skip navigation
Promise, The

Promise, The(1979)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Promise, The - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Promise

    • Mary Louise
    • 9/9/10

    One of the most intriguing love stories ever captured onfilm. This movie showed the complete acting talent ofKathleen Quinlan and Stephen Collins.I cannot believe that it is not available on DVD.Hope TCM will somehow present it on television soon.The movie love theme was an unforgettable melody andlyrics.Please work your magic and bring it to the screen oncemore.Thank you for your consideration.We watch TCM every night.

  • The Promise

    • Linda
    • 7/13/10

    I would like to suggest this movie for TCM to air on their station. It is the best love story ever and has not been seen on TV since the early 1980's

  • The Promise

    • Linda Clesi
    • 7/13/10

    It is the best love story of all time. The Notebook does not come close to this movie. This was my mother's all time favorite movie. Anyone who has seen this movie will agree. You will cry through out the whole movie. It is true to life how the rich will keep anyone who does not measure up out of their family.

  • Love Prevails

    • Annie
    • 9/4/09

    I saw this movie in 1979, when I was going through a very emotional divorce. I cried everytime I watched this heartfelt movie. I am just as touched today as I was 30 years ago, but with less tears. I hope that this movie comes out in dvd soon.

  • A true love story

    • betty adams
    • 8/9/08

    This movie almost broke my heart to see two lovers lose touch with one another and some how end up back with each other despite the horrible controlling mother desire to keep her son from the young lady. I loved how it backfired on the mother when the operation that she paid for the girl to have turned her into a beautiful young lady.

  • The Best Love Story

    • Jackie F.
    • 1/20/08

    Why hasn't this film been shown often on T.V. and why is it not available for home video? What a crime as this is such a wonderful love story, well acted, and would be well received if only it would be available to be seen. I could watch this movie over and over again.

  • Better than the book

    • Karen M.
    • 8/13/07

    This movie was based on a book by Danielle Steele. I too saw it in the 80's and thought it was very good, especially the actual crash and the anticipation of the ending. It was sweet and sappy and an enjoyable chick flick.

  • A Great Love Story

    • Linda
    • 6/3/07

    I saw this movie in the 80's and loved it. I have been looking for it on TV, any of the movie channels and to buy but nothing. I hope this is put on DVD soon.What a great love story.

  • The promise

    • Carolyn
    • 4/14/06

    I saw this love story years ago and I have been looking for it to watch again but I can't find it. It was such a tear jerker with a good ending. Need kleenex close by.

  • GREAT MOVIE

    • KATHY
    • 2/4/06

    I SAW THIS MOVIE YEARS AGO AND JUST LOVED IT, IT IS SUCH A SWEET LOVE STORY. I RECOMMEND IT, AND WISH IT WOULD BE BROUGHT BACK, I HAVEN'T SEEN IT IN YEARS.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.