skip navigation
Picnic

Picnic(1955)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Picnic A handsome drifter ignites... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Phyllis Newman

    • Peter Slater
    • 2/16/14

    No one ever mentions her. Don't know why her name was not in the credits. She's the "flirty" girl who sort of hangs around Bomber. Phyllis was one of the hosts of the NBC show "That Was the Week that Was", which was sort of the precursor to Laugh-In. She was an accomplished Broadway actress and lost out on a Tony to Barbra Streisand. During the early 1960's she was all over TV as a panelist on game shows. I had a serious crush on her. Still do. Just a beautiful actress in a wonderful movie.

  • overrated?

    • hermann
    • 2/16/14

    What's good: the real location setting, Rosalind Russell, and especially Kim Novak who is so fresh and appealing here in a very genuine unactressy way. What's bad: William Holden. He's way too old for the part and not even very believably Midwestern. I also don't care much for the story. It's all about sexual lust. It's in a general league with Streetcar Named Desire, though of course more wholesome. (But curiously, Streetcar is the more interesting story because of its more peculiar aspects.)

  • Excellent

    • Joseph
    • 7/7/13

    One of the best films ever made. Superb performances by Holden, Novak, Russell. The dance scene MOONLIGHT is the best ever. Story of small town life over a Labor Day weekend. Not be missed EXCEPTIONAL direction and production. LOVE IT....

  • I love "Picnic"

    • Ag1450
    • 6/29/12

    This film is about human relationships, and therefore it will never date! It is universal. It is a beautiful film with gorgeous music! It is about love, a universal feeling.

  • Life is not no Picnic.

    • Marian Coombs
    • 6/28/12

    A film/play set in a particular time and place will seem "dated" - that's its aim - but "Picnic" also transcends any place and time even as it beautifully evokes mid-century mid-America. The tragic couple recognize in each other a struggle to overcome others' reduction of them to their bodies - Madge the pageant queen, Hal the football hero. Following the classic commedia dell'arte form, a parallel comic couple - Rosemary the desperate old-maid schoolteacher, Howard the reluctant beau/buffoon - also struggle to connect. On the fringes of the human comedy sprawl Millie, Madge's sibling rival and opposite, as awkward in adolescing as Madge is proficient; their mother, who is at the stage of having to give up her young-woman's dreams; and an elderly neighbor who functions as a Greek chorus because she has seen all these things before. The entitled young Alan Benson is every prince who ever gracelessly lost his "prize" to a low-born competitor. All these archetypes are incarnated in the director's successful combination of intimate stage play and small-town outdoor setting. The performances are poignant, the music is haunting, the color is delicious. A picnic for the senses and the soul.

  • Dated Movie

    • Margaret Dashwood
    • 6/24/12

    This movie is painfully dated. The one star I give it is for William Holden and his sex appeal.

  • Must see movie

    • S. Thomas
    • 10/16/11

    The beautiful Kim Novak (oh gosh, I hope I spelled her name correctly), and the handsome William Holden. I've always have loved the music theme to this movie 'Moonglow', and remember hearing that holden admitted he couldn't dance, didn't want to dance but with the magic of the Director of Photography James Wong Howe, pulled it off and created quite a scene with the young lovers dancing a slow dance that some of us can remember to this day.

  • Picnic; the All- American Classic Film

    • David
    • 9/2/11

    This film is a true American classic from the town picnic scenes to the heartbreaking love story for theages. However, Roz Russell is the true star of this movie with her lonely desperate school teacher role thatis so well done it makes you ache for her. She should have let them nominate her for the supporting actress oscar; she would have won it hands down. Holden does an amazing job although I agree he seems a bituncomfortable as the "older" leading actor. By today's standards 37 is still very young!

  • Picnic Is One Of The Best Of The 50's

    • Chris B.
    • 6/27/11

    Director Joshua Logan brought the William Inge play to the screen and he did it with style and great stars. The only negative thought I have ever had about this film is the fact that William Holden, then 37 years of age, plays a drifter who has a college friend in this part of Kansas who is played by Cliff Robertson, then 27 years of age. Holden looks good at any age but I'm not certain his age was right for the part. College is mentioned so often that the impression of the two male leads is that they should be closer in age to each other as well as not all that far away from graduation. Kim Novak, then 22 years old, plays a girl of 19 and is believable in her part. A terrific supporting cast is also there and boasts Rosalind Russell, Susan Strasberg, Nick Adams, Verna Felton and Arthur O'Connell. This is a film worthy of many awards and is also a movie that should never be missed when on.

  • Picnic...

