skip navigation
Paint Your Wagon

Paint Your Wagon(1969)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Paint Your Wagon - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Paint Your Wagon

    • Jackie
    • 5/31/14

    Excellent movie... why can't they show it on TV ?? rating 5 out of 5

  • Never too much Clint

    • Brett Maverick
    • 7/8/13

    The 1st time I saw this was in 1980- in college- & I remember thinking, "WOW... One of my favorite actors can sing pretty good too." We had friends stop over & before you know it, there was an impromptu PYW watch- party going on. Unfortunately, the only copy I've been able to retain of it is an old VHS tape I made back in the 90's. Can you say "pixelated"?... And it may not be an "essential" (although Jean Seberg makes "Elizabeth" quite an addition), but I'd be curious to hear what Drew's take on it might be- as she & Robert are introducing it... SOON, of course. hint- hint

  • Paint Your Wagon - RECOMEND

    • Sandy C
    • 9/16/12

    This movie is a great lesson on the California gold rush! It shows how a random gold discovery by wagon train members create a community, deal with life "nowhere, " and evolves to a boom town. Yes, it is a comedy and musical, but these elements compliment the message that is being given. And Clint surprisingly has/had a singing voice. Even the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band plays in No Name City.

  • Paint Your Wagon

    • cindy morris
    • 10/15/10

    Lovely--a good overall family movie. And, you get to hear Lee Marvin and Clint Eastwood sing!! Great subtle comedy.

  • Paint Your Wagon

    • LoriLee
    • 6/5/10

    Not the best of all the musicals, but still a personal favorite. I remember seeing it with my parents while we were on vacation someplace and thinking, wow this is too long. Still love it today. What a thrill to hear Clint Eastwood sing, this was my first Clint Eastwood movie...fell in love then and there.

  • Musical Sleeper

    • Roger
    • 6/4/10

    One of my favorite movies, even though panned by critics. Lee Marvin's character is almost as good as his character in "Cat Ballou", and he holds the thing together from start to finish, along with the labyrinth mining under the town and the catastrophic ending. A real smorgasbord of characters and situations helps carry the film through a few slow spots (usually musical). "No Name City", "Gold Fever", "Wandering Star" (Lee Marvin won a Grammy for it) and "Maria" are great tunes, helping carry some of the other weaker ones.

  • Enjoyable Musical Western

    • Jenny
    • 2/18/07

    I'm not typically a fan of Clint Eastwood or of westerns but I loved this movie. It was a little over the top but certainly appropriate for the era in which it was filmed. I thought the score was phenominal (par for the course for anything by Lerner and Loewe) and found Lee Marvin's rendition of Wand'rin Star to be fantastic. I would recommend this.

  • unjustly scorned

    • michael york
    • 1/14/07

    i dont know if it is a "guilty" pleasure or just a pleasure but of all the films that have been scorned and derided this is one of my favorites give it a chance and you will be pleasantly surprised

  • How The West Was Lost

    • E Fisch
    • 1/9/07

    Alternate title is "How The West Was Lost." Awful when it came out, and no better since. Take three people who can't sing, put them in a musical and use their voices. At least they cut most of the score. Interminable.

  • Great Movie --- Could have used a better name.

    • LA Binnell
    • 12/27/06

    What a great movie. Great music.Great attitudes. Great scenery. Great production.Just perhaps a bit off on the name. Gold Fever or even No Name City could have done wonders it seems.Enjoy.Thank you TCM.

  • My favorite movie

    • Linda P
    • 12/27/06

    It's funny and silly and the music is wonderful. I love this movie!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.