6/4/13

    Sixteen years after this film debuted, the film "The Rains of Ranchipur" was made and I find it far superior to this one. The disaster scenes, in particular, are much more horrifying and realistic. The latter film also starred Lana Turner as Lady Esketh, Michael Rennie as her husband, and the divine Richard Burton as Dr. Safi. Fred MacMurray was Tom Ransome and was perfect in the role. I don't believe Myrna Loy should have been cast as Lady Esketh, as she is simply not believable in the part. In the book, Lady Esketh is very vulnerable and not at all haughty as Loy plays her. Lana Turner was able to put this over so much better! I'm not too fond of this version, as the 1955 iteration is just acted so much better!

  • Wonderful Movie!

    • StopWatch
    • 2/9/13

    I was very pleasantly surprised to see this movie on the TCM channel. The movie has an excellent cast, story, acting, and special effects which are awesome even in this age of "Lord of the Rings". Also, being of Indian origin, I thought it was quite a decent depiction of India of those days. (They portrayed the British military as benevolent but that could be forgiven considering that a truer depiction would shift the focus away from the individual dramas in the plot. I also wish that they featured a true Indian song at the music school instead of something which was highly westernized, perhaps operatic.) I liked the plot for placing such an emphasis on values, redemption, and forgiveness. And thank goodness for the sensibilities of that era - they did not explicitly show a single corpse amid all the floods, earthquakes, and a plague!

  • the Rains Flowed

    • Baz
    • 1/25/13

    Ms Loy good in her part,but think it was more a Merle Oberon part,Brent great,Powers should have let Baz Rathbone have this part,what with Willie Bruce as the old hubby.Would've made this better film

  • 1939

    • Steve S.
    • 8/10/12

    If there was a "bad" movie released in this glorious year - I haven't seen it.However, in "The Rains Came" - Loy looks "ragged" and Power is miscast but Brent (who finally decides to give a good facsillme of acting and the future to be Jane in Tarzan movies, Branda Joyce, give a smashing good performance when the Rains do come!Kudo's to Clarence Brown!

  • The Rains Came

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 2/4/12

    Loy, Power & Brent lead an all- star cast in this thrilling film.The flood & earthquake scenes are nothing short of outstanding. However, the story can be confusing & something missing that will leave viewers empty. To sum up, a good film to see once in a while. I give it a 3/5.

  • Esplendido

    • Sonia
    • 11/13/10

    Este filme mostra que Myrna Loy era uma grande atriz e no somente um rosto bonito. Interpretando seu papel com intensidade e paixo.

  • Kudo's to Brent & Joyce...

    • Steven Paul
    • 7/31/09

    for their performance's in their respective roles!Ms. Loy looks absolutely stunning when she is laying in the hospital bed!

  • The Starpower is there!

    • Laura B
    • 3/2/09

    If antyhing this film has starpower. With the likes of Power, Loy, Brent and Ouspenskaya you know you have to see it just to say you did. A bit slow and like the reader below said, not the best movie, but good enough to catch at least once.

  • Lady Edwina

    • Mike
    • 2/28/09

    It's obvious that Kay Francis and Marlene Dietrich were the top contenders for the "Lady Edwina" part, and both actresses would have been superb in the part. But if anyone had to take their place and make it their own, Myrna Loy does it best. This isn't usually her kind of part, but she transforms herself into a more glamorous leading lady on the Francis/Dietrich level. It's a great film, maybe not the best, but certainly great.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.