skip navigation
The Pride of the Yankees

The Pride of the Yankees(1943)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Pride of the Yankees Baseball legend Lou Gehrig... MORE > $10.95 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Teresa Wright

    • Jack
    • 4/26/15

    Cooper cannot convincingly portray a baseball player, in fact, I find his acting throughout the film to be awkward, his facial expressions are so amateurish. On the other hand, Teresa Wright is terrific, a great actress and oh so pretty.

  • pride of the yankees

    • kevin sellers
    • 3/15/15

    As a baseball movie it's a D, for the oft stated reason that Cooper throws like a girl. As a biopic it's a C, for the simple reason that I don't buy the protagonist as St. Lou. As an example of the Tear Jerker it, of course, gets an A plus.

  • The Pride of the Yankees

    • Meredith
    • 1/26/14

    Overall I really enjoyed this film. I'm not a baseball fan so a lot of the technicals just flew right past me. I only cared for the story as it was told to me - I bought it hook, line, and sinker. It's funny that the bracelet was the real one because I had a feeling it was when I saw it in the movie - very powerful. I was a little confused about the boy at the end and Cooper's reaction to him - to me it wasn't clear how either one of them really felt. But I didn't dwell on it too long because I was trying so hard not to cry!

  • The Pride of the Yankees (1943)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/28/12

    Decent enough biopic, though it is painfully clear that Cooper is about as clumsy at baseball as he is at acting. The camera plays to cover the former inability by the use of waist-up close-ups. As for the latter limitation, Cooper is capable of showing three emotions competently--shyness, stupification, and stubbornness. All other emotions he achieves through a strange and ambiguous mix of these. Thankfully (or should that be unfortunately?) the movie has little to tax him dramatically so it comes off well enough. The high point is Lou's speech at the end of the movie. Though the movie may be somewhat lacking, there is no question that it indeed was a great era for baseball.

  • We're all lucky to be living in the United States

    • Jeff Boston
    • 8/26/12

    Touching tribute to a mountain of a man. As Ma Gehrig said, America is a great country where everyone has a chance to make something of themselves. The same holds true today. Too bad we don't have the great biographies of great Americans like the ones Cooper, Stewart, and others made when yankees in the film industry had more pride in their homeland.

  • Who Cares Jim Myers

    • Joseph
    • 2/6/11

    If what Jim Myers wrote is true or not, he had to post some little known fact to make himself look important. In movies many things are changed around to make the story more interesting. Everyone knows Gary Cooper was swinging right handed and ran around the bases in reverse to portray a left handed batter, but that didn't bother me when I watch it. Get over yourself, Jim Myers!!

  • Mistake in Movie

    • Jim Myers
    • 1/4/10

    was just watching Pride of Yankees, and my Brother noticed something, the scene where Lou finally made the yankees and he was walking in the locker room for the first time,they showed Mark Koening and Tony Lazzeris Locker, and neither of them 2 was playing in 1923 when Lou came up.

  • The Pride of the Yankees (1942)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/9/09

    A wonderful biography, beautifully acted by Gary Cooper, Teresa Wright is incredible as well. The supporting cast is excellent. Well written and directed. Very moving, outstanding production.

  • What this movie means to me

    • Joseph Cato
    • 2/11/08

    I have been a baseball fan since I was four years old;watch the games at Wrigley Field in Los Angeles with my Dad. In looking at this movie I remember those times of playing and shareing the game with dad and listening to the stories of the players of his youth. The one that Dad spoke of with a fondness was Lou Gehrig. To Dad, he played the game "right" and showed the world that one doesn't have to be a bag of hot air to be a star; just a humble person doing his job to the best of his God given talents. So in watching this movie is my way of remembering my dad, and getting ready for the New Season of Baseball.

  • A true American Classic!

    • FrankieCee
    • 3/26/07

    Two "true" American Heroes, Lou Gehrig and Gary Cooper...say no more! The physical resemblance between them is uncanny, they could have been real-life brothers. But Mr. Gehrig was wrong, he 'wasn't' the "luckiest man on the face of the earth" no, that claim is reserved for "US" because we had the honor and the privilege to have had him grace us by his presence on this earth as well as on the baseball diamond. If Gary Cooper had played no other role than that of the role of Lou Gehrig, his name would have gone down in cinematic history, but since he has "graced" us with his many films, we can carry a little bit of history with us each time we watch him and one of his stellar performances. Probably the greatest baseball movie ever made, or to ever be made, bar none!

  • A LANDMARK MOVIE

    • Jay
    • 3/26/07

    I love this movie.It is without a doubt the best loved baseball movie of all time.What a treat to see Babe Ruth playing himself.Gary Cooper is in a landmark role as the legendary Lou Gehrig.It is a movie that will tug at your heart.

  • Proud of "Pride of the Yankees"

    • GJ Cotton
    • 5/16/06

    I have watched this wonderful flick many times throughout the years and have always come away with the spirit and love of baseball, lou g. and gary cooper. i always cry at the end. it was a time when baseball was played by real heroes.

  • Excellent Movie

    • John Burrs
    • 3/15/06

    It was a great movie from start to end.Lou wife was beautiful and a pleasure to watch. But what really amazed me was the documentary about the ball player that could throw 2 and 3 balls to different locations and bat hanging upside down plus a multitude of other things!What was his name???

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.