    • mary meglemre
    • 6/26/11

    " For the life of me...i can not believe you left out Ros Russell... from the credits... on the Picnic movie page...and when Ben introduced the movie today...he also left her name out...and if i remember...she won an Oscar for supporting actress... in this role...Ros Russell has been a great star of stage and movies...and for TCM to not give her due credit...is hard to believe"thank you for your time...TCM member Mary C Meglemre

  • censorship/PICNIC O5-20-11

    • steve ellis
    • 5/21/11

    Such a wonderful movie, one of the best of all time, and then you cut out the best parts; Millie drinking and half of the dance scene, between Kim and Holden. This PC crap has got to stop. I thought you showed these movies in their original format! So disappointed.

  • Picnic 1955

    • Yvonne McCarty
    • 1/21/11

    One of my top ten favorites of the fifties... this movie helped to shape my adolescence and is an epic love story of the times. Should a girl marry for love or money? A movie that has it all! Love scenes hot and steamy for the times. Lust, deceit, betrayal, comedy, drama, choices and even evoked pity for some charaters. Cast of characters created magic on screen and was very true to life at the time. I watch it every time it is played and wish I could purchase an original widescreen version.

  • picnic

    • greg stanton
    • 9/1/10

    This movie is one of the best of what the fifties has to offer. Thank God it is not a musical.

  • There Is Something About This Movie...

    • Mr. M
    • 9/1/10

    That draws me to it each time it is shown. It had the look of a mid-50s Columbia "A" picture at a time when it was releasing pictures like Bridge On The River Kwai, Pal Joey, The Eddie Duchin Story.It's beautifully shot and the score is simply sensational...Picnic and It Had To Be Moonglow with Holden and Novak dancing can make a strong man swoon.It's not that Holden is a touch too old. It's that he's really too powerful compared to Cliff Robertson and as more maturely skilled actor, he projects older.Think of Sefton from Stalag 17 in touch with his inner feelings.Seriously, it's a terrific picture and I always enjoy seeing it.

  • Picnic

    • Jen
    • 5/17/10

    I liked this movie and just viewed it for the first time recently. However, I thought that William Holden was miscast. He seemed uncomfortable in the role and his acting forced.

  • Picnic

    • Peter
    • 5/9/10

    Picnic is my all-time favorite movie. I first saw Picnic in a theater in 1955 when I was in college. I sat through it twice. That summer I watched it again. I own the Video. I still enjoy it. I have memorized almost every line. What do I love about it? Everything! To appreciate it fully, one must view it in the context of the time and empathize with each of the characters. The acting, the music, the story are all superb. The ending leaves you wondering and wishing for a sequel.

  • Oh, and the DVD? No.

    • Howard Bevins
    • 12/19/09

    For some moronic reason, the "Columbia Classics" version of the DVD is pan & scan.I cannot recommend buying it. Only the opening is in the original wide screen, then *poof*, pan and scan, which completely ruins most of the shots in the movie.I was lucky enough to get a European copy of it, which IS in the original widescreen.Columbia... stop being stupid and release another version in wide-screen. (And give me my money back for robbing me with a P&S version.)

  • Was great then, still is now

    • Howard Bevins
    • 12/19/09

    Too many people watch this movie through the filter of today. Please. Think "1955", think of the morals, the attitudes of the time, *then* watch it. Perhaps you'll see it more clearly then.Brillant casting. Watch carefully... it's not just Madge and Hal, Howard and Rosemary. Everyone has a story in this. Mrs Potts (I love Verna!) is sad to be alone and saddled with her ailing mother. Flo is living vicariously through her daughter, projecting the hurt from her own failed marriage. Millie is smart, but secretly longs to be pretty like Madge. Alan only truly sees Madge as a trophy, the "prettiest girl in town", which Madge realizes isn't what she wants to be.There's so many angles here, so many little stories, so much left open for you to figure out. That's what makes it great.Add to this the soaring soundtrack by George Duning (his "Moonglow/Theme" track is fantastic), and man, you've got a timeless movie.Man or woman... if this movie doesn't touch you, make you think, and make you feel the longings, the heartbreaks, the desires of all the characters, well... then I feel sort of bad for you.BTW... I was lucky enough to visit some of the filming locations while traveling through Kansas. Most are still there. What a thrill to see them in person, especially the park where the picnic was set. (And the grain elevators? Still there, still gigantic.)TCM... you should show this FAR more often than you do now. How this hasn't been on "The Essentials" yet is beyond me. Let ME be a guest programmer... we'll watch it three times in a row! (laugh)

  • It is the town that I grew up in.

