skip navigation
Rain

Rain(1932)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Rain A missionary tries to reform a... MORE > $6.98 Regularly $6.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Remake Is Way Better

    • Bruce Reber
    • 1/10/14

    I saw "Rain" on TCM last night 1/9/14 as part of their SOTM tribute to Joan Crawford. IMO it's one of Joan's lesser movies of her early career. This adaptation of the Somerset Maugham story about a prostitute's "reform" by a Bible-thumping preacher (Walter Huston) on a South seas island is mediocre at best, and at times over-the-top. I liked the 1954 color remake with Rita Hayworth titled "Miss Sadie Thompson" way better. She did things with that role Joan could never think of doing.

  • The ending is incredible and ridiculous

    • Jeff Boston
    • 11/4/13

    and not just because this propaganda pic was the first of thousands to make an angelic protagonist out of a base sinner and a creepy caricature of a demonic villain out of a man of God (Huston is over the top), with that man being a Christian, of course. I wouldn't expect anything different from M. Somerset Maugham. Hollywood has been beating the same drum (loudly in "Rain") for generations.

  • Crawford is brilliant!

    • Kate
    • 11/3/13

    I think Joan Crawford was simply great in this film. Although she hated Rain, I believe it to be one of her most honest and real performances. Walter Huston is good too but Joan is a lit stick of dynamite! I have a lot of respect for Joan's earliest films. She was a Hollywood original who made up her own code of performance. Personally, I think she was a lot like Sadie in real life. Joan was reportedly sexually free and didn't seem to feel accepted by other actors. I say, forget 'em Joan! You had the goods and you delivered them in Rain. My favorite performance by Joan is Grand Hotel. She gives a dazzling and understated performance...no hip shaking hussy in that film. But then her character is very different but she delivers in both films. Watching Rain is sometimes difficult. It's an edgy, creepy ride of a film when Huston's character starts his trip on Sadie's mind and body. You know it's going to be messy! Watch Rain and Crawford will pull you in. You will be rooting for her all the way!

  • I loved this

    • Suzanne
    • 10/23/12

    Having happened upon this film by channel surfing, I was totally captivated. There's a subtle inexorability that kept me riveted. But, then, rain for me has its own power that is captured splendidly in this understated film.

  • Amazing eyes of Joan

    • France
    • 3/2/10

    Such a beautiful and dramatic film. It should be restored, and should be recognized! It is just so amazing to watch Joan's performance. I have never seen anything quite like it. Her eyes are so bewitching. When she is below the stairs looking up at the reverend, wow! She never blinks once!

  • Walter Huston's Worth Watching

    • Janys
    • 7/12/09

    Even though I far prefer the remake called, "Miss Sadie Thompson," starring Rita Hayworth, Walter Huston's performance is worth watching once. The role of Sadie Thompson belongs to Hayworth.

  • Lame Version of "Miss Sadie Thompson"

    • GeorgiaR
    • 7/11/09

    Rita Hayworth's Sadie Thompson is so far superior to Joan Crawford's that this film suffers for it. This version leaves me believing that it's Crawford who's in need of being reformed instead of the character she was supposed to have played.

  • See Rita Hayworth in Miss Sadie Thompson

    • Auntranett
    • 7/11/09

    "Rain" is a terrible version of what become the classic, "Miss Sadie Thompson," starring Rita Hayworth. Since Joan Crawford was miscast in "Rain" as shady Sadie, this film's a bomb. When contrasted with the classic version and Rita Hayworth's sensational performance, it's very clear that the part of Sadie belongs to Hayworth. I wouldn't bother with "Rain" because it's a real drag.

  • Sadie Thompson

    • MarjorieAW
    • 7/9/09

    Rita Hayworth delivers a far superior version of this film.

  • It's 92* and it's RAINING!!

    • amicklea
    • 3/4/09

    Stuck on PagoPago island, Joan's popularity with the local "doughboys" offends the senses of Huston, a self-justified evangelist who FORCES her conversion, but suddenly discards wife, Word, and immortal soul at the prospect of Joan's embrace!A must see for fans of adult fare in early films. It seems that Sadie, (Joan) is the most honest and honorable one among the whole cast of characters.

  • Great Performance by Crawford

    • Dexter
    • 4/5/08

    An underrated film with Joan Crawford's most underrated performance. If anyone thinks Joan was just a "movie star" and not an "actress", this is definite proof that she was.

  • Classic!

    • Gabriella
    • 6/11/07

    One of the most underrated films out there. Joan Crawford is so good in it, as is everyone else. It was certainly ahead of it's time - in my opinion.

  • Great movie!

    • Steve
    • 6/10/07

    Excellent movie. Insightful look at religion, indoctrination, "good" and "evil". Frankly, I found the ending quite pleasing. Joan Crawford, Walter Huston, "Handsome": brilliant. Rest of cast well done.

  • The Rain

    • HAwkeyes331
    • 5/7/07

    What a great movie that seems to get no attention at all.Joan Crawford is at her best.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.