skip navigation
Pinky

Pinky(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Pinky A light-skinned black woman... MORE > $9.98 Regularly $9.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Stinky

    • noodles
    • 9/5/13

    Stale, far-fetched and sanctimonious tale that seems to reinforce the old belief in "Separate, But Equal".

  • Pinky

    • Goetan
    • 8/26/13

    A powerful study of a light-skinned black woman passing for a white. Crain recieved an Oscar nomination as the title character, as did Ethel's Barrymore and Waters. Engaging social drama from 20th Century Fox, but doesn't have the some power as "Gentleman's Agreement." Drops in interest in the middle, but it's still good. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • "Pinky" is a racist hymn to white racial purity.

    • A. Powell
    • 2/9/13

    1) By claiming that "Pinky" is only a superior or pretty variety of "Negro," the film proclaims the "inferiority" of the "race" it claims to champion.2) "Pinky" is really a more racist and dangerous film than "Birth of a Nation," because the "dirty work" of keeping the white race "pure" (a myth in itself) is done by "Dicey" (who proclaims that "God" and not a racist caste system made Pinky a "Negro"), the Southern "liberal" Miss Em (who wills Pinky her house in order to keep her from claiming her rightful white identity) and Pinky herself who "voluntarily" rejects the marriage proposal of her "pure white" fiance because she has accepted the myth that she should not "taint" the white race with her small amount of "inferior Negro blood" but instead use her "superior" white intelligence to "improve" the "inferior" race (which apparently can't get along without the blood of its hated but adored enemy to improve its genetic stock).http://melungeon.ning.com/forum/topics/5th-union-presentation-by-a-d-powell

  • Bold Movie

    • Mark Vatavuk
    • 7/12/11

    Clearly this film was far ahead of its time from a variety of viewpoints. Racial issues were openly and unabashedly highlighted, and several African American characters were portrayed as dignified, intelligent individuals. The "feel" of the movie (including the shadowy black & white cinematography) is very akin to "To Kill a Mockingbird". At the time of its release in 1949, I wonder how many Southern theaters refused to screen "Pinky".

  • Pinky

    • nettedee8
    • 8/15/10

    As a woman of mix origins My Mother is French and Indian AKA White and my Father is Indian and African American AKA Colored. This is how the world was in the US of A. If you had a drop of black blood you were colored at birth. My Mother growing up in the 30s presented as a White woman all her life, by other white folks. She sees herself as African American. .Any person presenting as white could pass as white if they did not know you. Pinky was a movie me and my family watched together and my brother and sister can pass as white as long as they do not allow the white folks to know the truth. I have a Indian complexion. My point is black people were treated badly even once free. We could not hold patents inherit property just like in the story. I dont have a problem with the movie. It was a good example of how white folks rule the nation back then If you was not white you are not superior. It is still true today.

  • Mixed-White

    • A.D. Powell
    • 8/2/10

    The character of "Pinky" is a white person of mixed ancestry. There is nothing "black" or "African" about her. The film itself promotes the racist myth of white racial "purity," having Pinky self-police herself and refuse marriage with her "pure white" fiance so she won't "taint" his line. The Ethel Walters' "grandmother" character has the nerve to tell Pinky that she has committed a sin against God himself by claiming the "honor" of her own European ancestry. Make no mistake; this is an anti-miscegenation, pro-white racial purity film and nothing else!

  • Mixed-White - NOT

    • A.D. Powell
    • 8/2/10

    The character of "Pinky" is a white person of mixed ancestry. There is nothing "black" or "African" about her. The film itself promotes the racist myth of white racial "purity," having Pinky self-police herself and refuse marriage with her "pure white" fiance so she won't "taint" his line. The Ethel Walters' "grandmother" character has the nerve to tell Pinky that she has committed a sin against God himself by claiming the "honor" of her own European ancestry. Make no mistake; this is an anti-miscegenation, pro-white racial purity film and nothing else!

  • pinky

    • angela Gear
    • 4/25/10

    Excellent movie. it just goes to show real life and that their were good people in all races at a time where many whites took a chance and held their ground on injustice. we can all learn from this movie not to judge another. i am going to buy it for my collection. TCM keep the great movies coming. AVGJ

  • Irish negress

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/3/10

    First, this is a beautifully written film. The characters are all carefully presented and the story is simple yet complex. I think Jeanne Crain is a fabulous actress, but I think she's wrong for this part. Her Irish heritage can't be concealed by the black-and-white cinematography, because her bone structure and eyes are very distinctly non-African in appearance. So physically, she is miscast. Apparently, Gene Tierney was first considered for the part, and so was Linda Darnell. But again, both of those actresses were Caucasian, and this role requires a real-life mulatto actress. Perhaps having a white actress in the lead helped Fox tell the story without a black, or partially black woman kissing a white man (Pinky kisses her fiance in the film). I think the film should be remade and done correctly. Improving on the supporting actresses, though, would be difficult. The two Ethels are perfect: Ethel Waters as the grandmother; and Ethel Barrymore as the old southern belle.

  • Pinky

    • Marcia
    • 2/3/10

    I did enjoy the movie, however I wish they could have gotten a black girl to play the part. I'm sure there were some that could have played it just as well as a white actress. But back then blacks could only be portrayed as maids and butlers.This movie shows how society treated blacks back then and how some are still treated. Look how the whites changed when they found out Pinky was really black. The movie also shows self hatred which is still prevalent today. Today some light skinned blacks still think they are better than the dark ones, those people need to see this movie. When racists find out you are black, it doesn't matter what shade you are. High yellow or dark brown, you are still black.I'm glad Pinky became a proud black woman in the end.

  • Pinky the movie

    • AC
    • 6/8/08

    We come in ALL different shades and I want to tell you both of her parents are Negroes no question in my mind . So forget about it stop wanting to be something else in this country majority of us have everything in us you know what I mean. That also goes for white folks in the country who THINK there white :-) So "forget about it"and just say you an American and be proud. Thanks:-)

  • Pinky

    • Sonya
    • 5/19/06

    I thought that this was a very moving story. I wished that they had told the parentage of Pinky other than she was Diceys granddaughter. For me it would have gave Pinky an identy of her own.The movie was very good.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.