    • Jan
    • 9/22/09

    I grew up in the town that the film was filmed in. The visuals are still the same. The wealthy mill owners house was the house of a friend that i grew up with. The park was the scene of may picnics for families etc.

  • One of the Essentials

    • Ann
    • 6/1/09

    I can't celebrate summer without watching Picnic.I grew up in a small town and I absolutely love this movie. I had it on DVR and accidently erased it today. I guess I will have to buy the DVD because its not on for the next 3 months. I can't imagine not watching it a couple of times a month. Love it!!!

  • Heaving bosoms!

    • ty
    • 1/12/09

    This was one of the strangest movies I have ever seen in my life, therefore i enjoyed it very much. It must be a cult favorite. What melodrama, what overacting, what a strange set of circumstances in each of the character pairs! What I found most disturbingly attractive were the crowd scenes, and activity scenes at the picnic. Watching cultish rituals surrounding the group singing and the arms raised for Neewollah was absolutely hair-raising! How delightful!

  • Wonderful Anachronism

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 1/6/09

    I may be letting my heart write this review, because this movie was a big influence on my adolescence. Notwithstanding, This movie is dated by today's standards, but the love scene between William Holden and Kim Novak after the picnic remains (With Lancaster and Kerr's beach scence in From Here to Eternity) one of the sexiest scenes ever filmed. As to the question of Holden being "too old" for this role is like saying Orson Welles was too young to play Charles Foster Kane. Holden could do anything, and make it believable. He is one of the most underrated actors of our time. I watch this movie each time it is on TV.

  • Kim Novak is Magnificent

    • David Atkins
    • 7/30/08

    Harry Cohn of Columbia bought the rights to the smash Broadway play and assigned Josh Logan to direct. A good choice. Casting Bill Holden in the part that might have been played by Marlon Brando or Paul Newman was a box office bet for Holden the Golden Box Office Boy of Movies has a great string of hits in the 1950's. Roz Russell only in her mid 40's seems almost older than she is supposed to be, and is fine as Rosemary. Roz was offered to be nominated as Best Supporting Actress but the Star declined, and I regret that, she would have Won, but in her days, Roz was a Star and a Star she wished to remain. The find here is a great Kim Novak. Miss Novak born and raised in Chicago is pluperfect as Madge. The movie was filmed in Kansas and at Columbia in Hollywood, but the feel is pure Kansas.The scenes of Holden and Novak together -especially the fabled dance sequence- are great and the scene where Kim Novak is crowned Queen ...she is likely the most beautiful woman I have ever seen on screen. James Wong Howe has said Kim Novak was among the 5 greatest beauties of the silver screen, and I agree. A movie Star!

  • Excellent Movie!

    • Louis Guili
    • 7/17/08

    PICNIC is one of my all-time favorites. The acting is terrific and the cinematography is wonderful. Kim Novak is lovely in this film and she is definitely not 'fat'. The fuller, curvier look was in fashion back then.

  • The dance is highlight of movie

    • Judith
    • 7/16/08

    This movie really has not aged very well. A lot of it was shot on a soundstage, Holden comes off as way too old and Novak is kinda fat and has a deer in headlights look in her eyes most of the time. However, their dance at the picnic is a really beautiful thing and I have rented it before just to watch that part.

  • One Hot Picnic!

    • Jeannie
    • 7/15/08

    This movie is one of the greats. Especially noteworthy is Rosalind Russell's performance as a too frantic, too desperate spinster. While still sexy, Bill Holden was a little too old for the role but it seemed to work for him...he seemed uneasy in the role which was just the right edge for the character. Great Movie!

  • A Dead Town Turns Lively

    • Jeannette Bennett
    • 5/23/08

    I enjoyed this movie alot from the first time I've seen it when I was very young with my sister whose eyes were glued to our black and white TV. The whole cast was excellent in each part and unforgettable especially William Holden and Kim Novak dancing so smooth and sexy I can still hear the music in my ears. The struggles of a small town and how William Holden who wasn't secure in his life made the town lively. I felt a little sorry for the teacher who wanted so desparetly to be married she settled for anyone. Excellent worth while seeing movie and I have requested this movie for a long time I can appreciate TCM for showing it.

  • ONE PICNIC YOU WILL REALLY ENJOY

    • SYLVIA
    • 2/18/06

    PICNIC IS A REALLY GREAT MOVIE . IT HAS ALOT O F DRAMA AND EMOTIONS THAT ARE WELL COVERED. THE CHARACTERS ARE WELL WRTTEN AND WELL ACTED . THE DANCE SCENE BETWEEN WILLIAM HOLDEN AND KIM NOVAK IS VERY SENSUAL . I RECOMMEND THIS MOVIE .

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.