skip navigation
The Phantom of the Opera

The Phantom of the Opera(1925)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Phantom of... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

    • WILL
    • 9/22/14

    Years ago, when I was first married, I worked for Malabar Costumes in the Mens costume dept. My boss was a Master Costumer, by at least a third generation, from Holland and a member of an elite group of artists. On occasions these ladies and gentlemen would gather for special meetings and would come from all over the world to exchange ideas and views on theatre arts, costumes, plays, music, makeup technics. One thing that never changed was the opinion that Lon Chaneys. Phantom Of The Opera, was hands down, the greatest single makeup master piece in the history of stage or film. It was a true work of art.

  • Lon Chaney at his best

    • Dan Grissom
    • 8/11/12

    Lon Chaney Sr. was much more than just a 'horror film' actor. For some reason that's how he's remembered today. He actually made very few true horror films. 'The Phantom of the Opera' is probably the most remembered role he played and for good reason; just watch Chaney even with a mask covering his face and he out acts everyone else in the film. This is probably the most famous silent film ever made and it deserves it. Sure, it's flawed but if you get a chance watch it if for nothing else a great performance from the great Lon Chaney Sr.!

  • NOT ONE OF LON'S FAVORITES.....

    • Michael Steven
    • 5/13/12

    The cast & crew were not Lon Chaney's problem,it was Director Rupert Julian.Yeah,Mary Philbin & Norman Kerry are NOT going to win any acting accolades anytime soon(I KNOW,THEY'RE BOTH GONE).In the book,Erik is born deformed & hideous,NOT the result of acid,or injury.He's a VERY intellegent young man,as well as a lover of music.There were a LOT of elements,that went into this film.Romance,mystery,death,horror,pity & even some comedy.As for why Lon & Julian didn't get along,some say that Julian had an attitude.Make a long story short,things got SO bad that supposedly one day the two of them had it out,in front of everybody.Can you imagine Lon with his Phantom make-up on,having a punch up with Rupert Julian? The production went before the camera's in Oct.1924.When it was completed,it went through 2 disasterous premiers(ONE IN L.A.,THE OTHER IN SAN FRANCISCO).The film went through numerous editings,reshoots(WHILE LON WAS AT MGM,HE GOT CALLED BACK TO UNIVERSAL FOR RESHOOTS),& NO,he wasn't a happy camper.Universal even released a "TALKING VERSION"of this film. Sounds like I hate this film.I DON'T.When you get a thumbnail sketch of what happened during production,you'd wonder if this would even be released.IT WAS.Some people liked it,some couldn't stand it.SCARED THE HELL OUT OF EM.TODAY,this film is considered Lon Chaney's best known film.In reality,he had nothing but problems with this production.

  • The Phantom of the Opera

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 4/29/12

    Along with "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari," this is the other iconic silent horror film. Philbin & Kerry give dull work when compared to Chaney in what is his best remembered performance. The massive sets & lavish costumes are amazing, and who can forget Chaney's Red Death costume. A still- impressive horror film from the Chaney library. I give it a 4/5.

  • The Phantom of the Opera

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    **1/2

  • The Greatest Silent Horror Film of them All.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 10/7/10

    This is one of Lon Chaney's finest hours as he stars in the original 1925 silent film version of Gaston Leroux's classic novel. Chaney plays Erik, a tortured masked composer, who lives in the catacombs under the Paris Opera House, and Mary Philbin (no relation to Regis, thank heavens) is Christine Daae, a beautiful aspiring opera singer, of whom, he kidnaps and forces her to become his protege or he will destroy the Opera House. Chaney's make-up artistry remains superb, even by today's standards. However, he had to endure a lot of physical discomfort all during production. The unmasking scene still packs quite a jolt, even after four generations. The Bal Masque is brilliantly filmed in two-reel Technicolor Remade six times, and later made into a successful Broadway musical. With Norman Kerry, Snitz Edwards, Virginia Pearson, Gibson Gowland, Arthur Edmund Carewe, John Sainpolis, Edith Yorke, Bernard Siegel, Olive Ann Alcorn & Ward Crane.

  • The Phantom of the Opera (1925)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/3/09

    By far the best version of the famous story. Haunting, eerie and frightening. The overall effect is tremendous. Lon Chaney gives an amazing performance. The color sequences are so amazing. A very historical film that influenced many films to follow.

  • I THINK IM IN LOVE!

    • Max
    • 3/17/09

    One of my new favorites! I first saw the 2004 version, THAT WAS AWFUL! I hated anything to do with The Phantom of the Opera. Then i saw Nosferatu and silent films werent all too bad, then i saw this one! AMAZING! Those actors are great, you couldnt ask for a better cast! Mary Philbin (Christine) is my new celebrity crush. Her and Lon Chaney and superb in this movie! I'd reccomend this more then any other Phantom re-makes.

  • One of the alltime greatest

    • Roger S
    • 3/7/09

    I first saw this movie when a teenager was getting movies from the library on 16mm film for free. He charged a quarter and played it in his backyard on a screen during the summer of 1963. What an entrepreneur! I was blown away by it at the age of 13. I have been a silent movie fan ever since. Lon Chaney is still my favorite male silent star.

  • My First Silent Film

    • Polly
    • 11/21/08

    I saw a clip of this movie on Brovo, on The Scareist Movie Moments. I knew it was silent, but I still wanted to see it. I rented it and fell in love! That was when I was 15, now i am 17 and still love it as much as I did. This should always be a classic. Even if it is silent.

  • Phantom proves to be a classic!

    • Brendan
    • 1/22/06

    there arent many movies that can still make your spine tingle on so many occasions like this famous version of Gaston Leroux's novel, "The Phantom Of The Opera."This novel has been made into many versions, most of them not as successful. However, it has become a hit New York and London as a successful stage production.But, this version started it all. and to this day still proves to be a classic.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.