skip navigation
The Palm Beach Story

The Palm Beach Story(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Palm Beach Story To finance her husband's... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $29.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Wasn't funny to me

    • Lillie Knight
    • 3/19/14

    Having discovered my husband was leading a double life and giving most of the money he was making to prostitutes, this movie was very disturbing as encouraging adultery and prostitution especially when the old man in the beginning found Claudette Colbert hiding in the tub and gave her $700 and said "don't worry about the money; you make me feel young again."There were some serious lines in the movie about love, marriage and feelings that should have been played straight in a non comedic movie.

  • Not so funny to me.

    • Lillie Knight
    • 3/19/14

    I discovered my husband was leading a double life giving prostitutes extreme gifts like a car, etc. so when the older man in this movie said "Don't worry about the money, you make me feel young again!" it was like a punch in the gut.I am sure plenty of other women in the 1942 audience as well as present day found this movie deeply disturbing with its overtones that adultery and prostitution are okay to get money to get along.I didn't find that story line funny at all. In fact there are some parts of the dialogue that are very poignant and somewhat painful that are just tossed off in this movie and I think they deserved more gravity.I was surprised that she *spoiler alert* finally got back with her husband. The triple wedding with her twin sister subbing for her for the rich guy was almost sick. I don't see anything funny about it. Why bother to get married at all would seem to be the theme of this movie.Had this been a serious movie and not a very bad attempt at very poor humor, this would have been rather spectacular because the serious lines in this movie were very educational. McCrae gave off several very good serious lines about the gravity of marriage and even at the end said I love you and I always will love you which are not joke material at all. I would like to see it again just to hear the serious knowledgable exchanges.

  • The Palm Beach Story Is An Absolute Delight

    • Kuklapolitan
    • 3/19/14

    In every way, The Palm Beach Story is another masterwork by Preston Sturges. Screwball Comedy was his forte as well as his passion and the audience reaped all the rewards. It is a shining example of the blending of crazy characters brought together by fate and circumstance to offer up a tale of unbelievable fun. That the story borders on the insane is our luck and no one ever did it better than Preston Sturges. The cast which includes Claudette Colbert, Joel McCrae, Mary Astor and Rudy Vallee is nothing short of stellar and even the secondary supporting cast was given the weight they needed to become a memorable and integral part of the story. Sig Arno as Toto is an absolute hoot and holler while Robert Dudley as the stone deaf but exceedingly generous Wienie King is a treasure. William Demarest gives us his usual comedic interpretation as the prickly First Member of The Ale & Quail Club and Franklin Pangborn is at his double-take best as the cheery manager of the hotel! Several Hollywood staples in the cast, such as Frank Faylen, are uncredited in their roles so watch for them.

  • Hilarious Classic

    • Alexei
    • 12/13/13

    This is a real classic. It is funny, romantic and quirky.I've seen this movie many times and often fast-forward the train scene with the drunken shooting.But the rest is a gem, especially the lead performances.Mary Astor and Rudy Vallee are excellent too.

  • Oldy Goodies

    • JoAnn Squire
    • 11/8/13

    TCM are definitely 5 star rated movies. These movies were truly acted out by talented and gifted movie stars. You felt like, what ever happened in the movie, it was real! It was piercing at your heart! I love all TCM movies!!!

  • Drunks With Guns

    • noodles
    • 9/25/13

    WARNING: Guns and Alcohol should never be mixed! If you're going to "play" with your firearms, DON'T DRINK! If you're going to drink, keep the guns safely put away. The Ale and Quail Club is a disgrace and an insult to hunters everywhere. What if I started The Beer and Deer Club? Anyways, it's a great screw-ball comedy.

  • Great Sturges

    • Theweineyking
    • 7/21/13

    Love this film,esp too little onscreen time for "The Wienie King" who blows 'em all away.Joel is a great fit for Preston Sturges films.And Bill Demerest is always a hoot!

  • An observation!

    • Paul
    • 7/18/13

    After enjoying this movie I read the credits and noticed the roles of the Bartender and the Porter were listed as "Colored Bartender" and "Colored Porter". Things were so different back in the early days of the silver screen.

