skip navigation
Phffft

Phffft(1954)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Judy Holiday/Jack Lemmon/Kim Novak

    • Adventure
    • 3/14/12

    Judy Holiday peerless actress shines in this film and is supported by two Columbia stars Jack Lemmon who is as always superb and Kim Novak who ascended to being a great International Movie Star. All 3 stars do well but the suprise is Kim Novak who is simply wonderful in this movie.

  • Phffft! (1954)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/15/10

    Any film with Jack Lemmon and Judy Holliday can't be all bad. The film is a bout a couple, played by Lemmon and Holliday, who divorce after eight years of marriage, but really still love each other. An uneven mix of comedy and drama, it lacks focus and direction. But, the stars make it worth watching. Kim Novak's first film. Good support from Jack Carson

  • Great movie..

    • jude
    • 12/31/09

    I enjoyed this movie, as I do most old movies, and thought Lemmon and Holiday were wonderful. I was also struck by Kim Novak. Understated acting, and what an extraordinarily Gorgeous woman! Wow.

  • Mankiewicz's comments inappropriate

    • Anne
    • 12/27/09

    After enjoying Tender Trap, then Phiffft on a nice Sunday afternoon, Ben Mankiewicz offered comments about the title for the movie Phffft. He said that after a 3 hour management meeting, one of the movie executives came out and explained to star Jack Lemmon that they had spent the 3 hours discussing the 3 f's in the movie's title. Mankiewicz's comment was that the 3 hour meeting was "f'd up". What an inappropriate comment on the TCM channel. Mr. Mankiewicz obviously does not understand the TCM audience; I choose to enjoy the movies and Robert Osbourne. Mr. Mankiewicz should watch Mr. Osbourne more often and take heed.

  • A Good One!!!

    • Punx
    • 12/27/09

    I loved it. The cast was great.

  • RE: is kim novak trying to imitate Marilyn Monroe?

    • Terry Suarez
    • 3/30/09

    To answer:evelyn browning Date: 01/07/2009 is kim novak trying to imitate Marilyn Monroe? I think that Kim Novak is trying to imitate Marilyn Monroe in this movie. Does anyone know if this role was intended for Marilyn? Kim N. is a great actress, but it seems in this movie, the director has asked her to be Marilyn. ------------------according to wikipedia of Kim Novak:Novak was born Marilyn Pauline Novak. The 21-year-old Marilyn Novak struck a pose on a stairway for the RKO 3-D motion picture The French Line (1954) starring Jane Russell and Gilbert Roland. Novak received no screen credit. Eventually, she was seen by a Columbia Pictures talent agent and filmed a screen test. Studio chief Harry Cohn was searching for another beauty to replace the rebellious and difficult Rita Hayworth. Novak was signed to a six-month contract. Paramount had arrangements to have budding actresses reside at a "lady's residence", similar to a sorority, where they were under supervision of their personal life.Columbia decided to make the blonde, buxom actress its version of Marilyn Monroe. Immediately, there was the issue of what to do about her name. Neither Novak nor Columbia wanted to be seen as cashing in on Marilyn Monroe's enormous popularity, so Novak's real first name had to go. She resisted changing it to Kit Marlowe. She and the studio finally settled on the stage name Kim Novak. Cohn told her to lose weight, and he won the battle to make her wear brassieres. She took acting lessons, which she had to pay for herself.SO THE ANSWER TO YOUR QUESTION IS YES!

  • Phffft!

    • Katie Linnenbrink
    • 1/28/09

    Wow! What a surprise. I had the television on and this movie came on while I was working. Needless to say, I had an awesome time watching this movie. It was great! I want to see it again. Thank you TCM for playing so many good films.

  • is kim novak trying to imitate Marilyn Monroe?

    • evelyn browning
    • 1/7/09

    I think that Kim Novak is trying to imitate Marilyn Monroe in this movie. Does anyone know if this role was intended for Marilyn? Kim N. is a great actress, but it seems in this movie, the director has asked her to be Marilyn.

  • PHFFFT is a lot of FFFUN!

    • Gale of Sacramento
    • 8/13/08

    What a great cast! I love the "dueling" between Lemmon and Holliday, and Jack Carson and Kim Novak provide terrific comic enhancement. It is a fun movie to watch with your spouse.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.