skip navigation
Rafter Romance

Rafter Romance(1933)

  • Thursday, June 29 @ 01:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Rafter Romance (1933)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/14/12

    The premise of the story had potential but the movie didn't pay off. There were too many problems with the plot and characters. For one thing, I didn't expect Rogers to be living in the same building as Foster for months and months already. It seems unlikely that in all that time she never bumped into him on the stairs once in all their comings and goings from the building. And what was the point of the rich, alcoholic woman? How did she ever come to meet Foster in the first place? That character was the single-most annoying and unnecessary part of the film. Also, the wham-bam-we're-in-love-now relationship between Ginger and Foster was implausible--especially since there was no visible chemistry between the leads. Norman Foster always does a adequate job of acting in his films but there is something about him that is just--I don't know--weird. He never seems to really fit into the films in a realistic way. I found the movie more nasty and bad-humored than funny, and that's too bad--Ginger Rogers is a great comedienne and here talents are wasted here. I did like the film's setting and seeing people living and working (1933 telemarketers! Go figure!) in depression era New York City. I rate this film ** (barely) out of five.

  • Clever Conceit

    • Riccardo
    • 10/8/08

    Hitchcock used to say that information, and how and when it's told to the audience, is the key to suspense. In this comedy the same applies. The audience is shown that the leads share the same apartment...one sleeping at night, the other during the day...but the characters don't know it. This is the crux of the comedy....and it's well played and light, exactly like a romance comedy should be played. While this film is not the four-star category of "It Happened One Night", to me, this is an absolutely delightful three-star film. I quite disagree TCM's two-star rating.

  • Fun, lighthearted comedy

    • Cheryl
    • 3/20/08

    Having only seen Ginger Rogers in movies with Fred Astair, I didn't realise what a good actress she was on her own. I liked the plot of this movie, which showed a more innocent time. I was reminded of "The Goodbye Girl", too - which might have borrowed it's premise from this film.

  • Keep 'um coming

    • Iris
    • 4/10/07

    It is so refreshing and alot of fun this week to see all the out-of-the-vault features. There seems to be way too many "repeats" of the TCM standards. I enjoyed this light comedy and the crystal-clear image. TCM - keep them coming and I'll keep watching. (Right now, my TiVo is filled to capasity).

  • send it back to the vault!

    • doug
    • 4/10/07

    This depression comedy was just, well, depressing. It does not age well. The situation is trite and I understand why Claudette Colbert divorced Norman Foster. Ginger would if there were a sequel to this dog.

  • rafter romance

    • elnora rogers
    • 4/9/07

    What I found interesting about this movie was first of all I had never seen it before. It appears that no one has seen it since the 50's when it was shown briefly in NYC. Secondly, I feel it told us something of what people were like in the early 30's - the contrast of the rich lady and the very poor young couple. Also people were polite to each other - especially in the woman and man relationships. The movies of this period are great because the stories are like plays, the dialogue is snappy. Finally I really liked this movie because as I feel about all the TCM movies is that it tells me what it was like back then - music, cars, hair styles, clothes,shoes furniture. I smiled all the weay through this one.Nancy

  • Well Done!

    • Maureen
    • 4/6/07

    What a great little film! I really enjoyed seeing Ginger in a leading role before she danced the Carioca with Astaire.

  • A character later copied...

    • Reveriii
    • 4/5/07

    Although this film was made in 1933, and the Wizard of Oz in 1939 to me it seems as if some of the 1939 roles actually mirrored performances of this little jewl. I think I can see where The Wizard's performance of Wizard of Oz actually mimimicked the character of Mr. Hubbel, (Miss Abercrombie's boss). &And the fast talking Ginger (Miss Abercrombie) was later replicated in the fast talking Lion when he finally found his braveness.

  • Outstanding

    • Reveriii
    • 4/5/07

    They don't make them like they used to. This was a captivating romantic comedy that had its own type of Internet Message Board in an attic! It was a very sweet and charming film, which I highly recommend. I hope many more films are preserved like this little jewl.The humor and wit in those days have not yet been outdated yet!Reveriii

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.