  • Palm Beach Story

    • JennyFur619
    • 4/27/13

    Sigh. Another one of those cliche flicks where the woman is useless and selfishly self-sacrificing and the man is too macho to accept any favors from anyone. Still .... I found myself laughing a lot! The great acting more than made up for the film's silly premise (and what's with that ca-razy opening credits scene??) The worst part of the movie is the needless and horrendous "Ale & Quail Club" scene on the train. Shooting at the bartender ......really?? The scene should have been left on the cutting room floor then tossed into a blast furnace for good measure.

  • Love and The Sausage King

    • Joel
    • 9/13/12

    Great film,love the sausage magnate.

  • The Palm Beach Story

    • Linda
    • 9/4/12

    The first time I watched this movie I laughed. And I laughed again this time. Highly recommend.

  • The Palm Beach Story

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/1/12

    A fine follow-up film from Sturges after "Sullivan's Travels." McCrea & Colbert are overshadowed by Sturges best cavalcade of characters, particularly Vallee in his greatest performance. The gullibility of each of the characters is what drives the story, thus creating excellent humour. A definite must-see for comedy lovers. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Not a bad little film

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/11/11

    While you don't agree with the money-driven motivations of Ms. Colbert's character, Gerry, thanks to Claudette, she still remains likeable and very funny. The chemistry between her and Joel McCrea makes for a couple of fairly sexy scenes. Mary Astor is very good in her role as the rich idler who marries for fun, but it is Rudy Vallee who steals the show with his hilarious performance as the wealthy but emotionally rigid J.D. Hackensacker III.

  • Formidavel

    • Sonia
    • 11/1/10

    Um filme classico muito bom. O elenco est afinado e o filme timo e gostoso de se ver

  • Romantic Triangles for Dummies.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/12/10

    Preston Sturges, the Oscar-winning writer of "The Great McGinty", "Sullivan's Travels" and "The Lady Eve" presents Claudette Colbert and Joel McCrea in one of the most elaborate screwball comedies of the '40s with Claudette as Geraldine, the frustrated wife of a struggling engineer (McCrea), who heads down to Florida, where she meets Rudy Vallee as a multi-millionaire, who is relentless in his attempt to romance her, and Mary Astor as his man-crazy sister is after him! This one is overflowing with Sturges-type madness--from the mystifying title sequence to the arrival of the Ale & Quail Club (not to mention the Weiner King!) almost to the point of idiotic insanity. Not exactly, my cup of tea. With William Demarest, Franklin Pangborn, Sig Arno, Robert Dudley, Chester Conklin, Robert Warwick, Jack Norton, Jimmy Conlin, Roscoe Ates & Frank Faylen.

  • One of the Best Comedies of the 40's

    • RBS
    • 7/31/09

    This is a great comedy with wonderful trimmings: fun title sequence, great supporting cast, magnificent Lubitsch-esque Paramount sets, and much more. I still can't figure out the beginning sequence as to why Colbert's sister is locked in the closet.

  • Beyond Screwball

    • Patricia
    • 1/6/09

    For those who enjoy screwball comedy at high speed, "The Palm Beach Story" can't be topped. This is Preston Sturges at his fastest, snappiest and zaniest. I love the way the seemingly superfluous sequence at the beginning of the film is woven back into the plot at the end. Joel McCrae and Claudette Colbert are in peak form and have wonderful chemistry together. Mary Astor has a terrific secondary role, and the rest of the cast is great as well. I happened to see "The Palm Beach Story" and Hitchcock's "Foreign Correspondent" within a short space of time, each for the first time. I was so impressed by Joel McCrae, who starred in both. An underrated star, I think. "The Palm Beach Story" is hilarious, it's sophisticated and simply joy to experience.

  • Sexual Attraction Among Bluebloods

    • Ann Brown
    • 2/26/07

    Watch Joel McCrea demonstrate his ability to make women go weak at the knees as he tries to win back his high maintenance wife (Claudette Colbert at her classiest, sexiest best). The characters breeze their way through the film firing snappy reparte at each other, which is smoldering with sexual innuendo. Rudy Vallee and Mary Astor are great as the second bananas, and the rest of the cast is tremendous. Don't miss Charles R. Moore's hilarious explanation of JD Hackensacker's tipping generosity. Romantic comedies just aren't this subtle and witty anymore.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.