skip navigation
Pal Joey

Pal Joey(1957)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Pal Joey - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Klasy

    • Chester Nimitz
    • 12/18/13

    This is a stylish movie that captures the 'flavour' of the 1950s but still shows well 60 years later. Sinatra, who is at the peak of his vocal skills, delivers a string of famed Rogers and Hart songs as no one could, or ever will. Kim Novak's presence illuminates the screen as few stars can. Has there ever been a great beauty? Rita Hayworth only adds to the patina of the film. Talk about star power. It's a beautiful story that will be watched with joy for another 100 years.

  • Pal Joey

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/9/12

    An underrated & entertaining musical. Sinatra won a Golden Globe for his performance as a renowned ladies man who woos Novak & Hayworth, the latter in her final musical. Oscar-nominated art direction & costumes overpower the flawed & sometimes dull story. A finely-made musical that introduces many of Sinatra's signature songs. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • A Delightfully Strong Entertaining Musical.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/5/10

    Frank Sinatra is in peak form as he co-stars opposite Rita Hayworth and Kim Novak in George Sidney's musical extravaganza based on John O'Hara's play adapted from his short stories produced on Broadway by George Abbott. Ol' Blue Eyes plays Joey Evans, a womanizing nightclub singer, who finances his own nightclub through the "sponsorship" of a wealthy widow (Hayworth) until he casts a beautiful nightclub dancer (Novak) to perform in his opening act. Although Sinatra plays the leading role, the movie's top billing went to Rita Hayworth. Featuring a series of Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart's songs including "Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered", "The Lady is a Tramp", "My Funny Valentine", "I Didn't Know What Time It Was", "Zip", "There's a Small Hotel", "That Terrific Rainbow", "I Could Write a Book" and "Great Big Town". One of Ol' Blue Eyes greatest achievements. Both Rita Hayworth and Kim Novak are stunningly beautiful. Look fast for a young Robert Reed. Filmed on location in San Francisco and Berkeley, California. With Hank Henry, Barbara Nichols, Bobby Sherwood, Elizabeth Patterson, John Hubbard, Ellie Kent, Frank Wilcox, James Seay, Bek Nelson & Pierre Watkin.

  • Pal Joey (1957)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/9/09

    I am not a big Frank Sinatra fan, but he is very good in this movie. The rest of the cast is terrific as well. Rita Hayworth and Kim Novak especially. Beautiful costumes, outstanding music. A solid classic musical. Excellent production, first rate all the way.

  • Hayworth, Novak & Sinatra Scorcher

    • SadieR
    • 7/10/09

    This film was supposed to have been Rita Hayworth's farewell to filmmaking. It's a real stunner. Sinatra's in his prime and never better in a role or in singing voice. Kim Novak is sizzling hot dancing, singing and acting in her gorgeous form. Then add a middle-age Rita Hayworth to the mix, to whom Sinatra sings "The Lady is Tramp" ever so flirtatiously, charming the boa off of Hayworth and we've got an A-1 classic. Hayworth does one last dance, being conned into it by Joey (Sinatra), during a socialite auction. He auction's her dance off to the crowd naming her as a former stripper! The plot it super entertaining, dramatic, partly musical, well danced, and the acting is rare. 10+.

  • Choice Hawyworth, Novak and Sintra Film

    • 15michelangelo64
    • 6/19/09

    When it comes to classics it would be easy to always write 'this is one of my favorite films'. "Pal Joey" just is. Some films have nearly perfect moments in them that I'll never forget for the rest of my life. That moment in this film is when Sinatra sings to Hayworth, "That's why the Lady is Tramp." Sinatra is at the top of his famous form. Hayworth's acting, especially her facial expresssions as they change while he's singing to her are ever so slight and telling. He's charming and so is she. What a great film.

  • "Play It Again," TCM...

    • Brossard
    • 6/10/09

    Is it Rita Hayworth's charisma or Frank Sinatra's, her dancing or his singing, or their deliciously sexy alchemy? I can't find fitting words. What I know is I want to watch "Pal Joey" & hear Rita say to Frank in her deepest tone of voice, "Come now beauty," after he charms the boa off of her singing,"That's Why the lady is a Tramp." There are some rare moments on film that are so choice that no one could ever even come close to doing them just so again."Pal Joey," is for some unknown reason a most severely under-rated film fantastic.The music score's to die for. Kim Novak is an extra added attraction. Maybe the public wanted Rita and Frank to wind up together. This was supposed to have been Hayworth's swan song. But, she returned filmmaking, albeit with undiagnosed early onset Alzheimers. One of my favorite films of the late 50's.

  • Pal Joey Classic: Top Ten on My list

    • PearyHusky
    • 5/30/09

    Rita Hayworth announced this would be her final film. She wanted to focus on her home life. Frank Sinatra, who called her, "Miss Rita," with provocative innuendoes, made sure Hayworth received top billing even though Sinatra's Joey, the title character and lead. Hayworth plays a middle-age woman of wealth who was a 'dancer'. During a benefit, when Sinatra's a hired hand, acting as MC during the last part of the charity auction, he puts Hayworth's character up for auction to dance just like she'd done in her past. Joey's deliberately humiliated the grand dame of the charity benefit. The crowd bids sky high to see her dance and she does (gratefully!). She shows up at the bar where he sings. There, Sinatra immortalizes "The Lady is a Tramp," singing it to her. Fabulous scipt, score cast & acting. CLASSIC!

  • Amazing soundtrack and great film as well!

    • Valerie Curtis MD
    • 6/11/08

    This film grows on me more each time I watch it since not only are there wonderful performances by Frank, Rita, and Kim and they all look fabulous, the story is sweet and fun as well, but top it all off with a tremendous soundtrack. I've always loved Frank Sinatra but I hadn't heard any of these songs before since this era was before my time, but when I heard him sing "The Lady Is A Tramp" I was mesmerized; what a great performance and a wonderful song, and all the other songs are fantastic, including Rita's "Zip", "My Funny Valentine" (which I had heard before", "Bewitched...", "I Didn't Know What Time it Was" and so on. I'd never heard of Rogers and Hart but have enormous respect for their talents and the performances were great also..these are truly beautiful great songs. I generally dislike musicals but I can't get enough of this one..I even bought the CD and lots of other Frank CDs as a result! Valerie

  • Frank Sinatra is always great

    • ennui
    • 6/4/07

    I don't think I've seen a Frank Sinatra performance I didn't enjoy. I like Rita Hayworth in this film, too. It's worth seeing if only for the songs.

  • Great film!

    • Kelly
    • 4/29/07

    I love this film! I don't think you could do much better than Frank Sinatra, Kim Novak, and Rita Hayworth. I don't even like a lot of musicals, but I really love this one! It has some great songs and its a really cute film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.