skip navigation
The Prisoner of Zenda

The Prisoner of Zenda(1952)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Prisoner of Zenda An Englishman who resembles... MORE > $59.98 Regularly $59.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • well done but, why was it done ?

    • Lynn
    • 10/24/14

    This is a pretty faithful version of Anthony Hope's novel, complete with gorgeous costumes and lovely music. But, it is, word for word, a totally faithful copy of the Ronald Colman version from the 1930's with the addition of color. It is a beautiful film and, if you are fortunate enough to be have the time to watch both this and the original, do so. If you can only find the time to watch one, watch the 1937 Ronald Colman film. Stewart Granger is very good; Ronald Colman is great.

  • Another enjoyable version of Prisoner of Zenda

    • Jim Smith
    • 11/17/13

    Both the 1937 version (Coleman/Carroll) and the 52 version (Granger/Kerr) are very entertaining. The 1937 version in black and white and the 52 version in color.

  • The Prisoner of Zenda

    • David Norburg
    • 10/20/10

    Stewart Granger aside, this is one of my favorite James Mason movies. Frankly, he and his tailor steal every scene.

  • A New Swashbuckler is Born.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/17/10

    Stewart Granger takes his place along side Errol Flynn and Douglas Fairbanks as the next swashbuckling hero in the motion picture industry as he stars in the fourth re-telling of Anthony Hope's 1894 classic novel. Granger takes a dual role as a travelling Englishman, who impersonates his twin cousin, the King of Ruritanium, and James Mason also stars as his wicked half-brother, Michael, who is planning to assassinate the king and seize the throne for himself. Both Granger and Mason give excellent performances as the King and his look-alike cousin and the evil half-brother conspiring to kill him. The sword-fight scene between the two actors is almost as good as that of Errol Flynn and Basil Rathbone in "The Adventures of Robin Hood". Never mind what Leonard Maltin says in his movie guide, any screen version of Hope's novel is equally enjoyable. Also starring Deborah Kerr, Louis Calhern, Robert Douglas, Jane Greer, Robert Coote, Lewis Stone, Peter Brocco, Kathleen Freeman & Francis Pierlot.

  • The Prisoner of Zenda is a "must-see" movie.

    • Linda Sachs
    • 10/19/08

    This film is a gem - interesting story; beautifully filmed with excellent actors & actresses; lovely soundtrack with a memorable love theme. This was one of Stewart Granger's best and a "must-watch" for anyone who enjoys a good adventure/love story with just the right amount of "swashbuckling".

  • Must See

    • lcgarcia
    • 6/25/06

    MY children and I love to watch this movie because it is so much fun. We want to see it on DVD soon.

  • Great

    • angela
    • 5/21/06

    Great movie, ,and yes its' on home video VHS ONLY I'm afraid, but is worth watching ......Angela

  • GREAT!

    • Andrea
    • 4/28/06

    My husband and I both like this movie. We have seen it a couple of times and enjoy every opportunity to watch it when it is on TCM. I feel it is an enjoyable movie with drama and romance. Of course Deborah Kerr and Stewart Granger are great together as you feel the passion their characters show toward each other. A must see Movie!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.