skip navigation
Paris When It Sizzles

Paris When It Sizzles(1964)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Paris When It... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • bought the video for 50 cents

    • tom
    • 6/6/13

    this is a 50-year-old movie and all its actors must long since be dead. you can't say it's a pleasure seeing them here, while they were still alive, because they weren't. the movie is dead on its feet, but it's easy to see how it COULD have been really quite funny, and maybe the French original was, or they wouldn't have attempted to make a copy of it. but they just didn't have what it took. was it only that they lacked cary grant? did they need a billy wilder? were they hypnotised by the name noel coward? did they think hepburn had sex appeal? well. SOME LIKE IT HOT, and some just never even get warm

  • ...when it fizzles

    • Carolyn
    • 6/19/11

    What a stinker. Neither the screenwriter plot nor the film-within-a-film features remotely believable or interesting characters. The only good jokes come in the first 20 minutes, and after that it's a tedious exercise.

  • Very enjoyable romantic comedy

    • Pat Turman
    • 4/18/11

    Did anybody else feel that this movie was very similar to "Adaptation" starring Nicholas Cage? Both have to do with a writer struggling to write a screenplay. And in both, the story they are writing morphs into the movie we are watching. They're so similar, I wonder if Charlie Kauffman got the idea for "Adaptation" from this. Movie buffs

  • Astaire, Holden, Hepburn, Quine

    • David Atkins
    • 2/27/11

    Paramount a great studio assigns Richard Quine -the once great love of Kim Novak's life, and a fine Director who knows his way around great Stars,-and casts the divine Audrey Hepburn, and to me the movies perfect leading man Bill Holden (who once had an affair with Audrey thus some sexual tension should be obvious but isn't!) Add the elegant Fred Astaire, set the movie in Paris, the city of Light and one of the most beautiful cities on the planet for a dash of atmosphere, and then for extra help add Tony Curtis and Mel Ferrer (Audrey's then husband) and Frank Sinatra in cameos. What happens? Little. Oh what this movie could have been!

  • DESPERATE FOR COPY ON DVD OF THIS MOVIE

    • josephine markovich
    • 1/24/10

    I am redecorating and oved the sets of theis movie as well as the movieitself. I am desperate to my hands on a DVD so I can study the decor at length. Many thanks...Cheers...Josephine!!

  • Did not like it, silly & awful

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 1/9/10

    This was truly a waste of talent and money. The sets were more interesting than the story. If only this kind of money had been put to better use, then a real classic might've been made. Holden is getting past his prime, almost too old to play a romantic leading type, and he should've done what men from his era like Joel McCrea, James Stewart and Randolph Scott were doing: make westerns where you can look leathered and tired. Tony Curtis looks better physically in this film and should've been the lead. Audrey is a star more than an actress. She's charming here, as always, but she is so busy flitting her way through a meandering story that one can't help but count the minutes till the movie is actually over. I am giving this a 'one' for importance in Cinema history and a 'one' for screenplay. It was not important or clever at all...it was a waste of time.

  • A Movie-Lover's Guilty Pleasure

    • John Wilson/ RAZZIES
    • 8/25/08

    This was the movie that made me fall in love with the movies -- and movie-making -- as a child. Sly, romantic, silly and extremely entertaining, it focuses on a boozy screenwriter and his breezy typist/collaborator who concot an entire past deadline screenplay over Bastille Day weekend in Paris. As they write, Holden and Hepburn are repeatedly seen acting out the movie cliche's their script overly relies on. To find out if they do or don't fall in love by the end, you'll have to see it. If you're a movie lover too, you'll be glad you did!

  • A Comedy that Ranks Above All

    • Paul Conrad Jackson
    • 7/9/08

    Paris When It Sizzles is the most inventive comedy I have ever seen. It makes After the Fox (Victor Mature), my past 'most inventive comedy' look like an amatur production! This movie simply can't be topped. Neither can William Holden in his best role after. I'm a veteran Classic Movie fan, and detest most movies made today, and I give this movie ten stars out of ten! A classic in every way.

  • Might as well...

    • steve
    • 7/7/08

    I found "Paris When It Sizzles" to be highly irritating, sort of like listening to some smart-alec laugh at his own jokes. But when the stinker in question happens to star Audrey Hepburn and Bill Holden, any real movie fan needs to see it once, so check it out.

  • Paris when it sizzles!

    • Annette simon
    • 4/2/08

    I found this to be a cute movie even though I did not get to see it from the beginning, love the part where Audrey's charactor ( who is an excellant story teller) has the girl chased by the male into a cave and he turnes into a vampire, not sure if anyone caught the bottle vodka on the lab table. When is this movie being shown again?

  • so Good!

    • Will+Audrey Forever
    • 9/7/07

    Oh my gosh this may not be Gone With the wind but it is very good!

  • Paris when it sizzles

    • Sideny
    • 9/1/07

    Oh my god paul! that is a really charming movie. Ok it is a little cheap and the scenery is too, but if you get past that and focus on the immense star power and how remarkably romantic and cute it is then you would come to love it!

  • What a terrible movie

    • Paul
    • 8/4/07

    This movie is painful to watch. Basically, a writer with writer's block wrote a movie about a writer with writer's block. What a waste of two of my favourite actors.

  • Love this...

    • Lori
    • 3/30/07

    Hadn't seen this in a while, and had almost forgot how charming. But how could it not be with Audrey & William Holden??

  • Holden is Hot!

    • Andrea
    • 3/12/07

    A sensational movie! Why doesn't Hollywood make movies like this anymore? Best movie I've seen in a while! Thanks TCM for showing these true classics!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.