skip navigation
Clash by Night

Clash by Night(1952)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Clash by Night An embittered woman seeks... MORE > $17.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • cheers to a excellent movie

    • yarhonda
    • 5/27/14

    it was decadent. the story line was perfect. I understood it the whole way through.Marilyn was amazing. I love it when a actress and actor become the character to make the film as a whole and not just play someone they've read about on a script they study and really thought about how it would feel or how that person would be. a good actress will make the film come alive. I've seen actresses like Angelina joli and Halle berry and Clint eastwood to name a few; make characters come alive on camera whether they where playing fictional or nonfictional parts those are people to me that take there craft serious and so did Marilyn she was sensational. I applaud the entire film. they should play It more on tv along with trouble man.

  • clash by night

    • charles waits
    • 11/8/11

    This is the best real life movie I have ever seen.

  • Clash by Night

    • Blaise
    • 11/17/10

    Just saw this for the first time....it's a "must see". Lots of power from all the lead actors. Especially Barbara Stanwyyck, Paul Douglas and Robert Ryan; not to mention a young Marlyn Monroe. All against the great backdrop of the little fishing village. TCM needs to show this.

  • Not Noir, but worthwhile melodrama

    • Emgee
    • 10/16/10

    Although available in Warner Bros Film Noir Classics collection ( yes it IS out on dvd!) this is not a noir movie by any stretch of that term.Both Stanwyck and Ryan have appeared in noirs and Fritz Lang has made some classics of the genre, but this is solid melodrama.For me there were several reasons for liking and disliking this movie:Pro: Stanwyck and Ryan are outstanding as usual, Marilyn Monroe pleasant and performing well, the dialogues are frequently sharp and revealing and Lang's directing make it almost feel noirish.Contra: Paul Douglas' performance is way over the top and his character too good for this wicked world. The other supporting actors would also be more at home in a Frank Capra feelgood story. Also you constantly wait for the movie to catch fire, but it just sizzles along to a disappointing ending.Conclusion: worthwhile, but don't get yout expectations up too high.

  • Clash By Night

    • Pam
    • 6/1/10

    I've seen this movie twice and loved it. The script is excellent. The acting is great- just like real people in the drama of life. I enjoyed the seaside setting with the boats. Shows how our own selfish discontent can hurt everyone around us. So much quality in the story telling without over doing it. Too bad they don't make movies like this anymore.

  • good but rusty

    • bkc
    • 11/10/09

    nice to see these actors, but grew tired of plot

  • Drama

    • Dee
    • 11/10/09

    What a cast This movie is her best drama. Should be on DVD.

  • great barbra movie

    • Margie
    • 8/18/08

    its a movie of drama and a little suspense. she can carry her own on this movie, then men try to dominate her, she gives a little and takes it back. love her.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.