skip navigation
Rachel and the Stranger

Rachel and the Stranger(1948)

  • Tuesday, July 22 @ 05:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Rachel and the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Rachel and the Stranger

    • P Y Uyeno
    • 5/18/13

    Fabulous movie featuring an all-star cast led by the beautiful Loretta Young, straight forward William Holden and the wiley, charming and wise Robert Mitchum. Folksy dialogue can't detract from the expressions of disappointment, frustration, anger and finally LOVE expressed by the the main characters Loretta Young and William Holden. A little coaxing from the wandering backwoods minstrel, played by Robert Mitchum, helps to create a loving relationship from a marriage of uncomfortable and indifferent convenience. Love EVERY minute of this period jewel, and this gem should definitely be available on DVD for we fans of classic movie-making of a bygone era.

  • fARMERS DAUGHTER AND gACHEL AND THE STRANGER.

    • patti stewart
    • 1/24/13

    I want these's 2 movies on VHS or DVD so bad. Pleae try to get them,I orfer a LOT of movies form you so far I've found what I wantede I love Old Movies!!!!!!!)thank you so much!

  • Rachel and the Stranger

    • joyce morris
    • 12/26/12

    Rachel and the Stranger is one of the best movies I have ever seen. For years, quite unsuccessfully, I have been trying to find and buy a copy of this movie. My daughters who are not really into classic movies learned to love this movie as I have. Please, Turner Classic Movied play Rachel and the Stranger more frequently.

  • Happiness

    • Terry Thornes
    • 8/26/12

    I have been asking to see this movie for two years now Please,Please, show this wonderful moive it is a real family show and it makes me happy.

  • Rachael and the Stranger

    • Janet
    • 4/18/12

    This is a one of my favorite movies. It is good comedy/drama entertainment and I watch it whenever it is available on TCM. Please make it available on DVD for your many fans. I will be one of the first to purchase it.

  • Rachel and the Stranger

    • Sharon
    • 8/1/11

    I had this movie on my DVR but sadly it was erased. Please play it again, and more often. I watched it over and over, it was my favorite. They don't make movies like that any more. Now they want to scare the dickens out of you, or embarrass you in your own home, or make you sick. This is a really good story and very pleasant to watch.

  • Rachel and the Stranger

    • Mary Jo Joyce
    • 1/6/11

    This is a movie for the entire family and a very good story. I agree movies had class when this film was made. I saw it early this morning and would like very much to see again and would purchase if available please make this film available to the public.

  • the acting

    • mary martin
    • 11/11/10

    this is such a good movie, the entire family could sit and watch it. this is when stars had class and their performances showed it.

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 11/9/10

    Um dos filmes em que Loretta Young pode mostrar seu talento junto a William Holden e Robert. Um trio muito bom.

  • rachel and the stranger

    • susan mock
    • 8/9/10

    I saw this movie years ago and fell in love with it.

  • Rachel And The Stranger

    • Kathy
    • 6/26/10

    I have been looking for this movie for a very long time and would love to have it in my collection of classic movies. It is a shame that their are so many great movies that are not available for home video. Please help us out and release it on DVD.

  • Rachel and the stranger

    • susan
    • 6/20/10

    Heard alot about this movie. was finally able to see it on TCM. loved it. epecially loved the song that robert mitchum sings.

  • RACHAEL AND THE STRANGER

    • RON
    • 5/13/10

    HAVE BEEN HUNTING FOR THIS DVD SINCE I FIRST SAW THE MOVIE BUT NO LUCK IN FINDING IT. I HAVE A COLORIZED COPY ON VHS THAT I'M GOING TO DUB TO DVD BUT WOULD PREFER A PROFESSIONAL COPY.

  • Please put this on DVD

    • P. Neff
    • 5/11/10

    This is one of my all time favorite movies. Great actors, great story, a classic.

  • Rachel & the Stranger

    • Bonnie
    • 2/26/10

    This is truly a wonderful movie, what great performances by Holden, Mitchem, and Young. I have this movie on VHS, taped from TV, I watch it often, but am afraid it will break and then I would be so upset. What a great loss not to have this out on DVD. My husband and daughter both love this movie as well. I first heard about this movie from my Mother, back in 1958. I think she went to the movies as a young girl to see it. Hope I'm still around when it comes out on DVD.

  • Still waiting for an official release!

    • Garth Lough
    • 9/4/09

    Why are so many of these AMERICAN classic movies only available on DVD in FOREIGN formats?!?!? This is a wonderful movie that is due for an official release. One of my favorite Robert Mitchum roles, with great performances from EVERYONE in the film. Great cast headed by Loretta Young and William Holden. Great story and one of the few films Mitchum gets to display his considerable singing talent.

  • Great family movie

    • Dr Pati
    • 9/2/09

    Rachel and the Stranger is my all time favorite movie. Loretta Young, Robert Mitchum and William Holden are wonderful and very realistic in this backwoods humorous and romantic movie. There is suspence, romance, humor, old fashion music and action. What else would anyone want? The entire family will enjoy this movie. The young boy and his dog just tops off a great story.

