skip navigation
Pennies From Heaven

Pennies From Heaven(1981)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Pennies From... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

    • 11/24/14

  • GETS BETTER EVERY TIME I WATCH

    • william gauslow
    • 1/30/14

    The dance scene at the diner in the rain. Walken's solo. Steve Martins and Bernadettes performances. Along with several Buzby specials. This movie might have been released later in more sophisticated time.

  • Disappointed!

    • Alice
    • 1/30/14

    Why in the world was it so necessary to deface and totally ruin a potentially great film with cursing and constantly taking the Lord's name in vain? You never see that kind of trash talk in any of the films set during the depression. So even doing it for the sake of "reality" is not an excuse. You lose me as a viewer with any and every one of that type of film. Please, TCM, don't make this a habit. It will be a mistake.

  • Magnifique!

    • Kai
    • 1/29/14

    I love this movie. Bernadette Peters is so charming, dancing, teasing and a bad girl ('You're not a tease? are you? Because I'll cut your face...' Walken says to her). Walken is his fantastic self and always one of the best actors out there. Martin took dancing lessons for months to pull his act off, and he does excellent here! A great film. The shot of the two of them in the soda shop is from a famous painting by Edward Hopper...

  • Pennies from Heaven

    • roykat
    • 12/26/13

    The film is really touching but Christopher Walken's bar-top dance is what I look forward to the most.

  • One of the best!

    • Nnancy
    • 5/15/13

    This is such an under-rated movie. Pauline Kael was one of the few critics who appreciated its creativity and weirdness. I hope it's the full version, and not the one that is available on VCR (and maybe DVD). What they cut out of the full movie was a great tango by Christopher Walken and Bernadette Peters, in the same scene with his fabulous tap dance on the bar. There may be other snips as well, but this is the one that really bugged me.

  • Brilliant!

    • Spaghetti
    • 1/26/13

    This is one of my all-time favorite movies, I'm so glad to see it on the schedule so I can record it. I've always thought of Pennies as a musical noir, if that makes any sense. The cinematography is so evocative of depression period movies, as is the stylized acting and production numbers. Real life is depressing as hell sometimes, as is poor Arthur's "real" life. But his fantasy life is so alive and amazing! I can't wait to see this gem again.

  • Pennies from heaven

    • Frankiefrank
    • 7/22/10

    Definitely worth seeing for one of Steve Martin's best performances and especially for Christopher Walken's completely unexpected and hysterical tap-dance routine.A great musical drama.

  • Risky, Original, Recommended

    • Barry Phillips
    • 3/10/06

    A personal favorite, highly recommended, disturbingly adult dramatic musical. Using an extremely risky concept of lip-syncing to vintage recording to fit/expound on the inner mood of the characters/situations this film does not always succeed. But the times when the attention to detail, color hue, sincerity of the acting, and precision of the dancing (especially Walken!) do work are frequent, and fill one with a kind of dizzy jubilation. See this.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.