  • PUT MORE OLD MOVIES ON DVD!!!

    • Jane Carey
    • 6/23/09

    It's nice that TCM has its "voting" system to see which movies should be put on DVD, but how can people vote on movies they've not seen?? Not only "Rachel & the Stranger" but so many more should be put on DVD immediately! Such as "Farmer's Daughter", "White Banners", "Dulcy", "Anthony Adverse", "Bachelor Mother", What Every Woman Knows", and many more! It is so frustrating not to be able to have these old movies on DVD when there are so many awful ones already on DVD. I wonder how THEY got on DVD? No one voted for them! I hope that TCM will pressure these movie companies to release many more of these great old movies on DVD!

  • Great Story!

    • L. Smith
    • 4/18/09

    This is a must see for Loretta Youngand William Holden, Robert Mitchumfans alike. A great love story withhumor and entertaining performancesintertwined. Please release it!

  • PURE MAGIC!

    • Naomi B.
    • 3/8/09

    This movie is so sweet and encaptures the viewer. This movie has a permanent spot, or at least until it comes out on DVD, on my DVR. I love Loretta Young and can watch her movies all the time.

  • A truly Wonderful movie.

    • Deborah
    • 1/16/09

    Someone, please release this title on DVD. One of my all time favorite movies. I had my DVR record it on a whim one day, bored, looking for something good to watch. What a delightful surprise I had when I sat down to watch it. Wonderful acting. Great storyline. Perfect dialogue. Lovely romance. I think it could be brought to live theatre very nicely also, as there are really 4 main characters, and only about 3 or 4 sets needed, but I digress. Being a stepmother myself, I especially loved the small message at the end of the movie about respecting Rachel. Don't miss this movie when you have the chance. A real treat.

  • Truely a lost treasure

    • JoeD
    • 12/13/08

    Someone should take a chance on this gem. A Well acted, evenly paced family film. If promoted again it would be on the classic list and pay for itself to be remastered to DVD. Not to share this film is an injustice to all classic movie buffs.

  • I treasure this movie...

    • Maryann
    • 11/30/08

    I taped this movie when it was on AMC waaay back when. I'm almost afraid to watch it now for fear that the tape will break and I'll lose it forever. It is a good, wholesome, entertaining story and it is well-acted by all. Considering some of the "entertainment" that is out there, I can't believe this film hasn't been made available on DVD. I check for it often and will snap it up if/when it becomes available.

  • Great Movie

    • Kenyotta Elijah
    • 11/9/08

    I first saw this movie when I was about 14 years old and I fell in love with it. I saw it on TBS and they had a serious habit of showing movies over and over at that time. I watched the movie each time it played that week. This movie has been seriously overlooked by others. I have to laugh every time I watch this movie. Robert Mitchum is wonderful in this.

  • Sadly underrated; a real winner

    • RobertEmmettHarron
    • 1/1/08

    Just caught this today, from an old tape I'd made during the summer, and I'm sorry I took so long to give it a look. It's a real charmer, funny and romantic, and the four principal performers are fantastic. I think this is one of Holden's best performances. and Mitchum is also very good. He had a great way with the folk songs (!) In the title role, Young is warm and winning and quite lovely. Excellent, economical direction from Norman Foster.

  • Show IT!

    • Jeff and Jeannie House
    • 11/24/07

    Great Movie. We love the humor and the message! This show really works. One of the greats! Why is it not available? Why is it not scheduled to show on TCM? Please show it SOON!

  • Great Cast. Great Flick.

    • Kelley
    • 9/14/07

    Really enjoy this movie and love the way William Holden and Robert Mitchum play off of each other as friends and romantic rivals.

  • Rachael and the Stranger

    • Anna Ey
    • 9/4/07

    I have been trying for sometime to get this movie on DVD. It has not been available as of yet. Todays date 9-4-07.The story line is very interesting and appropriate for the time that the movie represents. The acting is super by all, esp. the major stars. Why can't this movie be made available on DVD? It would bring a lot of entertaining pleasure to many people. This is a movie I can see over and over again. It's music lifts the spirits and the scenery is very pleasingand allows ont to feel in touch with the story. This movie should be put on DVD and to continue to give pleasure for a long time. Thank You

  • True Love Story

    • Debra Loebach
    • 6/14/06

    I think this is the best love story I've ever seen. The way that Robert Mitchum makes William Holden think twice about the way he's treating Loretta Young, it's a repeat of how he treated his first wife and took her for granted. Great film with truth about relationships. I agree that it should be on DVD!!!

  • Great Movie

    • Debbie Crawford
    • 3/15/06

    Hey, I loved this movie, I love Loretta Young, she was so beautiful and such a talent. Holden, and Mitchum were good too.Please put this one on DVD

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.